UCI MTB World Cup Petropolis: Ferrand-Prévot, Hatherly win short track openers

The 2022 Mountain Bike World Cup opened on Friday in the new venue of Petropolis, Brazil; the first time that the World Cup has visited Brazil since 2005 with Pauline Ferrand-Prévot (BMC MTB Racing) and Alan Hatherly (Cannondale Factory) winning the opening short track events.

The racing began with the first XCC - short track - of the new stand alone World Cup series for this discipline.

Pauline Ferrand-Prévot became the first rider to don the new leader's jersey with a last-lap attack in the women's six-lap race. Laura Stigger (Specialized Factory) outsprinted XCO world champion Evie Richards (Trek Factory) for second.

The 1.4-kilometre circuit did not offer any technical or climbing features to separate the field, so it was a high-paced race of attrition.

Loana Lecomte (Canyon CLLCTV), the 2021 World Cup overall champion moved to the front on the first lap, setting a fast pace that left others content to follow for the first half of the race. Richards challenged her a few times, but always slid back on the climbs as the front group shrunk to 15 riders.

Rebecca McConnell (Primaflora Mondraker Genuins) launched the first serious attack on lap 5, opening a small gap before Richards, Ferrand-Prévot, Stigger and Lecomte pulled her back. Richards then opened the throttle on the final lap and looked to be in control until the final short climb, when Ferrand-Prévot surged and no one could answer.

"I'm very happy and I was not expecting it," said Ferrand-Prévot. "It is my first short track of the season, and I have been doing Cape Epic so more longer distance races. But I have I worked hard over the winter on my weaknesses.

"I missed a pedal at the start but I was able to come back after an effort. Then I tried to sit in a bit and recover. Coming from road racing, I am used to tactics and I just waited for the right moment."

Late-race attack nets Hatherly the victory

Alan Hatherly (Cannondale Factory) took the first short track win of his career with an attack just before the final descent to the finish line to overtake Thomas Litscher (Kross Orlen) in the final 50 metres. Maxime Marotte (Santa Cruz FSA) took third.

All eyes were on Brazilian star Henrique Avancini (Cannondale Factory), racing in his home town on a course that he and his father designed. Avancini did not disappoint the huge crowd in the early laps, taking control at the front of the race for the first two laps and always staying in the top three.

Litscher and XCO world champion Nino Schurter (Scott SRAM) both tested the front of the race before 2021 World Cup champion Mathias Flueckiger (Thomus Maxon) attacked hard at the start of Lap 5. The top contenders all responded immediately, with Marotte moving to the front for the penultimate sixth lap. 

Things seemed to settle down a bit for this lap, with no one willing to make a long attack. Schurter jumped at the beginning of the final lap, but neither he nor Avancini could respond when Litscher surged on the final climb. The Swiss rider looked to have it won on the descent into the finish, but Hatherly attacked hard in the final flat run-in to the finish line to come by for the win.

"It's incredible," admitted Hatherly, the first-ever South African short track winner. "This is unbelievable, the crowd is insane. Super happy to take the win for the team. It was a really crazy race. A few efforts were going with three laps to go, but nothing was sticking, so I sat back a bit and waited, using some road tactics."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Women's Short Track
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) 0:19:55
2Laura Stigger (Aut) 0:19:56
3Evie Richards (GBr)
4Rebecca Mcconnell (Aus) 0:20:02
5Loana Lecomte (Fra) 0:20:06
6Mona Mitterwallner (Aut) 0:20:08
7Martina Berta (Ita) 0:20:14
8Alessandra Keller (Swi) 0:20:18
9Linda Indergand (Swi) 0:20:19
10Greta Seiwald (Ita)
11Sina Frei (Swi) 0:20:28
12Malene Degn (Den)
13Caroline Bohé (Den) 0:20:29
14Gwendalyn Gibson (USA) 0:20:30
15Eva Lechner (Ita)
16Anne Terpstra (Ned) 0:20:32
17Janika Lõiv (Est) 0:20:48
18Léna Gerault (Fra)
19Giorgia Marchet (Ita) 0:20:51
20Sophie Von Berswordt (Ned) 0:20:56
21Isla Short (GBr) 0:21:00
22Lotte Koopmans (Ned) 0:21:02
23Nadine Rieder (Ger) 0:21:04
24Nicole Koller (Swi) 0:21:06
25Jennifer Jackson (Can) 0:21:10
26Kate Courtney (USA)
27Rocio Del Alba Garcia Martinez (Spa) 0:21:15
28Yana Belomoina (Ukr) 0:21:27
29Daniela Campuzano Chavez Peon (Mex) 0:21:30
30Annie Last (GBr) 0:21:50
31Haley Batten (USA) 0:21:51
32Laurie Arseneault (Can) 0:21:56
33Isabella Moreira Lacerda (Bra) 0:22:03
34Anne Tauber (Ned) 0:22:25
35Emeline Detilleux (Bel) 0:22:29
36Tereza Tvarůžková (Cze) 0:22:30
37Leticia Jaqueline Soares Candido (Bra) 0:22:42
38Steffi Häberlin (Swi) 0:22:49
39Hercilia Najara Ferreira De Souza (Bra) 0:23:29
40Jana Czeczinkarová (Cze) 0:23:45
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men's Short Track
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alan Hatherly (RSA) 0:19:55
2Thomas Litscher (Swi) 0:19:56
3Maxime Marotte (Fra) 0:19:57
4Henrique Avancini (Bra)
5Nino Schurter (Swi) 0:20:00
6Mathias Flückiger (Swi)
7Christopher Blevins (USA)
8Ondřej Cink (Cze) 0:20:03
9Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol)
10Luca Schwarzbauer (Ger) 0:20:08
11Luca Braidot (Ita)
12Thomas Griot (Fra) 0:20:09
13Filippo Colombo (Swi) 0:20:11
14Pierre De Froidmont (Bel) 0:20:13
15Jose Gerardo Ulloa Arevalo (Mex) 0:20:16
16David Valero Serrano (Spa)
17Titouan Carod (Fra) 0:20:17
18Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den) 0:20:18
19Lars Forster (Swi)
20Jofre Cullell Estape (Spa) 0:20:19
21Reto Indergand (Swi) 0:20:20
22Marc Andre Fortier (Can) 0:20:21
23Martins Blums (Lat) 0:20:22
24Joshua Dubau (Fra)
25Gregor Raggl (Aut) 0:20:23
26Antoine Philipp (Fra) 0:20:25
27Gioele Bertolini (Ita) 0:20:31
28Peter Disera (Can) 0:21:00
29Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita)
30Jose Gabriel Marques De Almeida (Bra) 0:21:02
31Jens Schuermans (Bel) 0:21:16
32Vital Albin (Swi) 0:21:34
33Ben Oliver (NZl) 0:21:38
34Nadir Colledani (Ita)
35Juri Zanotti (Ita) 0:21:41
36Karl Markt (Aut) 0:22:17
DNFLuiz Henrique Cocuzzi (Bra)
DNFVlad Dascalu (Rom)
DNSSimon Andreassen (Den)
DNSLeandre Bouchard (Can)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1