Van der Poel bests Pidcock in Nove Mesto short track

Mathieu van der Poel wins his 3rd World Cup of 2019
Mathieu van der Poel wins his 3rd World Cup of 2019 (Image credit: Rob Jones)

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) confirmed, once again, that he dominates the men's field, with his eighth consecutive win in the UCI MTB World Cup short track race (XCC) he has entered since 2019.

The men's race had multiple contenders for the win besides Van der Poel - last week's XCO winner Victor Koretzky (KMC-Orbea), world number one Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM), Van der Poel's road and cyclo-cross rival Tom Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers) and Henrique Avancini (Cannondale Factory), who won here last year.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 0:20:48
2Thomas Pidcock (GBr)
3Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Specialized Racing
4Victor Koretzky (Fra) Kmc - Orbea 0:00:01
5Maximilian Brandl (Ger) Lexware Mountainbike Team 0:00:03
6Maxime Marotte (Fra) Santa Cruz fsa mtb pro Team 0:00:06
7Anton Cooper (NZl) Trek Factory Racing Xc 0:00:08
8Lars Forster (Swi) Scott-sram mtb Racing Team 0:00:11
9Luca Braidot (Ita) Santa Cruz fsa mtb pro Team 0:00:12
10Vlad Dascalu (Rom) Trek - Pirelli 0:00:13
11Alan Hatherly (RSA) Cannondale Factory Racing
12Nino Schurter (Swi) Scott-sram mtb Racing Team 0:00:14
13Henrique Avancini (Bra) Cannondale Factory Racing
14Mathias Flueckiger (Swi) Thömus rn Swiss Bike Team 0:00:15
15Ondrej Cink (Cze) Kross Orlen Cycling Team 0:00:16
16Manuel Fumic (Ger) Cannondale Factory Racing 0:00:19
17Leandre Bouchard (Can) Pivot Cycles - Ote
18Jens Schuermans (Bel) Scott Creuse Oxygene Gueret 0:00:26
19Milan Vader (Ned) Kmc - Orbea
20Simon Andreassen (Den) Cannondale Factory Racing 0:00:38
21Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den) Cst Postnl Bafang mtb Racing Team 0:00:39
22Daniel Mcconnell (Aus) Primaflor Mondraker Xsauce
23David Valero Serrano (Spa) Bh Templo Cafés Ucc 0:00:40
24Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol) Kross Orlen Cycling Team 0:00:42
25Thomas Griot (Fra) Massi 0:00:57
26Peter Disera (Can) Norco Factory Team Xc 0:01:01
27Keegan Swenson (USA) 0:01:06
28Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) Specialized Racing 0:01:14
29Thomas Litscher (Swi) Kmc - Orbea 0:01:19
30Nadir Colledani (Ita) Mmr Factory Racing Team 0:01:20
31Jofre Cullell Estape (Spa) Primaflor Mondraker Xsauce 0:01:22
32Georg Egger (Ger) Lexware Mountainbike Team 0:01:23
33Jose Gerardo Ulloa Arevalo (Mex) 0:01:59
34Christopher Blevins (USA) Trinity Racing Mtb 0:02:18
35Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) 0:02:55
36Andri Frischknecht (Swi) Scott-sram mtb Racing Team
37Karl Markt (Aut) Trek | Vaude
38Reto Indergand (Swi) Giant Factory off - Road Team
DNFTitouan Carod (Fra) Absolute-absalon - Bmc
DNSMartin Haring (Svk)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1