Leigh Howard wins Clasica de Almeria

Australian tops sprint in wind-shortened race

Leigh Howard (IAM Cycling) won a drastically shortened Clasica Almeria on Sunday, topping Katusha's Alexey Tsatevich in the sprint, with teammate Aleksejs Saramotins in third.

"It was a very strange day, with a crazy amount of wind," Howard said. "The race was neutralised and restarted numerous times. Finally we came back to where the hotel is, and we did a circuit race of seven laps. It was again super windy, and the race actually split with one or two kilometers to go in the crosswinds. I was lucky enough that I had good teammates around me, they delivered me and all I had to do was sprint for the last 200m."

What was intended to be a 184km race along the Almeria coast, with a couple forays inland to take in the four category 3 climbs, turned into chaos as extremely high winds blasted the racers with sand as they travelled along the coast. The organisers neutralised the first 15km, but it became clear that the race would be impossible to complete on the originally intended route.

The organisation eventually decided to return the racers to Roquetas de Mar and complete the event with a shortened circuit.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Leigh Howard (Aus) IAM Cycling0:28:29 
2Alexey Tsatevich (Rus) Team Katusha  
3Aleksejs Saramotins (Lat) IAM Cycling  
4Bryan Coquard (Fra) Direct Energie0:00:05 
5Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
6Raymond Kreder (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
7Pawel Franczak (Pol) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team  
8Roman Maikin (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:00:08 
9Eryk Laton (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
10Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:11 
11Adrien Petit (Fra) Direct Energie  
12Bert Van Lerberghe (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
13Gijs Van Hoecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
14Alexey Kurbatov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
15Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team  
16Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) IAM Cycling  
17Bartlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice0:00:15 
18Michel Kreder (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton0:00:20 
19Andrei Solomenikov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:00:17 
20Kamil Gradek (Pol) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team0:00:24 
21Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice0:00:25 
22Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team  
23Jonas Koch (Ger) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team  
24Vicente Reynes (Spa) IAM Cycling0:00:31 
25Luis Mas Bonet (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:00:44 
26Cyril Lemoine (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:51 
27Roger Kluge (Ger) IAM Cycling0:00:53 
28Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:01:07 
29Sander Helven (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
30Eliot Lietaer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
31Marcel Aregger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
32Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:01:20 
33Daniel Lopez (Spa) Burgos BH  
34Alexander Evtushenko (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
35Lucasz Bodnar (Pol) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team  
36Jonathan Lastra Martinez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
37Josef Cerny (Cze) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
38Miguel Angel Benito (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
39Pawel Cieslik (Pol) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team  
40Imanol Estevez (Spa) Euskadi-Basque Country  
41Beñat Txoperena (Spa) Euskadi-Basque Country  
42Maxime Farazijn (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
43Ruben Pols (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
44Jordi Simon (Spa) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team  
45Sjoerd Van Ginneken (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
46Hugo Hofstetter (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
47Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
48Antonio Piedra Perez (Spa) Funvic Soul Cycles - Carrefour  
49Martin Elminger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
50Juan Jose Lobato (Spa) Movistar Team  
51Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha0:01:23 
52Egor Silin (Rus) Team Katusha  
53Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
54Arman Kamyshev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
55Borut Bozic (Slo) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:01:34 
56Santos Cardoso (Bra) Funvic Soul Cycles - Carrefour0:02:24 
57Nikolay Mihaylov (Bul) CCC Sprandi Polkowice0:02:41 
58Mateusz Taciak (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
59Juan Carlos Riutort (Spa) Burgos BH  
60Maxim Belkov (Rus) Team Katusha  
61Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
62Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC Racing Team0:02:48 
63Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team  
64Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team  
65Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team  
66Ben Hermans (Bel) BMC Racing Team  
67Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team  
68Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team  
69Vladimir Isaychev (Rus) Team Katusha0:04:19 
70Alexander Serov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:04:41 
71Garikoitz Bravo (Spa) Euskadi-Basque Country  
72Arnau Sole (Spa) Burgos BH  
73Mikel Bizkarra (Spa) Euskadi-Basque Country  
74Artur Ershov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
75Mikel Iturria (Spa) Euskadi-Basque Country  
76Antwan Tolhoek (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton0:07:19 
DNFRuben Fernandez (Spa) Movistar Team  
DNFJavier Moreno (Spa) Movistar Team  
DNFAntonio Pedrero (Spa) Movistar Team  
DNFRory Sutherland (Aus) Movistar Team  
DNFNicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFJerome Cousin (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFCarlos Barbero (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFSergio Pardilla (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFJaime Roson (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFHugh Carthy (GBr) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFJakub Kaczmarek (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
DNFMatvey Mamykin (Rus) Team Katusha  
DNFJhonatan Restrepo (Col) Team Katusha  
DNFKarel Hnik (Cze) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team  
DNFMaurits Lammertink (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
DNFNick Van Der Lijke (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
DNFPrado Nazaret (Bra) Funvic Soul Cycles - Carrefour  
DNFMurilo Affonso (Bra) Funvic Soul Cycles - Carrefour  
DNFKleber Ramos (Bra) Funvic Soul Cycles - Carrefour  
DNFJoao Pereira (Bra) Funvic Soul Cycles - Carrefour  
DNFSylvain Chavanel (Fra) Direct Energie  
DNFYohann Gene (Fra) Direct Energie  
DNFJulien Morice (Fra) Direct Energie  
DNFAlexandre Pichot (Fra) Direct Energie  
DNFAngelo Tulik (Fra) Direct Energie  
DNFTanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team  
DNFAlexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
DNFDavide Malacarne (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
DNFPaolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
DNFPablo Torres (Spa) Burgos BH  
DNFIbai Salas (Spa) Burgos BH  
DNFIgor Merino (Spa) Burgos BH  
DNFAlvaro Robredo (Spa) Burgos BH  
DNFGotzon Udondo (Spa) Euskadi-Basque Country  
DNFAnder Barrenetxea (Spa) Euskadi-Basque Country  

Related Articles

Back to top