Litscher wins short race in Saalhausen

Thomas Litscher (Felt-Ötztal-X-Bionic) won the short race of the International MTB Bundesliga in Saalhausen on Saturday. The Swiss rider finished ahead of Sweden's Emil Lindgren (Rabobank-Giant) and Dutchman Marco Minnaard (Rabobank-Giant). Swede Alexandra Engen was the fastest of a small women's field.

From the start, Litscher rode well as he marched through the six 400-meter rounds. Heiko Gutmann (Rothaus Poison-Bikes) tried to follow him, but he felt the fatigue of his earlier rounds.

"I wanted a little practice before the sprint at the Dalby World Cup," said Litscher. "When you go to the front, you have no dust in the lungs from the man in front."

Lindgren was second place at four seconds. The Swede has fought his way to that place from behind. "Thomas was too quick from the beginning, but in the end, I was probably just as fast," said Lindgren. "I'm happy, but last year, I was second, too. I like this position."

Minnaard had a strong last round, when he was able to pass three competitors. "In the beginning, I felt tired. I was surprised because I could 'do so well'," said Minnaard.

Markus Bauer (Lexware) powered to fourth in front of Markus Schulte-Lünzum (Focus-MiG) and Jochen Kaess (Multivan-Merida), who complained that he had been mistakenly placed in the second row and therefore had a clear disadvantage.

The men's short race was held with two semi-finals, in which each of the top 15 qualified for the final.

In the women's short race, Alexandra Engen had a similar experience to that of Litscher. She went to the front right from the start. Behind the Swede, who had won the Münsingen sprint race, 'cross specialist Sabrina Swier (Focus-MiG) took the sprint for second place narrowly ahead of Elisabeth Sveum (Merida Smart Safety).

There were only eight women at the start.

(Report translated from

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alexandra Engen (Swe) Rothaus Poison-Bikes0:23:35
2Sabrina Swier (Ger) Focus-MiG0:00:03
3Elisabeth Sveum (Nor) Merida Smart Safety0:00:03
4Annika Langvad (Den) Easton Rockets0:00:04
5Kajsa Snihs (Swe) IK Jarl Rattvik0:00:06
6Mona Eiberweiser (Ger) Ghost Racing0:00:17
7Hanna Klein (Ger) Rothaus Poison-Bikes0:00:29
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Thomas Litscher (Swi) Felt-Ötztal-X Bionic0:38:44
2Emil Lindgren (Swe) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team0:00:04
3Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team0:00:06
4Markus Bauer (Ger) Lexware Racing Team0:00:08
5Markus Schulte-Lünzum (Ger) Focus MIG Team0:00:08
6Jochen Käss (Ger) Multivan Merida Biking Team0:00:09
7Lukas Kaufmann (Swi) Easton Rockets0:00:09
8Ola Kjoeren (Nor) Fokus Danica0:00:09
9Wenzel Böhm- Gräber (Ger) Focus MIG Team0:00:11
10Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team0:00:12
11Julian Schelb (Ger) Lexware Racing Team0:00:15
12Heiko Gutmann (Ger) Rothaus Poison-Bikes0:00:15
13Alexander Speisekorn (Ger) Best-Bike-Parts/Progress0:00:16
14Henrik Kippernes (Nor) Fokus Danica0:00:17
15Håkan Löfström (Swe) IK Jarl Rättvik0:00:19
16Stephen Ettinger (USA) USA National Team0:00:23
17Sascha Bleher (Ger) Focus M.I.G Team0:00:25
18Christopher Kamphaus (Ger) RC Victoria Neheim0:00:27
19Michael Schweizer (Ger) Stevens Racing Team0:00:28
20Fabian Giger (Swi) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team0:00:29
21Ole Quast (Ger) Harvestehuder RSV0:00:29
22Kerry Werner (USA) USA National Team0:00:30
23Fabian Strecker (Ger) Lexware Racing Team0:00:30
24Thomas Pfrommer (Ger) Team HAICO Racing0:00:31
25Andi Weinhold (Ger) Easton Rockets0:00:32
26Adrian Sauer (Ger) SC Hausach Neumayer Tekfor0:00:42
27Rick Reimann (Swi) JB Felt Team0:00:43
28Tobias Rotermund (Ger) MTB Race Team Höxter Merida Bike0:00:48
29Matthias Pfrommer (Ger) Team HAICO Racing0:00:49
30Christopher Maletz (Ger) Easton Rockets0:00:50

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1