Albert on top in Leuven

World Champion Niels Albert showed his stripes with a dominant performance in the C1 'cross in Leuven. The BKCP-Powerplus rider stormed away from the field in the second lap and soloed to the win by almost a minute over Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor) and Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet).

As Albert put on his one-man show, Pauwels emerged alone from the chasing group about halfway through the race, but never threatened the lead of Albert.

Nys, who suffered a slow start, eventually put the rest behind him in pursuit of the podium, beating out the Telenet-Fidea riders Rob Peeters and Tom Meeusen.

The only bit of drama in the race was a frightening face-plant by Bart Wellens on the barriers. The former world champion stood dazed for a moment, but despite having pain in his head and neck he continued, finishing in 10th place.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:59:15
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:30
3Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony0:00:52
4Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:00:54
5Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:00:58
6Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cyclocross TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - PowerplusRow 6 - Cell 2
8Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-EuphonyRow 7 - Cell 2
9Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:01:06
10Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:01:12
11Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team0:01:19
12Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:01:37
13Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cyclocross Team0:01:41
14Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:01:54
15Marcel Meisen (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus0:02:11
16Aurelien Duval (Fra) UV Aube0:02:25
17Niels Wubben (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team0:02:45
18Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet - Fidea0:02:53
19Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team0:02:58
20Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:03:10
21Jonathan Page (USA)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Wout van Aert (Bel) Telenet-Fidea0:03:15
23Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDLRow 22 - Cell 2
24Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:03:37
25Diether Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDLRow 24 - Cell 2
26Martin Zlamalik (Cze) Landbouwkrediet-KDL0:04:40
27Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco0:04:58
28Toon Aerts (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL0:05:15
29Daan Soete (Bel) Telenet-FideaRow 28 - Cell 2
30Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet - FideaRow 29 - Cell 2
31Bart De Vocht (Bel)0:06:25
32 (-1 lap)Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet - FideaRow 31 - Cell 2
33Patrick Gaudy (Bel)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-EuphonyRow 33 - Cell 2
35Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) Telenet - FideaRow 34 - Cell 2
36 (-2 laps)Hendrik Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDLRow 35 - Cell 2
37Davy Commeyne (Bel)Row 36 - Cell 2
38 (-3 laps)Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Berne Vankeirsbilck (Bel)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Aaron Schooler (Can) Norco Bicycles - SRI ImportingRow 39 - Cell 2
41Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel)Row 40 - Cell 2
42 (-4 laps)Niels Koyen (Bel)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Lorenzo Pepermans (Bel)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Alexander Revell (NZl) Revolution BicyclesRow 43 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1