Ferrand-Prevot solos to Vlaamse Druivencross victory

Pauline Ferrand-Prevot wins in Overisje

Pauline Ferrand-Prevot wins in Overisje (Image credit: Canyon//SRAM)

In her second race back after a two-year break from cyclo-cross, Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Canyon-SRAM) returned to the top step of the podium with a solo victory at an extremely muddy Vlaamse Druivencross. World Champion Sanne Cant (Beobank-Corendon), who was victorious in Essen on Saturday, chased hard to catch and pass Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb) for second place with the latter coming home in third place.

It was a thoroughly muddy affair for the women on the technical, hilly course in Overijse. Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) got off to a quick start but she would eventually be distanced as an elite group of five forged clear. Ferrand-Prevot, Brand, Cant, Katie Compton (Trek) and Nikki Brammeier (Boels Dolmans), managed the course best early on and built a key advantage.

The conditions made for a race of attrition and Sophie de Boer called it quits midway through, after finishing in the top 10 the day before. It was Brand that appeared to have the handle of things, despite some small errors. The Dutch rider dropped all of her rivals, but Ferrand-Prevot kept her close and was able to pass her when she went into the pits for a new bike.

After passing Brand, Ferrand-Prevot didn’t look back and she pulled out an advantage that would allow her to avoid taking big risks in the closing lap. Behind her, Brand had a few heart-stopping moments. She came off her bike on a steep descent, losing control in the mud, which allowed Cant to close the gap to her. She tried to attack Cant but crashed again when she caught a course-side barrier.

In the end, Cant had the power on the climbs and the confidence on the descents, allowing her to ease out a gap to take second place behind Ferrand-Prevot.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Fra) Canyon-SRAM0:40:01
2Sanne Cant (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:00:20
3Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb0:00:28
4Katie Compton (USA) Trek0:00:32
5Nikki Brammeier (GBr) Boels Dolmans0:00:48
6Annemarie Worst (Ned) ERA-Circus0:01:23
7Evie Richards (GBr)0:01:24
8Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Steylaerts-Betfirst0:01:40
9Ellen Noble (USA) Aspire0:01:46
10Kim Van de Steene (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex0:01:58
11Helen Wyman (GBr)0:02:06
12Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:34
13Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) Crelan - Charles0:02:58
14Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:03:08
15Fleur Nagengast (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:03:33
16Emma White (USA)0:03:34
17Harriet Harnden (GBr)0:03:37
18Juliette Labous (Fra)0:04:18
19Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:04:56
20Pauline Delhaye (Fra)0:05:03
21Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra)0:05:28
22Denise Betsema (Ned)0:05:43
23Axelle Bellaert (Bel)0:05:48
24Natalie Redmond (Aus)0:06:19
25Jinse Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:06:35
26Anna Kay (GBr)0:06:45
27Emily Wadsworth (GBr)0:06:57
28Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)0:07:17
29Marthe Truyen (Bel)0:07:32
30Sophie Thackray (GBr)0:07:39
31Kim Van De Putte (Bel)0:08:08
32Linda Ter Beek (Ned)0:08:12
33Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)0:09:46
34Tess Van Loy (Bel)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Stacey Riedel (Aus)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Christine Vardaros (USA)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Tine Rombouts (Bel)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Olga Kuzmina (Rus)Row 37 - Cell 2
DNFSophie De Boer (Ned)Row 38 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews