Mathieu van der Poel wins Dutch national cyclo-cross title

Mathieu van der Poel at Telenet Superprestige Diegem 2019
(Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Mathieu van der Poel easily captured his sixth consecutive Dutch national cyclo-cross title in the elite category on Sunday. A lot of fans showed up in Rucphen, close to the Belgian border, to see van der Poel complete a race-long solo ride on a technical course. He finished well ahead of Lars van der Haar (Telenet Baloise Lions) and Joris Nieuwenhuis (Sunweb). With this sixth title, Mathieu van der Poel equalled the number of titles his father won.

“It went pretty well. It was quite a tough course with a lot of corners. Early on I felt that I rode pretty strong. To create a sizeable gap I had to dig pretty deep,” Van der Poel told

“This wasn’t my favourite course with all these turns. It was hard to find spots where I could deploy my power. Then again, it was very busy along the course. I’m pleased that the crowds are growing each year. It’s great that I’m adding to that growth. I remember that there were very few people at my first championships race,” Van der Poel said.

Mathieu Van der Poel had a blistering start in Rucphen. Only Lars van der Haar was briefly able to keep up with the world champion but in a twisting and turning section he slowly had to let go of van der Poel. By the time the riders reached the Rucphen carousel Van der Poel had a small bonus over Van der Haar.

Corné van Kessel and Joris Nieuwenhuis were a handful of seconds further back. If Van der Haar stood a chance to get back to the leader, then those chances went to pieces at the barriers.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) 1:01:25
2Lars Van der Haar (Ned) 0:00:36
3Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned) 0:01:04
4Corne Van Kessel (Ned) 0:02:36
5Stan Godrie (Ned) 0:02:55
6Maik Van der Heijden (Ned) 0:03:21
7Sieben Wouters (Ned)
8David Van der Poel (Ned) 0:03:42
9Gosse Van der Meer (Ned) 0:04:30
10Kelvin Bakx (Ned) 0:04:46
11Koen Van Dijke (Ned) 0:04:51
12Mart Muskens (Ned) 0:05:33
13Klaas Groenen (Ned) 0:06:05
14Eddy Van Ijzendoorn (Ned) 0:06:58
15Carlos Schreuder (Ned)
16Martin Mijnten (Ned)
17Tim Christen (Ned)
18Jasir Kuiper (Ned)
19Vincent Fackeldey (Ned)
20Jeroen Janssen (Ned)
DNSErik Boer (Ned)
DNSGert-Jan Bosman (Ned)
DNFDaniel Elzinga (Ned)
DNSLuuk Jansen (Ned)
DNSJeroen Meijers (Ned)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews