Skip to main content

Belletti gets the jump in Legnano

24-year-old Manuel Belletti scored what is perhaps his biggest career victory in the Coppa Bernocchi today. The Colnago-CSF Inox rider topped Danilo Hondo (Lampre) and Mark Cavendish (HTC-Columbia) in the bunch sprint.

While Belletti nabbed his first Grand Tour stage in Cesenatico during the Giro d'Italia, that win was from a small breakaway while today's victory was taken over many of the sport's top sprinters.

"Only Petacchi was missing but all the other big sprinters were there. That makes it a special victory and hugely satisfying. It's a way of saying that I'm up there too in the bunch sprints," Belletti told Gazzetta dello Sport.

Cavendish did not seem too bothered about losing."It was a slightly strange sprint but it was only my second race after the Tour de France and so I can't complain. Next I've got the Vuelta."

Coppa Agostoni winner Francesco Gavazzi (Lampre-Farnese Vini) secured victory in the Trittico Lombardo prize for the best results in the three one-day races. His special prize was a diamond worth 10,000 Euros.

Full Results
1Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox4:43:35
2Danilo Hondo (Ger) Lampre-Farnese Vini
3Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team HTC - Columbia
4Daniele Colli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
5Daniele Bennati (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
6Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Transitions
7Daniele Ratto (Ita) Carmiooro NGC
8Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) ISD - Neri
9Enrico Rossi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
10Francisco Jose Pacheco Torres (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia
11Daniele Callegarin (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere
12Domenico Loria (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere
13Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
14Rafai Chtioui (Tun) Acqua & Sapone
15Krzysztof Szczawinski (Pol) Miche
16Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
17John Murphy (USA) BMC Racing Team
18Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Meridiana Kamen Team
19Jure Kocjan (Slo) Carmiooro NGC
20Cristiano Benenati (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic
21Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
22Murilo Antonio Fischer (Bra) Garmin - Transitions0:00:15
23Jose Antonio De Segovia Botella (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia0:00:32
24Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil
25Davide Bonuccelli (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere
26Gustavo Dominguez Lemos (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia
27Manuel Ortega Ocana (Spa) Andalucia - Cajasur
28Fabio Taborre (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
29Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
30Giogrio Brambilla (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:01:26
31Fabio Felline (Ita) Footon-Servetto
32Eros Capecchi (Ita) Footon-Servetto
33Marino Palandri (Ita) Adria Mobil
34Jose Vicente Toribio Alcolea (Spa) Andalucia - Cajasur
35Pablo Torres Muino (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia
36Florian Stalder (Swi) BMC Racing Team
37Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
38Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
39Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team
40Steve Morabito (Swi) BMC Racing Team
41Volodymyr Bileka (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Conad
42Angel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Andalucia - Cajasur
43Kristof Vandewalle (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
44Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) Garmin - Transitions
45Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin - Transitions
46Thomas Peterson (USA) Garmin - Transitions
47Dario Andriotto (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
48G. Luca Mirenda (Ita) ISD - Neri
49Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) ISD - Neri
50Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD - Neri
51Kristijan Koren (Slo) Liquigas-Doimo
52Oleg Berdos (Mda) De Rosa - Stac Plastic
53Edoardo Girardi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
54Volodymyr Zagorodny (Ukr) Miche
55Juraj Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo
56Marcello Pavarin (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
57Antonio Piedra Perez (Spa) Andalucia - Cajasur
58Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) ISD - Neri
59Diego Caccia (Ita) ISD - Neri
60Alessandro Proni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
61Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche
62Sergio Carrasco Garcia (Spa) Andalucia - Cajasur
63Maxime Monfort (Bel) Team HTC - Columbia
64Federico Canuti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
65Alessandro Raisoni (Ita) Carmiooro NGC
66Enrico Magazzini (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
67Alan Marangoni (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
68Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo
69Giampaolo Cheula (Ita) Footon-Servetto
70Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
71Manuele Boaro (Ita) Carmiooro NGC
72Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
73Marco Frapporti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
74Michele Gaia (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
75Marco Cattaneo (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic
76Giairo Ermeti (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:01:35
77Ricardo Van Der Velde (Ned) Garmin - Transitions0:02:04
78Fabio Terrenzio (Ita) Carmiooro NGC
79Martin Velits (Svk) Team HTC - Columbia
80Simone Campagnaro (Ita) Miche
81Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Miche

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews