Grand Junction Off-Road: Grotts and Nash claim 40 Grand wins

On a perfect day with nearly cloudless skies, USA Cross-Country champion Howard Grotts (Specialized) put the hurt on the chasers every time the 43-mile course turned uphill. Despite the course being three miles longer this year, he smashed the course record by three minutes to take the victory and the $5,000 first prize.

Geoff Kabush (Scott Maxxis) and Russel Finsterwald (SRAM) chased hard, made contact once, but ultimately had to battle for second place. Kabush attacked Finsterwald on the final hill to open a 28-second lead and take second place. Finsterwald claimed third.

Grotts explained his race, "I wanted to be in the lead during the first section because I knew there were sections that would bottleneck if you were not in the lead group. I did not really know the Butterknife trail because I was not able to pre-ride so maybe I went a little slower and they "got me" near the feed zone at the bottom. I then saw that Windmill was a really good, steep, consistent climb and I figured that was my best chance to get away for good."

Pro Women

Veteran racer, Olympian, and former Grand Junction winner Katerina Nash (Clf Pro Team) was not familiar with the first part of the course so she rode with Amy Beisel (Pro Cycling) and up-and-coming Sofia Gomez Villafane. When she reached familiar trails put hit the gas pedal and dropped both of them. Beisel and Villafane rode together for a while, but eventually Beisel's superior experience earned her second place. Villafane finished impressively in third place.

Nash finished two minutes faster than last year's time despite the course being three miles longer. She commented after the race, "The course is spectacular. I really enjoy riding the trails here in Grand Junction. I had a really smooth ride and am happy to take the win here...I wanted to get into the singletrack first that was really my goal."

Nash credited her longtime mechanic Chris Mathis for his part in the win, "Thank you Chris for always taking care of me and the bike, and obviously Clif Pro Team. This is my sixteenth season with them and I am really thankful for the opportunity."


Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Howard Grotts (USA) Specialized2:57:14
2Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott Sports, Maxxis, Shimano0:03:13
3Russell Finsterwald (USA) SRAM | Troy Lee Designs Race Team0:03:41
4Benjamin Sonntag (Ger) CLIF Bar, Niner Bikes, SRAM0:06:17
5Kyle Trudeau (USA) CZ Racing. BikeFlights, Rouleur Carbon0:06:18
6Fernando Riveros Paez (Col) CZ Racing0:09:10
7Alex Grant (USA) Cannondale, Enve Composites, Gear Rush0:10:16
8Chris Baddick (GBr) Boulder Cycle Sport, Scott Bicycles0:10:36
9Payson Mcelveen (USA) Orange Seal0:10:59
10Nic Beechan (USA) Trek Test Team, Shimano, Stans NoTubes, Ride 100%, Fox0:11:00
11Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Topeak-Ergon, CanyonRow 10 - Cell 2
12Cal Skilsky (USA) AZ Devo0:11:31
13Henry Nadell (USA) CZ Racing0:13:48
14Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona Bicycles, WTB, Shimano0:14:38
15Rotem Ishay (Isr) Jamis Bikes, Vittoria Tires, Stan's NoTubes0:15:08
16Stephan Davoust (USA) Giant Factory Off Road, SRAM, Schwalbe0:15:38
17Cypress Gorry (USA) KTM Factory USA0:16:58
18Brian Matter (USA) Linear Sport Racing, Trek, Shimano0:18:22
19Taylor Lideen (USA)0:18:48
20Carl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Off Road0:19:28
21Troy Wells (USA) CLIF0:19:56
22Bryan Dillon (USA) Topeak-Ergon, Canyon, SRAM0:21:54
23Lucas Rowton (USA) Montrose Bike Shop, Jonathan Livesay, my parents :)0:21:57
24Liam Earl (USA) Team Clif Bar, Niner Bikes, Cmu Cycling Team0:22:01
25Garrett Gerchar (USA) Clif Bar Development Mountain Bike and Cyclocross Team0:22:42
26Mitchell Peterson (USA) Canyon-Shimano0:25:01
27Bryson Perry (USA) Rouleur Devo, DNA Cycling, Summit Cyclery-Giant0:25:12
28Nick Gould (USA) Ska Brewing, Zia Taqueria, Trek0:26:24
29Drew Free (USA) KUHL, Pivot Cycles, Go-Ride.com0:26:44
30Tyler Jones (USA) Privateer0:27:34
31David Krimstock (USA) Giant Co. Factory Off Road0:27:53
32Mark Currie (USA) ENVE Composites, The Adrenalin Project, Skratch Labs0:28:10
33Rob Squire (USA) Felt- Assos- Oakley0:28:44
34Adam Bucklin (USA) Team Rwanda0:29:12
35Jorge Munoz (USA) CZ Racing0:32:02
36Herman Larsson (USA)0:32:13
37Keiran Eagen (USA) CRC Janitorial, Scott, 2nd Avenue Sports0:32:20
38Jason Donald (USA) Foundry Cycles, Skratch Labs, Boulder Cycle Sport0:33:05
39Barry Wicks (USA) Kona Endurance Team, Shimano, WTB0:33:41
40Weston Rasmussen (USA) CZracing, Tenac Championship CoachingRow 39 - Cell 2
41Menso De Jong (USA) CLIF Bar, Niner Bikes, SRAM0:33:46
42Dean Hill (USA) Aspen Pro Cycling - Cima Cycles - Ute City Cycles0:33:56
43Ricardo Creel (Mex) CZ Racing0:34:44
44Matthew Turner (USA) Competitive Cyclist, Pivot Cycles, POC0:34:52
45Alex Pond (USA) Sonoran Cycles, Honey Stinger, Big Agnes0:34:55
46Jake Yackle (USA) Yackle Brothers Racing, KHS0:35:11
47Peter Calmes (USA)0:36:20
48Dylan Bailey (Can) Catalyst coaching and Sportlab, orange seal, suomy0:36:21
49Carter Anderson (USA)0:38:59
50Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona Endurance Team0:39:04
51Samuel Dolzani (USA) Honey Stinger, Bontrager0:39:27
52Tim Racette (USA) McDowell Mountain Cycles, Mike's Mix, Maxxis Tires0:40:23
53Daniel Matheny (USA) Matheny Endurance, COS Racing, EVOC0:40:25
54Levi Kurlander (USA) Trek Bicycles, Team RideBiker p/b Sho-Air0:42:13
55Nicolas Jimenez (USA) Yeti Cycles, Pactimo, Colorado Mesa University0:42:48
56Tyler Fox (USA) Giant Bicycles, Rockshox, Sram.0:45:04
57Donny Warbritton (USA) Stages Cycling0:48:33
58Cody Schwartz (USA) Scott, SRAM, Jakroo0:49:08
59John Nobil (USA)0:49:09
60Barkley Robinson (USA) Orange Peel / Steamboat Velo0:49:24
61Noah Sears (USA) Pivot, MRP, Ergon0:50:30
62Connor Barrett (USA) Summit Cyclery, Giant Bicycles, DNA Cycling0:59:54
63Ernie Watenpaugh (USA)1:11:23
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katerina Nash (Cze) Clif3:38:12
2Amy Beisel (USA) ProCycling / Kenda Tire0:03:32
3Sofia Gomez Villafane (Arg) Assos , Pivot Cycles0:09:13
4Evelyn Dong (USA) Cannondale0:10:17
5Crystal Anthony (USA) Maxxis, Shimano0:10:30
6Maghalie Rochette (Can) CLIF, Maxxis, Fox0:15:13
7Alexis Skarda (USA) Stans, Kenda0:20:31
8Jennifer Smith (NZl) Stan's NoTubes, Kenda Tires, Cannondale0:20:43
9Isnaraissa Moir (USA) Pivot Cycles, MRP, Ergon0:22:42
10Nicole Tittensor (USA) Jans/Reynolds/Scott0:26:11
11Emily Schaldach (USA) Trek, Ridefast Racing, Mecha Fitness0:27:44
12Serena Bishop Gordon (USA) LIV, SRAM, Schwalbe0:27:48
13Sara Sheets (USA) Oskar Blues, Drunk Cyclist, Northern Colorado Grassroots0:28:43
14Chase Edwards (USA) Flagstaff Bike Revolution0:31:09
15Rebecca Gross (USA) KHS Bicycles, Sped Precision Components, Rotor Bicycle Components0:32:54
16Karen Jarchow (USA) Topeak-Ergon Racing Team, Canyon, Rockshox, SRAM, Limar0:34:46
17Liza Hartlaub (USA) GU Energy Labs0:40:05
18Sarah Kaufmann (USA) Stan's/Kenda Women's Elite Team0:42:19
19Tamara Donelson (USA) The Cycle Effect0:48:27
20Nikki Peterson (USA) RideBiker, Incycle Bicycles, Kenda Tires0:53:04
21Celeste Cannon (USA) Tokyo Joe's, Lee's Cyclery, Nothern Colorado Eye0:56:22
22Christine Jeffrey (USA) CZ Racing1:09:56

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1