Skip to main content

Marta Bastianelli wins the Vuelta CV Feminas

Marta Bastianelli (opens in new tab) won the Vuelta CV Feminas (opens in new tab), the opening race of the 2022 women’s season, using her speed and experienced sprinting skills to go early and so avoid a crash in the final hundred metres. 

35-year-old Bastianelli gave UAE Team ADQ (opens in new tab) their first win after UAE came onboard as new title sponsor and under new ownership.  

Fellow Italians Ilaria Sanguineti (Valcar-Travel & Service) and Barbara Guarischi (Movistar) finished second and third but race officials later relegated Guarischi and so Kathrin Schweinberger (Ceratizit-WNT)  moved up to third place.  

Bastianelli was given an excellent lead out by her teammates and then hit out early in the finishing straight. Chiara Consonni (Valcar-Travel & Service) and Susanne Andersen (Uno-X Pro) bumped shoulders and Consonni went down hard. Andersen stayed up and finished fifth. 

The 92km race was controlled by the sprint teams during the fast ride from Paterna to Valencia. There were a number of attacks but the peloton closed them down on the wide roads. 

UAE Team ADQ had clearly worked on their sprint lead out strategy and set-up Bastianelli to hit out at the right time and give the new look WorldTour team a first win.

"I'm very happy to win with the new team and with a new jersey. It's a good start," Bastianelli said. 

"I'm happy for teammates because we've worked hard. When there are such strong  young riders, it's difficult for me in the sprints because I'm not a real sprinter.

"It was a nervous race and so I stayed behind in the peloton with my  teammates. Then we did a very good job and that makes me happy." 

Bastianelli will return to Spain for the Volta Comunitat Valenciana Femines later in February and hinted 2022 could be her final season.  

"I'll be back later in the month and then there's the big races in Belgium. Maybe it's the last year for him. I'm happy to finish as a winner," she said.  

Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marta Bastianelli (Ita) UAE Team ADQ 2:11:32
2Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Valcar-Travel & Service
3Kathrin Schweinberger (Aut) Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team
4Susanne Andersen (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Women
5Sandra Alonso Dominguez (Spa) Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team
6Anniina Ahtosalo (Fin) Uno-X Pro Cycling Women
7Anna Trevisi (Ita) UAE Team ADQ
8Tania Calvo Barbero (Spa) Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi
9Mylene de Zoete (Ned) NXTG by Experza
10Alice Sharpe (Irl) Ibct
11Alicia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Movistar Team Women
12India Grangier (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime
13Maaike Boogaard (Ned) UAE Team ADQ
14Corinna Lechner (Ger) Massi Tactic Women's Team
15Lea Lin Teutenberg (Ger) Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team
16Minke Bakker (Ned) Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport
17Madelaine Leech (GBr) CAMS-Basso
18Susana Perez Conejero (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte
19Arianna Pruisscher (Ned) Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime
20Julie Leth (Den) Uno-X Pro Cycling Women
21Lone Meertens (Bel) NXTG by Experza
22Danique Braam (Ned) Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport
23Sofia Rodriguez Revert (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango
24Anne Dorthe Ysland (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Women
25Marta Romeu Solaz (Spa) Team Farto-BTC
26Alba Teruel Ribes (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango
27Severine Eraud (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime
28Natalie Grinczer (GBr) Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime
29Henrietta Colborne (GBr) GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling
30Margaux Vigie (Fra) Valcar-Travel & Service
31Antri Christoforou (Cyp) Team Farto-BTC
32Aileen Schweikart (Ger) Bizkaia-Durango
33Ziortza Isasi Cristobal (Spa) Eneicat-RBH Global
34Ilse Pluimers (Ned) NXTG by Experza
35Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Movistar Team Women
36Sanne Bouwmeester (Ned) GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling 0:00:11
37Maud Rijnbeek (Ned) NXTG by Experza
38Valentina Basilico (Ita) BePink
39Claire Steels (GBr) Sopela Women's Team
40Ariana Gilabert Vilaplana (Spa) Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi
41Mia Griffin (Irl) Ibct
42Eugenia Bujak (Slo) UAE Team ADQ
43Alice Coutinho (Fra) Sopela Women's Team
44Maaike Coljé (Ned) Massi Tactic Women's Team
45Aranza Villalon Sanchez (Chi) Eneicat-RBH Global
46Karolina Kumiega (Pol) Valcar-Travel & Service
47Varvara Fasoi (Gre) Eneicat-RBH Global
48Fien Van Eynde (Bel) Ibct
49Olivia Baril (Can) Valcar-Travel & Service
50Nadine Gill (Ger) Sopela Women's Team
51Megan Barker (GBr) CAMS-Basso
52Katie Scott (GBr) CAMS-Basso
53Miryam Nuñez (Ecu) Massi Tactic Women's Team
54Clara Lundmark (Swe) GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling
55Julie Hendrickx (Bel) Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport
56Laura Tenorio Herrero (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte
57Sara Van De Vel (Bel) Ibct
58Lourdes Oyarbide Jimenez (Spa) Movistar Team Women
59Amalie Lutro (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Women
60Alessia Patuelli (Ita) UAE Team ADQ
61Usoa Ostolaza Zabala (Spa) Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi
62Noemie Abgrall (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime
63Sara Martin Martin (Spa) Movistar Team Women
64Laura Tomasi (Ita) UAE Team ADQ 0:00:21
65Laura Asencio (Fra) Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team
66Paula Patiño Bedoya (Col) Movistar Team Women
67Daniek Hengeveld (Ned) GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling
68Lara Vieceli (Ita) Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team 0:00:23
69Lija Laizane (Lat) Eneicat-RBH Global
70Sophie Lewis (GBr) CAMS-Basso
71Marie Soleil Blais (Can) Team Farto-BTC
72Aurela Nerlo (Pol) Massi Tactic Women's Team
73Gloria Rodriguez Sanchez (Spa) Movistar Team Women
74Nathalie Eklund (Swe) Massi Tactic Women's Team 0:00:27
75Ariadna Gutierrez Arzaluz (Mex) Team Farto-BTC 0:00:44
76Cassia Boglio (Aus) NXTG by Experza 0:00:47
77Anneke Dijkstra (Ned) GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling 0:00:50
78Becky Storrie (GBr) CAMS-Basso 0:00:52
79Eukene Larrarte Arteaga (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango 0:00:54
80Isabel Martin Martin (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte 0:01:02
81Marketa Hájková (Cze) BePink 0:01:04
82Maeva Squiban (Fra) Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime 0:01:12
83Isabella Maria Escalera (Spa) Eneicat-RBH Global
84Elizabeth Bennett (GBr) Ibct
85Rebecca Koerner (Den) Uno-X Pro Cycling Women 0:01:14
86Carolina Esteban Fernandez (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte
87Eva Anguela Yaguez (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte
88Irantzu Beloki Arcelus (Spa) Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi
89Naia Amondarain Gaztañaga (Spa) Sopela Women's Team 0:01:17
90Loes Adegeest (Ned) Ibct 0:01:19
91Claudia Jongerius (Ned) Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport 0:01:32
92Prisca Savi (Ita) BePink 0:01:34
93Lotte Claes (Bel) Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport 0:01:37
94Matilde Vitillo (Ita) BePink 0:01:46
95Nadia Quagliotto (Ita) BePink 0:01:53
96Iris Gomez Argiles (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango 0:02:05
97Silvia Zanardi (Ita) BePink 0:03:21
98Beatriz Pereira (Por) Bizkaia-Durango 0:03:31
99Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar-Travel & Service 0:03:52
100Josefine Huitfeldt (Den) Eneicat-RBH Global 0:05:50
101Sandra Gutierrez Conde (Spa) Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi
102Sofia Gomes (Por) Massi Tactic Women's Team
103Barbara Sniezynska (Pol) Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport
104Agnieta Francke (Ned) Sopela Women's Team 0:09:03

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen is the most experienced member of the Cyclingnews team, having reported on professional cycling since 1994. He has held the position of European editor since 2012 and previously worked for Reuters, Shift Active Media, and Cycling Weekly, among other publications.

Latest on Cyclingnews