Van der Poel takes 100th career win in Gullegem

Mathieu van der Poel

Mathieu van der Poel (Image credit: David Stockman/AFP/Getty Images)

Mathieu van der Poel continued to dominate the cyclo-cross season, taking his 100th career victory in the mud on Saturday at the little-known Cyclocross Gullegem race in West Flanders.

With main rival and world champion Wout van Aert preferring to race in northern France on Sunday, van der Poel faced little problem in taking win number 100.

Gianni Vermeersch was the best of the rest in second place, with David van der Poel completing the podium with his brother after a strong fight back in the second part of the race.

Van der Poel started from the front but paced his ride carefully, eventually distancing Vermeersch, Jens Adams and Dieter Vanthourenhout and then opening a confortable lead of 20 seconds.

Adams was the last to be distanced, with Vanthourenhout and Michael Boros seemingly fighting for third place. However David van der Poel started his charge after 45 minutes of racing and Vermeersch attacked to catch and pass Adams.
Mathieu van der Poel further up the track and cruised to the finish line, capturing victory number 100.

Van der Poel does not count two victories from Masters Cyclocross races in Waregem in 2015 and 2018 but the Belgian media were quick to highlight the Dutch riders success at the age of just 23.

Van der Poel won his first professional cyclo-cross race at just 19 and has since won one world title, four Dutch national titles, two European Championships, 20 World Cup races, 25 Superprestige races, 16 DVV trophy races and 29 other races.

He will be chasing victory number 101 in Sunday’s DVV verzekeringen trofee race near Brussels.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus0:55:16
2Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Steylaerts - 7770:00:05
3David Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - CircusRow 2 - Cell 2
4Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:00:11
5Michael Boroš (Cze) Creafin Tüv Sud0:00:31
6Thijs Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:42
7Diether Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:00:43
8Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:00:45
9Braam Merlier (Bel) Creafin Tüv Sud0:01:49
10Kerry Werner (USA)0:02:13
11Berne Vankeirsbilck (Bel)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Curtis White (USA)0:02:42
13Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel)0:02:49
14Dario Tielen (Bel)0:02:58
15Robin Alderweireld (Bel)0:03:29
16Yannick Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:03:44
17Xandro Meurisse (Bel)0:03:52
18Garry Millburn (Aus)0:04:13
19Mathieu Willemyns (Bel)0:04:22
20Yoni De Bock (Bel)0:04:50
21Yu Takenouchi (Jpn)0:05:26
22Brecht Vandenheede (Bel)0:05:33
23Niels Koyen (Bel)0:06:27
24Tyler Cloutier (USA)2 laps
25Mathias Declerck (Bel)2 laps
26Jelle De Bock (Bel)3 laps
27Francois Chastagner (Fra)4 laps
28Peter Olejniczak (USA)4 laps
29Josh Bauer (USA)4 laps

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews