Van der Poel triumphs at Scheldecross

Mathieu van der Poel, Wout Van Aert and Kevin Pauwels comprise the Scheldecross final podium

Mathieu van der Poel, Wout Van Aert and Kevin Pauwels comprise the Scheldecross final podium (Image credit: David Stockman/AFP/Getty Images)

Dutch champion Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Corendon) won the fifth round of the DVV Trofee in Antwerp on a dry Saturday afternoon. In the twelfth and final lap World champion Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Vastgoedservice) was dropped by Van der Poel in the final sand section. Kevin Pauwels (Marlux-Napoleon Games) rode a strong race and was a close third.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon1:05:31
2Wout Van Aert (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:00:04
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:00:06
4Laurens Sweeck (Bel) ERA-Circus0:00:09
5Jens Adams (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:00:10
6Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:00:12
7Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:16
8Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:52
9Tim Merlier (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:01:07
10Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:01:52
11Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Team Steylaerts0:02:06
12Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:02:08
13Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:32
14David Van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon0:03:43
15Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Beobank-Corendon0:03:47
16Clement Venturini (Fra)0:04:17
17Joeri Adams (Bel) Kalas-NNOF0:04:23
18Enrico Franzoi (Ita)0:04:28
19Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel)0:04:34
20Michael Boros (Cze) ERA-Circus0:04:36
21Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) Kalas-NNOF0:04:45
22Braam Merlier (Bel)0:04:54
23Kevin Cant (Bel) ERA-CircusRow 22 - Cell 2
24Dave De Cleyn (Bel)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Dario Tielen (Bel)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Eric Thompson (USA) Hed p/b Molten Speed WaxRow 25 - Cell 2
27Jens Gys (Bel)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Hendrik Sweeck (Bel) ERA-CircusRow 27 - Cell 2
29Wouter Goosen (Bel)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Mark Mcconnell (Can) Hot Sauce Cycling X GarneauRow 29 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews