Powers opens Providence Cyclo-cross Festival with a victory

Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) soloed in to the win of the men's race at the Providence Cyclo-Cross Festival, with Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement) outsprinting Tim Johnson (Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld.com) for second place just two seconds later. The three were part of a break group which dominated the race.

Together with Ryan Trebon and Raphael Gagne, the five-rider lead group got away and opened an un-closeable gap. Stephen Hyde (JAM Fund/NCC), Yannick Eckmann (California Giant/Specialized), and Lukas Winterberg (Muller Landscape/BH Bikes) gave chase, but were never able to make contact with those driving the pace at the head of the race.

The five leaders attacked one another ceaselessly, with Powers finally making it stick on the last lap. He built up a gap which not only was enough to assure him of the win, but also to shatter the rest of the group. That left Berden and Johnson to fight it out for second place while Gagne and Trebon each came in alone for fourth and fifth respectively.

"Race organizer Richard Fries put a lot of work into this," said Powers. "I'm happy to win so close to home!"

The win gave him the lead in the Shimano New England Professional Cyclocross Series presented by Verge.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus1:05:06
2Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement0:00:02
3Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.comRow 2 - Cell 2
4Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team0:00:13
5Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:00:25
6Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:01:26
7Lukas Winterberg (Swi) Muller Landscape-BH BikesRow 6 - Cell 2
8Stephen Hyde (USA) JAM Fund-NCC0:01:27
9James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement0:01:56
10Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:02:02
11Luke Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross0:02:05
12Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott Bikes0:02:06
13Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-FocusRow 12 - Cell 2
14Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement0:02:11
15Jesse Anthony (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:02:46
16Christian Favata (USA) TRT Bicycles p/b Stan's NoTubes0:02:47
17Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:02:50
18Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX0:02:51
19Edwin Bull (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team0:02:55
20Cody Kaiser (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:03:07
21Tobin Ortenblad (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:03:13
22Isaac Neff (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:03:27
23Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar0:03:31
24Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Can) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:03:48
25Derrick St. John (Can) Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery0:03:50
26Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund-NCC0:03:55
27Jesse Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross0:03:58
28Daniel Chabanov (USA) House Industries-Richard Sachs-RGM0:04:04
29Tim Allen (USA) Feedback Sports - Foundry Cycles0:04:10
30Matt Shriver (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:04:13
31Benjamin Sonntag (Ger) Team Clif Bar0:04:24
32Jerome Townsend (USA) BikeReg.com-Joe's GarageRow 31 - Cell 2
33Adam Myerson (USA) Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis0:04:38
34Mitchell Hoke (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:04:40
35Sam O'Keefe (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co.0:04:41
36Jake Wells (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite Cyclocross Team0:05:02
37Craig Etheridge (USA) Raleigh-Clement-Hodala!0:05:25
38Craig Richey (Can) VOmax-SponsorConnected.com0:05:38
39Cole Oberman (USA) Breakawaybikes.com0:05:55
40Evan McNeely (Can) Norco Factory Team0:06:15
41Evan Murphy (USA) NYC Velo p/b The Cannibal0:06:32
42William Elliston (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team0:06:38
43Charles Schubert (USA) GPM Sport0:06:43
44Brendan Rhim (USA) KMS-Start House Cycling Team0:06:53
45Sean Pantellere (USA) STAMPEDE! p/b Budd Bike Works0:07:00
46Adam St. Germain (USA) ENGVT-Specialized0:07:57
47Joshua Dillon (USA) BikeReg.com-Joe's Garage-1lap
48Braden Kappius (USA) Team Clif Bar-3laps
49Nate Morse (USA) Cyclocrossworld.comRow 48 - Cell 2
50Brendan McCormack (USA) Clif Bar-PactimoRow 49 - Cell 2
51Devin Wagner (USA) NYCross.com p/b VomaxRow 50 - Cell 2
52Kurt Belhumeur (USA) Stampede!Row 51 - Cell 2
53Cameron McCormack (USA) Clif Bar-PactimoRow 52 - Cell 2
54Andrew Lysaght (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2Row 53 - Cell 2
55Christopher Hamlin (USA) Bicycle Express-Kona BikesRow 54 - Cell 2
56Aaron Oakes (USA) NYCross-VomaxRow 55 - Cell 2
57Liam Dunn (USA)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Adam Sullivan (USA) Embrocation-Gaulzetti CicliRow 57 - Cell 2
59Chris Field (USA) Essex County VeloRow 58 - Cell 2
60Thierry Laliberte (Can) Xprezo - BorsaoRow 59 - Cell 2
61Austin Skomra (USA) TBS Racing p/b Plan2PeakRow 60 - Cell 2
62Manny Goguen (USA) RACE CFRow 61 - Cell 2
63Spencer Downing (USA) Horizon Organic-4laps
64Andrew Loaiza (USA) RMRCRow 63 - Cell 2
65Eric Oishi (USA) MTBNJ.com-Halter'sRow 64 - Cell 2
66Evan Cooper (USA) Hudson Furniture CyclocrossRow 65 - Cell 2
67Kevin Sweeney (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2Row 66 - Cell 2
68Cary Fridrich (USA) Mad Alchemy-Verge Rider CooperativeRow 67 - Cell 2
69Ian Schon (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2-5laps
70Christopher Algar (USA) Cape Cod Cycling ClubRow 69 - Cell 2
71Alistair Sponsel (USA) Cumberland Transit CyclingRow 70 - Cell 2
72Tyler Berliner (USA) BikeReg.com-Joe's GarageRow 71 - Cell 2
73Jacob Harris (USA) Createx-BenidormRow 72 - Cell 2
74David Devine (USA) CannondaleRow 73 - Cell 2
75Matthew Means (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co.Row 74 - Cell 2
76Michael Van Den Ham (Can) Cycle-Smart-6laps
77John Hanson (USA) Soco Unity p/b NBX & CoxRow 76 - Cell 2
78Tyler Stein (USA) Fond du Lac-Oshkosh CycleryRow 77 - Cell 2
79Colin Dunlap (USA) Hutches HD-Bend DentalRow 78 - Cell 2
80Jesse Quagliaroli (USA) Expowheelmen-7laps
81James Stout (USA) North of the Border Bikes Race-Champion Systems-8laps
82Mike Garrigan (Can) Van Dessel-10laps

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1