Coryn Rivera wins Winston Salem Cycling Classic Criterium

Erica Allar and Kimberley Wells complete the podium

After the profound disappointment of narrowly missing out on the US national road race title on Saturday, for the second year in a row, UnitedHealthcare's Coryn Rivera rallied on Sunday night to take the win in round six of the USA Crits in rainy downtown Winston Salem.

Erica Allar (Rally Cycling) sprinted in for second ahead of Kimberley Wells (Colavita-Bianchi).

Wet roads and a technical route made for a difficult, attack-filled race, so Rivera had to rely on one teammate, Iris Slappendel, for the final lap.

"It was definitely not an easy course. It's not flat, so we didn't have our entire team [at the end] like we usually do in a criterium. We know what it takes to win races and it doesn't come by panicking. We knew what we had to do and it wasn't sitting on the front with five [laps] to go," Rivera said. "The key to this course with Iris and I left, and Anna [Diana Penuela], was to keep it fast in the second to last straight so that's all Iris needed to do for me and that's what we executed."

The victory was very welcome for Rivera who finished a close second in Sunday's USA Cycling Professional Road Championship. "It's a little bit better to come out of it with a win. But a championship is still a championship, I am still bummed out on that. But today was definitely a good day. It's nice to have a little bit more teammates too, now that it's not just all the Americans."

Americans Lindsay Bayer of Hagens Berman Supermint Pro Cycling Team, Alison Jackson of Team Twenty16-Ridebiker and Ilaria Sanguineti (Italy) of BePink were some of the riders who tried to escape to no avail.

As the rain stopped and the roads dried, Skylar Schneider (USA) of ISCorp presented by Smart Choice MRI managed a solo escape with 17 laps to go in the race. Though she stayed away for six laps, her gap stayed under the 15-second mark, with the reigning USA Professional Criterium Champion Lauren Tamayo of UnitedHealthcare controlling the front of the field.

Attacks continued to fly off the front of the dwindling field but it was obvious with three laps to go that a bunch sprint was imminent. On the final lap, Rivera's teammate Iris Slappendel (Netherlands) took the front to keep the speed high until Rivera started her sprint at 350 meters to go. Celebrating her victory, Rivera crossed the finish line with over a bike length on second-place Erica Allar (USA) of Rally Cycling. Australian Kimberley Wells of Colavita-Bianchi was third.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) Team 
1Coryn Rivera (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
2Erica Allar (USA) Rally Cycling  
3Kimberley Wells (Aus) Colavita/Bianchi  
4Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank  
5Samantha Schneider (USA) ISCorp p/b Smart Choice MRI  
6Alison Jackson (Can) Twenty16 Ridebiker  
7Irene Ossola (USA) Fearless Femme Racing  
8Skylar Schneider (USA) ISCorp p/b Smart Choice MRI  
9Yussely Soto (Mex) ISCorp p/b Smart Choice MRI  
10Tiffany Pezzulo (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling  
11Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) BePink  
12Laura Jorgensen (USA) Happy Tooth Pro Cycling  
13Jermaine Post (Ned) ParkHotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
14Tina Pic (USA) Happy Tooth Pro Cycling  
15Diana Penuela (Col) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
16Emma White (USA) Rally Cycling  
17Christina Gokey-­Smith (USA) Happy Tooth Pro Cycling  
18Jess Mundy (Aus) Fearless Femme Racing  
19Liza Rachetto (USA) Hagens Berman|Supermint Pro Cycling  
20Iris Slappendel (Ned) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
21Chanella Stougje (Ned) ParkHotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
22Katherine Hall (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
23Lauretta Hanson (Aus) Colavita/Bianchi  
24Rocio Parrado Guarnizo (Col) Weber Shimano Ladies Power  
25Sophie De Boer (Ned) ParkHotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
26Allison Arensman (USA) Twenty16 Ridebiker  
27Ana Cristina Sanabria (Col) Colombian National Team  
28Luciene Ferreira da Silva (Bra) Weber Shimano Ladies Power  
29Hannah Arensman (USA) Twenty16 Ridebiker Devo  
30Silva Valsecchi (Ita) BePink  
31Justine Clift (Can) OrthoCarolina  
32Julie Kuliezca (USA) Hagens Berman|Supermint Pro Cycling  
33Hanna Muegge (Ger) Fearless Femme Racing  
34Alexandra Burton (USA) Happy Tooth Pro Cycling  
35Elizabeth Hernandez (USA) Colavita/Bianchi  
36Jennifer Tetrick (USA) Twenty16 Ridebiker  
37Anna Grace Christiansen (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling  
38Katherin Hammes (Ger) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank  
39Jessi Uebelhart (Swi) Hagens Berman|Supermint Pro Cycling  
40Lucy Bechtel (Aus) Fearless Femme Racing  
41Elle Anderson (USA) Rally Cycling  
42Jessica Parra (Col) Colombian National Team  
43Kristen Arnold (USA) Velo Classic p/b Stan's NoTubes  
44Ivy Audrain (USA) Hagens Berman|Supermint Pro Cycling  
45Maria Fadiga (Arg) Weber Shimano Ladies Power  
46Anna Knauer (Ger) ParkHotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
47Lenore Pipes (Gum) BePink  
48Clio Dinan (USA) Velo Classic p/b Stan's NoTubes  
49Caterin Elisabeth Previley (Arg) Weber Shimano Ladies Power  
50Ashlyn Woods (USA) Happy Tooth Pro Cycling  
51Francesco Pattaro (Ita) BePink  
52Josie Talbot (Aus) ISCorp p/b Smart Choice MRI  
53Cassandra Maximenko (USA) Velo Classic p/b Stan's NoTubes  
54Natalia Franco (Col) Colombian National Team  
55Tate Devlin (USA) Velo Classic p/b Stan's NoTubes  
56Lorena Vargas (Col) Colombian National Team  
57Katherine Shields (USA) OrthoCarolina  
58Tess Oliver (USA) QCW Cycling  
59Breanne Nalder (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling  
60Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) ParkHotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
61Kate Sherwin (USA) Happy Tooth Pro Cycling  
62Emma Grant (GBr) Colavita/Bianchi  
63Jessenia Meneses (Col) Weber Shimano Ladies Power  
64Sara Tussey (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling  
65Amanda Miller (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling  
66BrittLee Bowman (USA) Velo Classic p/b Stan's NoTubes  
67Lauren Tamayo (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
68Lauren Hall (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank  
69Jessica Cutler (USA) Colavita/Bianchi  
70Kendelle Hodges (Aus) Fearless Femme Racing  
71Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) ParkHotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
72Cari Higgins (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
73Lexie Millard (USA) ISCorp p/b Smart Choice MRI  
74Lindsay Bayer (USA) Hagens Berman|Supermint Pro Cycling  
75Mikayla Maier (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio  
76Allison Linnell (USA) Hagens Berman|Supermint Pro Cycling  
77Manuela Escobar (Col) Colombian National Team  
78Cynthia Frazier (USA) Velo Classic p/b Stan's NoTubes  
79Payten Maness (USA) ISCorp p/b Smart Choice MRI  
80Luz Adriana Tovar (Col) Colombian National Team  
81Kendall Ryan (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank  


Related Articles

Back to top