Marcato wins from the break

Italian beats Bilbao and Bouet, peloton time cut

Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil-DCM) spoiled the party for Team Europcar fans and the French riders at the Tour de Vendée, winning the Hors Category one-day race, held on the roads that hosted this year’s Grand Depart of the Tour de France.

On Friday evening thousands of French cycling fans feted the Europcar team and especially Thomas Voeckler and Pierre Rolland for their success at the Tour de France. The team had Anthony Charteau in the 15-rider breakaway that decided the race and he made several late attacks but Marcato used his faster finish to grab the glory on the line.

Peio Bilbao (Euskaltel-Euskadi) finished second and Maxime Bouet (AG2R La Mondiale) was third. Charteau finished sixth. It was Marcato’s first win for the Vacansoleil team after a number of placings during the season.

Surprisingly only 14 riders figured in the official results after race officials enforced the time cut, eliminating the other riders. This also neutralised the final standings in the French Cup –the season long competition that awards points for a series of French races.

As a consequence, Tony Gallopin (Cofidis) was confirmed the winner of the individual standings ahead of Romain Feillu (Vacansoleil-DCM), with the FDJ securing the team competition.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team4:47:33 
2Pello Bilbao Lopez De Armentia (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
3Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
4Laurent Pichon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
5Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
6Anthony Charteau (Fra) Team Europcar0:00:04 
7Perrig Quemeneur (Fra) Team Europcar0:00:14 
8Evert Verbist (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent0:00:23 
9Inaki Isasi Flores (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:00:36 
10Reinier Honig (Ned) Landbouwkrediet  
11Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ  
12Franck Bouyer (Fra) Team Europcar  
13Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis0:00:42 
14Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne0:01:05 
HDLoïc Desriac (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
HDYuriy Krivtsov (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
HDBert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
HDAnthony Delaplace (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
HDOleg Chuzhda (Ukr) Caja Rural  
HDVincent Jerome (Fra) Team Europcar  
HDJonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
HDJulien Fouchard (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
HDLaszlo Bodrogi (Fra) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
HDArthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ  
HDJoaquin Sobrino (Spa) Caja Rural  
HDJulien Simon (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
HDPierrick Fedrigo (Fra) FDJ  
HDStaf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
HDTomasz Marczynski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
HDDirk Bellemakers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet  
HDJacek Morajko (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
HDDries Hollanders (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
HDJorge Azanza Soto (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
HDJérémy Roy (Fra) FDJ  
HDRubén Martinez (Spa) Caja Rural  
HDGarikoitz Bravo Oiarbide (Spa) Caja Rural  
HDFabien Bacquet (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
HDRomain Hardy (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
HDYukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Team Europcar  
HDMathieu Claude (Fra) Team Europcar  
HDBen Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale  
HDJohan Mombaerts (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
HDJavier Francisco Aramendia Lorente (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
HDGiovanni Bernaudeau (Fra) Team Europcar  
HDJosé Joao Pimenta Costa Mendes (Por) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
HDNicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
HDGuillaume Bonnafond (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
HDBert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
HDAnthony Geslin (Fra) FDJ  
HDMathieu Perget (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
HDTony Gallopin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
HDPierre Cazaux (Fra) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
HDSandy Casar (Fra) FDJ  
HDThomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar  
HDJérémie Galland (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
HDDimitri Champion (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
HDDieter Cappelle (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
DNFVíctor De La Parte (Spa) Caja Rural  
DNFKoen Barbe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFGeert Verheyen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFBenjamin Gourgue (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFJean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
DNFSven Van Den Houte (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
DNFKevin Van Melsen (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
DNFThomas Vernaeckt (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent  
DNFDariusz Batek (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
DNFPawel Charucki (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
DNFTomas Smolen (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
DNFMariusz Witecki (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
DNFKamil Zielinski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
DNFJonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
DNFRubén Reig Conejero (Spa) Caja Rural  
DNFAldo Ino Ilesic (Slo) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
DNFMathieu Drujon (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
DNFRomain Bacon (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
DNFSylvain Georges (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
DNFRonan Racault (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
DNFNicolas Rousseau (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
DNFJonathan Thire (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
DNFSteven Tronet (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFDenis Flahaut (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFKevin Lalouette (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFAnthony Colin (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFFlorian Le Corre (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFJulien Guay (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFGuillermo Lana Baquedano (Spa) Caja Rural  
DNFTristan Valentin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
DNFAnthony Ravard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFHubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFRomain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
DNFSanto Anza (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
DNFMichal Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
DNFBjörn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
DNFWout Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
DNFJoost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
DNFSteve Chainel (Fra) FDJ  
DNFRémi Pauriol (Fra) FDJ  
DNFRémi Cusin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
DNFJavier Megias Leal (Spa) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
DNFMickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
DNFSébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFMiguel Minguez Ayala (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
DNFMartijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
DNFValeriy Kobzarenko (Ukr) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
DNFAlessandro Bazzana (Ita) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
DNFJean-Eudes Demaret (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
DNFArmindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFJure Kocjan (Slo) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
DNFJean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFJean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFGuillaume Blot (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFStéphane Poulhies (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
DNFYannick Talabardon (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
DNFLaurent Mangel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
DNFGaël Malacarne (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNSBart Dockx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  


Back to top