Skip to main content

Alvarado wins Brussels Universities Cyclocross

Alpecin-Fenix team presentation
(Image credit: Bettini Photo)

Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Alpecin-Fenix) won the Brussels Universities Cyclocross after distancing Annemarie Worst (777) on the final lap, while Sanne Cant (IKO-Crelan) took third.

Alvarado has extended her lead in the DVV Verzekeringen trofee series with just one race to go at Krawatencross in Lille held on February 8.

Worst had the better start and led the field onto the circuit, followed by Cant and Alvarado, but the Alpecin-Fenix rider took over at the front of the race before the end of the first lap.

Several crashes marred the opening laps of the race with Alvarado going down on a descent, while Yara Kastelijn (777) broke a chain and upon trying to turn toward the pits took down Laura Verdonschot. It was reported that Kastelijn crashed a second time, later in the race, along with Eva Lechner, Kata Blanka Vas and Ellen Van Loy.

Once up and running, Alvarado caught up to Worst and the pair raced neck-to-neck toward the victory. Alvarado broke clear and finished nine seconds ahead of Worst. 

Just over a minute behind the leading pair were Cant, Anna Kay (Experza-Footlogix) and Katie Compton (Trek) who were ultimately racing for the third spot on the podium. Cant was the fastest of the three and finished in third place.

Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Corendon - Circus 0:44:10
2Annemarie Worst (Ned) 777 0:00:09
3Sanne Cant (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:01:12
4Anna Kay (GBr) Experza Pro Cx 0:01:21
5Katherine Compton (USA) 0:01:35
6Manon Bakker (Ned) Experza Pro Cx 0:02:21
7Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra) Experza Pro Cx 0:02:31
8Eva Lechner (Ita) Creafin – Fristads 0:02:38
9Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:02:41
10Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) 777 0:03:02
11Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) 0:03:17
12Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned) Ccc - Liv 0:03:23
13Rebecca Fahringer (USA) 0:03:27
14Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:03:29
15Loes Sels (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:03:47
16Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex 0:04:06
17Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:04:25
18Clara Honsinger (USA) 0:04:29
19Sophie De Boer (Ned) 0:04:41
20Aniek Van Alphen (Ned) 0:04:42
21Alicia Franck (Bel) Experza Pro Cx 0:06:15
22Bethany Crumpton (GBr) Tarteletto - Isorex 0:06:18
23Pauline Delhaye (Fra) 0:06:45
24Veerle Goossens (Ned) 0:08:03
25Lise Van Wunsel (Bel)
26Ishbel Strathdee (GBr)
27Didi De Vries (Ned)
28Kätlin Kukk (Est)
29Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)
30Laura Greenhalgh (GBr)
31Rebecca Gross (USA)
32Maria Larkin (Irl)
33Tine Rombouts (Bel)
34Aimée Schoe (Ned)
35Siobhan Kelly (Can)
36Turner Ramsay (USA)
37Jo Blanchaert (Bel)
DNFLaura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal
DNFPauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)
DNFMarthe Truyen (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions
DNSMarie Lynn (GBr)
DSQYara Kastelijn (Ned) 777

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini

Kirsten Frattini is an honours graduate of Kinesiology and Health Science from York University in Toronto, Canada. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's WorldTour. She has worked in both print and digital publishing, and started with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. Moving into a Production Editor's role in 2014, she produces and publishes international race coverage for all men's and women's races including Spring Classics, Grand Tours, World Championships and Olympic Games, and writes and edits news and features. As the Women's Editor at Cyclingnews, Kirsten also coordinates and oversees the global coverage of races, news, features and podcasts about women's professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews