Ellen van Dijk wins European Championships women's time trial

Anna van der Breggen second, Trixi Worrack third

Ellen van Dijk (Netherlands) edged out compatriot Anna van der Breggen to take a narrow win in the UEC Road Championships Women's time trial. The margin of victory was just two seconds at the line with early leader Trixi Worrack (Germany) settling for third and a bronze medal. Over the 30km course Van Dijk clocked a time of 41:39 with Van der Breggen coming home in 41:41. No other rider finished within a minute of the gold medal ride.

Van Dijk made light work of the rolling 30km course around Glasgow, setting off last and cutting through the field. Van der Breggen also looked strong early on and caught several riders on her way to the silver medal. It was clear from the early stages and the two Dutch women were in a race of their own as they smashed through the early time check. Only Audrey Cordon Ragot (France) came within touching distance at the first time check, but by the 16.15km check point the Dutch dominance was completely set in motion.

"It was challenging with the wet roads and slippery corners. I was lucky that there weren’t that many corners but at the end it was very tricky," Van Dijk said at the finish.

"It was a really nice course, rolling up and down all the time but I really didn’t know what was going on with the other competitors. I was able to pass some of my competitors, so that was nice, but I knew that Anna was probably the strongest. When I crossed the line, I thought that Anna had won by two seconds but it was me so it was super close. Especially on such a long time trial."

"I’m happy. So far, I won the nationals and then this one. The next goal is the World Championships. It’s all going well but it’s super close and the challenges are high."

Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy), Lisa Brennauer (Germany) and last year's podium placer Ann-Sophie Duyck (Belgium) all failed to make an impression on the standings as they slipped back through the rolling terrain and technical sections.

Worrack was among the early starters and rolled down the ramp in rainy conditions, but the German rider paced her effort superbly. She may have lost time consistently to the leading Dutch pair throughout the course but she moved from sixth at the first time check to third by the 16.15km mark.

Meanwhile, Van der Breggen was beginning to mount a comeback. The rain had eased for a spell but in the final kilometres it fell once more. At the third check at 24.23km Van der Breggen had cut Van Dijk's lead from 17 seconds to just one and as the defending champion rounded the final wet corner the race was wide open.

Van Dijk had to come around a fading Brennauer inside the final 300m and briefly used the German's slipstream as she approached the line, before coming through to take her third title.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ellen van Dijk (Netherlands)0:41:39 
2Anna van der Breggen (Netherlands)0:00:02 
3Trixi Worrack (Germany)0:01:09 
4Audrey Cordon-Ragot (France)0:01:56 
5Pernille Mathiesen (Denmark)0:02:09 
6Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy)0:02:12 
7Eugenia Bujak (Slovenia)0:02:21 
8Hayley Simmonds (Great Britain)0:02:28 
9Ann-Sophy Duyck (Belgium)0:02:29 
10Lotta Lepisto (Finland)0:02:39 
11Martina Ritter (Austria)0:02:44 
12Juliette Labous (France)0:02:59 
13Rikke Lonne (Denmark)0:03:00 
14Lisa Brennauer (Germany)0:03:01 
15Nicole Hanselmann (Switzerland)0:03:29 
16Anna Plichta (Poland)0:03:35 
17Kelly Murphy (Ireland)  
18Eileen Burns (Ireland)0:03:38 
19Valeviya Kononenko (Ukraine)0:03:39 
20Marta Cavalli (Italy)0:03:43 
21Olga Shekel (Ita)0:03:59 
22Katarzyna Pawlowska (Poland)0:04:25 
23Omer Shapira (Israel)0:04:32 
24Lourdes Oyarbide (Spain)0:04:34 
25Anastasiia Pliaskina (Russia)0:04:37 
26Ana Maria Covrig (Romania)0:05:07 
27Magarita Syradoeva (Russia)0:05:12 
28Daiva Ragazinskiene (Lithuania)0:05:15 
29Jarmila Machacova (Czech Republic)0:05:35 
30Rotem Gafinovitz (Israel)0:05:39 
31Lija Laizane (Latvia)0:06:20 
32Tatiana Jasekova (Slovakia)0:07:20 
33Line Marie Gulliksen (Norway)0:09:32 
DNFOlena Pavlukhina (Azerbaijan)  

Related Articles

Back to top