Arvesen makes Danish history

Norway's Kurt-Asle Arvesen etched his name in Danish cycling history books over the weekend, with the Team CSC rider becoming the first rider in the Tour of Denmark's 22-year history to stand atop the podium on multiple occasions. Arvesen claimed the 2007 edition by some 14 seconds over Italian Enrico Gasparotto (Liquigas), while his Team CSC team-mate Matti Breschel took third place overall.

"It's a great feeling to be the first to win twice, but just like the last time I won it's more than anything a team effort," said Arvesen. "There's not a lot of opportunity for attack, when we have such strong people at the front of the peloton. Matti [Breschel], Nicki [Sørensen] and I were equally strong and they could just as easily have won this race. In the end it was decided by the time trial."

The rider claimed his first overall victory at the event in 2004, when he led a Team CSC one-two, with team-mate Jens Voigt taking second place by two seconds. In 2004 Australia's Stuart O'Grady, then a Cofidis rider, took third place behind the pair he now calls team-mates.

"Hardly anyone has the strength to attack, when you have strong tempo riders like Allan Johansen, Marcus Ljungqvist, Anders Lund, Nicki Sørensen and Michael Blaudzun setting the pace in the peloton, so we were in control the whole time," said Arvesen.

T-Mobile's sprint sensation Mark Cavendish took victory on the event's final stage, with Team CSC's Juan José Haedo in second place.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1