BinckBank Tour: Van der Poel takes overall title

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) staged an enormous coup in the BinckBank Tour, winning the final stage in Geraardsbergen and taking the overall victory ahead of Søren Kragh Andersen (Sunweb) with Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) in third overall.

Van der Poel came into the final stage 17 seconds down on race leader Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) but put in a stinging attack on the Muur van Geraardsbergen Mathieu van der Poel with a full 75km to go to the finish.

After pulling a group away, Van der Poel then attacked again on the second trip over the Muur and went solo with 50km to go.

Behind, Pedersen succumbed when Kragh Andersen attacked on the final ascent with 16km to go and the Dane, together with Küng, Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale) and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain McLaren) tried to chase down the Dutch champion.

However, Van der Poel swept up the Golden Kilometre time bonus with 11km to go to seal the overall victory and solo to the stage win, three seconds ahead of Naesen with Colbrelli in third.

"It is incredible that I won the BinckBank Tour", Van der Poel said. "I had started for the win, but after yesterday's time trial I didn't expect that anymore."

Van der Poel said attacking that far out was not his plan, "It was way too early," he said. But he felt that the group wasn't working and decided to go on the climb.

"And suddenly I was alone. For a moment I hesitated, because it was still far to the finish, but in the end I played all or nothing."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Brief Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix 4:07:38
2Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R la Mondiale 0:00:03
3Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain McLaren 0:00:05
4Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb
5Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ 0:00:09
6Dimitri Claeys (Bel) Cofidis 0:00:47
7Yves Lampaert (Bel) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:00:50
8Ivan Garcia Cortina (Spa) Bahrain McLaren 0:01:08
9Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:01:12
10Florian Senechal (Fra) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:01:13
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix
2Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb
3Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews