Mathieu van der Poel wins Vlaamse Druivencross

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus)
Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) (Image credit: Bettini Photo)

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) bounced back from an off day at Saturday's Hotondcross to win Vlaamse Druivencross held in Overijse on Sunday. The world champion rode away with the victory ahead of Tom Pidcock (Trinity Racing) and Quinten Hermans (Telenet-Baloise).

The race started with Pidcock and Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) taking the early lead. At the start of the second lap a stray dog ventured on course and was seen running along the finish-line straightaway as the riders raced through to start the second lap.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus 1:00:54
2Thomas Pidcock (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:00:14
3Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:00:27
4Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:01:10
5Tim Merlier (Bel) Creafin – Fristads 0:01:43
6Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:02:14
7Wietse Bosmans (Bel) 0:02:36
8Daan Soete (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:02:55
9Marcel Meisen (Ger) Corendon - Circus 0:03:24
10Tom Meeusen (Bel) Corendon - Circus 0:03:33
11Thijs Aerts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:04:24
12Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:04:31
13Ben Turner (GBr) Creafin – Fristads 0:04:33
14Timo Kielich (Bel) Creafin – Fristads 0:04:39
15Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:04:41
16Cameron Mason (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:05:09
17Sascha Weber (Ger) 0:05:31
18Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:05:41
19Lander Loockx (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:05:48
20Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:06:02
21Braam Merlier (Bel) Creafin – Fristads 0:06:19
22Yannick Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal
23Mathijs Wuyts (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex
24Maik Van Der Heijden (Ned)
25Jens Gys (Bel)
26Gert Smets (Bel) Creafin – Fristads
27Bart Artz (Ned)
28Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel)
29Thomas Verheyen (Bel)
30Senne De Meyer (Bel)
31Anton Ferdinande (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal
32Edwin De Wit (Bel)
33Nick Peers (Bel)
34Kelvin Bakx (Ned)
35Floris Van Tricht (Bel)
36Yelle Leaerts (Bel)
37Max Judelson (USA)
38Lennert Meulemans (Bel)
39Mikkel Jørgensen (Den)
40Wouter Goosen (Bel)
41Siebe Tormans (Bel)
42Stan Godrie (Ned)
43Vincent Oger (Bel)
DNFLars Van Der Haar (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions
DNFGianni Vermeersch (Bel) Creafin – Fristads
DNFJim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions
DNFSenna Van Cutsem (Bel)
DNFThomas Mein (GBr) Tarteletto - Isorex
DSQGrégory Careme (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini
Deputy Editor

Kirsten Frattini is the Deputy Editor of Cyclingnews, overseeing the global racing content plan.

Kirsten has a background in Kinesiology and Health Science. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's biggest races, reporting on the WorldTour, Spring Classics, Tours de France, World Championships and Olympic Games.

She began her sports journalism career with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. In 2018, Kirsten became Women's Editor – overseeing the content strategy, race coverage and growth of women's professional cycling – before becoming Deputy Editor in 2023.

Latest on Cyclingnews