Wynants wins charity race

Belgian fundraising event draws top pros

Maarten Wynants won the charity race in Mol, Belgium, on Saturday ahead of Jelle Vanendert and Dries Devenyns. The race was organized by Tom Boonen and his sports director at Quick Step, Wilfried "Fiete" Peeters. Boonen created the cyclo-cross to continue his long-time support of a Belgian charity association that helps children suffering from motricity diseases.

After winning the race, Wynants said to Sporza.be, "It was difficult to follow the track in the sand." The sand seemed to magnify the effects of each little mistake.

"It was very difficult," said Tom Boonen, who said before the event that he hoped to make it a yearly fundraiser. "Will I do this again? Maybe. Otherwise, next year we'll chose an activity like billiards."

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Maarten Wijnants (Bel) 0:41:48  
2 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) 0:00:09  
3 Dries Devenyns (Bel) 0:00:16  
4 Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) 0:00:23  
5 Wim De Vocht (Bel) 0:00:27  
6 Kevin Hulsmans (Bel)    
7 Jurgen Van den Broeck (Bel) 0:00:57  
8 Roy Sentjens (Bel) 0:01:14  
9 Kevin De Weert (Bel) 0:01:17  
10 Wouter Weylandt (Bel) 0:01:26  
11 Frederique Robert (Bel)    
12 Arnaud Coyot (Fra) 0:01:53  
13 Tom Boonen (Bel)    
14 Addy Engels (Ned)    
15 Steven de Jongh (Ned) 0:01:28  
16 Stijn Joseph (Bel) 0:02:21  
17 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) 0:02:30  
18 Jurgen Van de Walle (Bel) 0:02:42  
19 Geert Verheyen (Bel) 0:02:57  
20 Servais Knaven (Ned) 0:03:08  
21 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) 0:03:55  
22 Yannick Eijssen (Bel)    
23 Gert Dockx (Bel)    
24 Björn Leukemans (Bel) 0:04:15  
25 Nick Nuyens (Bel) 0:04:20  
26 Bram Tankink (Ned)    
27 Kevin Van Impe (Bel) 0:04:44  
28 David Boucher (Fra) 0:05:10  
29 Jan Bakelants (Bel)    
30 Niki Terpstra (Ned)    
31 Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel)    
32 Alessandro Ballan (Ita)    
33 Denis Flahaut (Fra)    
34 Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel)    
35 Carlos Barredo (Spa)    
36 Filippo Pozzato (Ita)    
37 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel)    
38 Stijn Devolder (Bel)    
39 Kris Boeckmans (Bel)    
40 Geert Omloop (Bel)    

Related Articles

Back to top