Drizners wins under-23 Australian criterium championships

O'Brien second, defending champion Scott third

Jarrad Drizners (InForm TM-Insight Make) won the under-23 Australian National Criterium Championships on Friday afternoon after getting the better of breakaway companion Kelland O'Brien (Pro Racing Sunshine Coast) in a two-man sprint.

While the elite women's and men's criteriums would be decided in bunch sprints on the opening day of the Australian National Championships in Ballarat, Victoria, it was a very different story in the U23 race earlier in the evening, when Drizners and O'Brien broke away to lap the field.

Defending champion and O'Brien's teammate Cam Scott won the bunch sprint for third place before Drizner and O'Brien continued on for another two laps to decide the race, with Drizner taking the title.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jarrad Drizners (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make49:05:00 
2Kelland O'Brien (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast  
3Cameron Scott (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast0:02:01 
4Nicholas White (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
5Jensen Plowright (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team  
6Tom Mcfarlane (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make  
7Craig Wiggins (Aus) St George Continental Team  
8Thomas Bolton (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team  
9Myles Stewart (Aus) Rauland Development Cycling Team  
10Brent Rees (Aus)  
11Jasper Albrecht (Aus) X-Speed United  
12Mark Sampson (Aus) Butterfields - Appselec p/b VDR  
13Daniel Simpson (Aus)  
14Taj Jones (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast  
15Zack Gilmore (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast  
16Tim Lennon (Aus)  
17Cameron Wright (Aus)  
18Harry Sweeny (Aus) EvoPro  
19Christopher Powell (Aus) Team Nero Bianchi  
20Cooper Sayers (Aus) SASI  
21Isaac Buckell (Aus)  
22Michael Harris (Aus) MTOSS Racing  
23Conor Leahy (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make  
24Ben Metcalfe (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
25Chester Hinton (Aus)  
26Leighton Taylor (Aus)  
27Calan White (Aus)  
28Liam Edwards (Aus)  
29Byron Davies (Aus)  
30Liam Lawlor (Aus) Butterfields - Appselec p/b VDR  
31Harry Askew (Aus)  
32Blake Quick (Aus) St George Continental Team  
33Tom Chester (Aus) Rauland Development Cycling Team  
34Alexander Chrystall (Aus)  
35Amarni Drake (Aus) Australian Cycling Academy0:02:14 
36Kai Chapman (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast0:02:16 
37Lucas Hoffman (Aus)  
38David Williams (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make  
39Will Moloney-Morton (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make  
40Godfrey Slattery (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make0:02:47 
41Thomas Jones (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make  
42Alex Clairs (Aus)  
43Sam Bradbury (Aus)  
44Lachlan Scott (Aus)  


Related Articles

Back to top