TechPowered By

More tech

German Road Championships 2013

Date range:
June 21-23, 2013

June 21, Elite Men - Time Trial: Allgäu 50.5km

Martin defends German time trial title

Susan Westemeyer
June 21, 2013, 18:26 BST,
June 21, 2013, 22:33 BST

Gretsch, Schumacher round out podium behind reigning world champion

Reigning time trial world champion Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) en route to victory in the German TT championship

Reigning time trial world champion Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) en route to victory in the German TT championship

view thumbnail gallery

Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) successfully defended his German national time trial title, covering the 50km course in a time of 1:00:58. That was a minute and a half faster than the second-placed finisher, Patrick Gretsch (Argos-Shimano), who came in at 1:02.31. Third place went to Stefan Schumacher (Christina Watches), with a time of 1:02:51.

“I won by one and a half mintues. That shows me that my formis right going into the Tour, since the  time trial competition in Germany is very good,” Martin said. “It was a totally normal time trial, uncomplicated, and the course suited me.”

Former World and German time trial champion, and Martin's Omega Pharma-QuickStep teammate, Bert Grabsch finished ninth, over five minutes down.

As defending champion Martin started the race last and it soon became obvious that the title would be his. He caught his two-minute man, Lars Teutenberg, at the halfway point, and also setting a new best time of 30:52. Both he and Teutenberg eventually caught and passed Grabsch, Martin's four-minute man, in the second half of the race.

Full Results
1 Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 1:00:58  
2 Patrick Gretsch (Team Argos-Shimano) 0:01:33  
3 Stefan Schumacher (Christina Watches-Onfone) 0:01:53  
4 Lars Teutenberg (FC Lexxi Speedbike) 0:02:48  
5 Dominik Nerz (BMC Racing Team) 0:03:18  
6 Nikias Arndt (Team Argos-Shimano) 0:03:23  
7 Sven Forberger (Team NSP-Ghost) 0:03:28  
8 Friedrich Meingast (RC Herpersdorf 1919) 0:04:41  
9 Bert Grabsch (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 0:04:43  
10 Jan-Niklas Droste (Team Heizomat) 0:05:22  
11 Giulio Focardi (Radsport Pur e.V.)    
12 Martin Reimer (MTN-Qhubeka) 0:05:25  
13 Stefan Gaebel (RSV Speiche) 0:06:17  
14 Kai Hliza (RSC Bad Dürkheim) 0:06:30  
15 Nils Plötner (Team Stölting) 0:07:22  
16 Nico Hesslich (RSC Cottbus) 0:07:42  
17 Stefan Fussstetter (RSV Irschenberg)    
18 Sergej Fuchs (Team NSP-Ghost) 0:07:59  
19 Enrico Heinowsky (Berliner TSC) 0:09:42  
20 Sascha Starker (SSG Bensheim) 0:10:11  
21 Richard Stockhausen (BIKE AID) 0:10:20