Skip to main content

Evita Muzic wins French women's road race title

Evita Muzic wins the road race title at the French Championships
Evita Muzic wins the road race title at the French Championships (Image credit: FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope/Twitter)

Evita Muzic (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) won the road race national title at the French Road Championships in Epinal. Muzic outsprinted a small group to take the win ahead of Audrey Cordon Ragot (Trek-Segafredo) and Gladys Verhulst (Arkea Pro Cycling Team).

The elite women's field raced 112km in Épinal. A strong field included defending champion Cordon-Ragot, who won the time trial title two days earlier, along with mountain bike world champion Pauline Ferrand-Prévot (Absalute-Absalon-BMC), Juliette Labous (Team DSM), and FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope team of Muzic, Marie Le Net, Victorie Guilman and former champion Jade Wiel.

After an aggressive first half, a breakaway cleared the field that included Caralie Demay (Stade Rochelais) and Wiel. The two were later joined by Guilman, Noemie Abgrall (Stade Rochelais), Sandrine Bideau (St-Michel) and Greta Richioud (Areka). 

Guilman attacked over the circuit's steep climb and only Wiel, Bideau and Abgrall could follow. As the main field behind included Ferrand-Prévot almost a minute back, while a crash took out former champion Aude Biannic (Movistar). 

Late-race attacks saw Cordon-Ragot, Muzic, Verhulst and Labous clear the bunch in pursuit of the breakaway, while Ferrand-Prévot was distanced from the main field. 

The chase reeled in the early breakaway, and Wiel was the first to attack solo with 20km to go. The move didn't last long as Cordon-Ragot kept the speeds high and attacked the lead group. With 10km to, the group included Cordon-Ragot, Labous, Muzic, Guilman and Verhulst.

As they reached the final climb on the circuit there were several attacks. On the way to the finish line, it was Muzic who made the final winning attack and crossed the line by a whisker ahead of Cordon-Ragot and Verhulst to take the French title.

Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Evita Muzic (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 3:18:49
2Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Trek-Segafredo
3Gladys Verhulst (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
4Juliette Labous (Fra) Team DSM
5Victorie Guilman (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
6Sandra Levenez (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team 0:00:07
7Marie Le Net (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:00:31
8Jade Wiel (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:01:44
9Morgane Coston (Fra) Macogep Tornatech Girondins de Bordeaux
10Amandine Fouquenet (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
11Sandrine Bideau (Fra)
12Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) 0:01:48
13Noemie Abgrall (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling 0:02:41
14Lucie Jounier (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team 0:07:00
15India Grangier (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
16Marine Allione (Fra) 0:07:02
17Eugénie Duval (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:07:10
18Pauline Allin (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
19Aurore Pauchet (Fra) 0:07:43
20Juliette Trombini (Fra) 0:09:46
21Victoire Berteau (Fra) Doltcini-Van Eyck-Proximus Continental Team 0:10:27
22Perrine Clauzel (Fra)
23Viviane Rognant (Fra)
24Typhaine Laurance (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
25Barbara Fonseca (Fra)
26Océane Tessier (Fra)
27Laura Asencio (Fra) Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team 0:10:35
28Roxane Fournier (Fra) Team SD Worx
29Léa Curinier (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
30Hélène Clauzel (Fra) 0:10:40
31Alice Coutinho (Fra) 0:17:34
32Manon Souyris (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
33Laura Lavry (Fra) 0:17:38
34Marie Gielen (Fra) 0:17:40
35Inès Van der Linden (Fra) 0:17:43
36Emilie Jamme (Fra) 0:17:48
37Cyriane Muller (Fra)
38Marie Louise Biard (Fra) 0:17:52
39Victoire Joncheray (Fra) 0:17:58
40Melodie Lesueur (Fra) 0:18:01
41Coralie Demay (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling 0:18:13
42Cindy Pomares (Fra) 0:18:27
43Constance Valentin (Fra) 0:19:32
44Valentine Fortin (Fra)
45Audrey Weingarten (Fra)
46Pascaline Duchesne (Fra) 0:19:35
DNFMaeva Squiban (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
DNFMargot Grosjean (Fra)
DNFJustine Gegu (Fra)
DNFLaurie Vezie (Fra)
DNFJustine Chevrieux (Fra)
DNFLucie Delecourt (Fra)
DNFMelanie Menara (Fra)
DNFHélène Mulot (Fra)
DNFLouhanna Duplouy (Fra)
DNFChloe Schoenenberger (Fra)
DNFClaire Hochart (Fra)
DNFEmilie Laguerre (Fra)
DNFMarie Camenen (Fra)
DNFLisa Guerin (Fra)
DNFPierrine Blaison (Fra)
DNFCoraline Conan (Fra)
DNFAlicia Dubois (Fra)
DNFNoëline Polycarpe (Fra)
DNFMelanie Brin (Fra)
DNFMorgane Armiroli (Fra)
DNFSandrine Polizzi (Fra)
DNFFlorine Lefait (Fra)
DNFMarjolaine Tupin (Fra)
DNFCamille Devigne (Fra)
DNFEmeline Eustache (Fra)
DNFMarine Boureau (Fra)
DNFLaura Guegan (Fra)
DNFSophie Almeida (Fra)
DNFCelia Le Mouel (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
DNFSonia Marsollier (Fra)
DNFMarion Colard (Fra)
DNFAude Biannic (Fra) Movistar Team Women
DNFLou Marche (Fra)
DNFSarah Pope (GBr)
DNFManon Plet (Fra)
DNFYsoline Corbineau (Fra)
DNFLucile Francois (Fra)
DNFClara Copponi (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
DNFConstance Marchand (Fra)
DNFElsa Hugot (Fra)
DNFGreta Richioud (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
DNFChloé Charpentier (Fra)
DNFMargot Pompanon (Fra)
DNFMarine Strappazzon (Fra)
DNFNoemie Garnier (Fra)
DNFAnaïs Morichon (Fra)
DNFMaylis Sarron (Fra)
DNFSophie De Muynck (Fra)
DNFEléonore Saraiva (Fra)
DNFCharlotte Simond (Fra)
DNFEnora Oger (Fra)
DNFLea Bonnafous (Fra)
DNFAmélie Hild (Fra)
DNFSeverine Eraud (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
DNFEmeline Courtot (Fra)
DNFDilyxine Miermont (Fra)
DNFEdwige Pitel (Fra)
DNFAxelle Guirado (Fra)
DNFJulia Aubry (Fra)
DNFMaëva Rigoreau (Fra)
DNFFanny Rio (Fra)
DNFMélanie Labeyrie (Fra)
DNFMorgane Jacquet (Fra)
DNFAlizee Collas (Fra)
DNFLéa Lemoine (Fra)
DNFCharlotte Allard (Fra)
DNFManon Diringer (Fra)
DNFMalorie Beunard (Fra)
DNFElodie Conti (Fra)
DNFAlina Palcau (Fra)
DNFDonatelle Liens (Fra)
DNFGladys Lemesnager (Fra)
DNFLaurie Guilet (Fra)
DNFCelia Charrier (Fra)
DNFIsabelle Lebreton (Fra)
DNFMaëlle Grossetete (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
DNFCedrine Kerbaol (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
DNFChloé Fourmigué (Fra)
DNFSolene Madrange (Fra)
DNFEmeline Le Cornec (Fra)
DNFMargot Berthet (Fra)
DNFBlandine Guilloteau (Fra)
DNFMarie Morgane Le Deunff (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team
DNFCeline Bouthonnier (Fra)
DNFMargot Lauzier (Fra)
DNFLéane Bourg (Fra)
DNFCecile Lejeune (Fra)
DNFAlison Avoine (Fra)
DNFElodie Le Bail (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime Women Cycling
DNFBalladyne Tritsch (Fra) Macogep Tornatech Girondins de Bordeaux
DNFJulie Schmidt (Fra)
DNFZoé Delachaux (Fra)
DNFAudrey Biancolin (Fra)
DNFEmma Roger (Fra)
DNFAdeline Hulot (Fra)
DNFMauryne Aidat (Fra)
DNFSandie Jamet (Fra)
Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini is an honours graduate of Kinesiology and Health Science from York University in Toronto, Canada. She has been involved in bike racing from the grassroots level to professional cycling's WorldTour. She has worked in both print and digital publishing, and started with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. Moving into a Production Editor's role in 2014, she produces and publishes international race coverage for all cycling disciplines, edits news and writes features. Currently the Women's Editor at Cyclingnews, Kirsten coordinates global coverage of races, news, features and podcasts about women's professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews