Johnson rules at Cincy3 Cross After Dark

Tim Johnson ( attacked the lead group midway through the second day of racing at the Cincinnati International Cyclocross Festival to win the Cincy3 Kings CX race, in Mason, Ohio.

Johnson finessed his way around the slippery course in the dark to finish almost a minute up on Ryan Trebon (, Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) and Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement.)

"It was basically trouble free for the majority of the race," said Johnson about his winning ride. "I dabbed just like everyone else, I almost fell, probably 20 times out there. When a course is like this, and it transitions from super muddy, to dry and tacky, it's easy to get ahead of yourself, and wind up on the ground when you forget how slippery it really is."

Jeremy Powers looked ready for business as he lead the pack through the muddy hole-shot, which had claimed several victims in the women's race. Ryan Trebon took over at the front of the race by the time the pack hit the stairs on ‘Heckle Hill’ midway through the first lap. But by the end of the first lap, a lead group of riders emerged that included Trebon, Berden, Johnson, and Zach McDonald (Rapha-Focus.)

"He has [Powers] been the strongest guy for so long, I don't want to give him a free ride," said Johnson. "I don't want him to catch up to us and rest, while we mess around. To keep the pressure on was the way that Ryan and I were going to have our best race."

Johnson's attack quickly gained momentum and he built up a lead of over 45 seconds heading into the final laps of the race. Back in the chase group, Trebon marked Berden, Powers, and McDonald as they tried to chase down Johnson. When the chase group started to fatigue, Trebon took advantage of their mistakes to get away.

"Those guys were just crashing all around me," said Trebon about the slippery conditions. "That's how I ended up getting a gap. Ben went down on one of the side hills, and Jeremy went down, they were just making mistakes and I just stayed cool, rode it clean, and just waited till the end."

Johnson stayed out of trouble and cruised across the line for the win, followed by Trebon 50 seconds later. Jeremy Powers sprinted in ahead of Ben Berden for third place, and Zach McDonald placed fifth.

After taking the last several weeks to train, and a rough outing at the Cincy3 Devou Park race, Powers felt confident that he was on the right track now that the first muddy race of the season was under his belt.

"As we continue to race in this, I tend to get better," said Powers. "First run is always hard for me."

Ben Berden retains his lead in the Cross After Dark series over Sven Nys (Crelan-Euphony) and Zach McDonald with his fourth place finish in the Cincy3 Kings CX race. The Cross After Dark series will conclude in Los Angeles, at the CXLA, on November 30th.

Racing will conclude in Cincinnati on Sunday November 3rd at the Cincy3 Harbin Park race. The women start at 2:15 PM EST, and the men start at 3:15 PM EST.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com1:06:06
2Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:00:51
3Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus0:00:55
4Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement0:00:56
5Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus0:02:00
6James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement0:02:41
7Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:03:14
8Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX0:03:32
9Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:04:29
10Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar0:04:48
11Ryan Knapp (USA) Pony Shop Cyclocross0:05:25
12Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott Bikes0:06:16
13Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team0:06:53
14Kerry Werner (USA) MOB CX Team0:07:10
15Lewis Gaffney (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team0:07:13
16Sven Baumann (Ger) Wolverine Racing-Trek0:07:21
17Cody Kaiser (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:07:40
18Joshua Johnson (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team0:10:36
19Travis Livermon (USA) Team SmartStop p/b Mountain KhakisRow 18 - Cell 2
20Joachim Parbo (Den) Cielo-Challenge-BicyclistaRow 19 - Cell 2
21Joseph Maloney (USA) KS Energy Services-Team WisconsinRow 20 - Cell 2
22Tom Burke (USA) Wolverine Sports ClubRow 21 - Cell 2
23Mark Savery (USA) Midwest Cycling Community NERow 22 - Cell 2
24Andrew Dillman (USA) Marian University CyclingRow 23 - Cell 2
25Rotem Ishay (Isr) Boo BikesRow 24 - Cell 2
26Andrew Reardon (USA) Sophisticated Living-Bob's Red MillRow 25 - Cell 2
27Stephen Bassett (USA)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Matthew Weeks (USA) WasLabs CyclingRow 27 - Cell 2
29Tristan Cowie (USA)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Elliott Baring (USA) CycleYouthRow 29 - Cell 2
31Zachary Carlson (USA) Marian University CyclingRow 30 - Cell 2
32Adam York (USA) Wolverine Racing-ACFStores.comRow 31 - Cell 2
33John Proppe (USA) Lake Effect RacingRow 32 - Cell 2
34Douglas Ansel (USA) Beverly Bike-Vee PackRow 33 - Cell 2
35Zach Bender (USA) Marian University CyclingRow 34 - Cell 2
36David Yohe (USA) Marian UniversityRow 35 - Cell 2
37Anthony Dust (USA) Dogfish Racing TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Spencer Whittier (USA) HUB Endurance ChattanoogaRow 37 - Cell 2
39John Francisco (USA) Papa John's Racing TeamRow 38 - Cell 2
40Tanner Hurst (USA) Be Real Sports-Grease MonkeyRow 39 - Cell 2
41Chris Lessing (USA) Round Here RacingRow 40 - Cell 2
42Vance Fletcher (USA) Marian UniversityRow 41 - Cell 2
43Raymond Smith (USA) Clarksville Schwinn RacingRow 42 - Cell 2
44Earl Gage (USA) Scalo VeloceRow 43 - Cell 2
45Brad Cole (USA) KCCXRow 44 - Cell 2
46Jason Mott (USA) BioWheels/Reece-Campbell RacingRow 45 - Cell 2
47Ryan Murray (USA) TGCR Team Greenville Cycling RacingRow 46 - Cell 2
48Stephan Hirsch (USA) Marian University CyclingRow 47 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews