Van Diemen opens the door of professional cycling

Jurgen van Diemen of the Netherlands national team created a surprise when he won stage 4 of the Tour of Taihu Lake ahead of Sam Witmitz from Budget Forklifts and Dukla Praha’s Alois Kankovsky, who had respectively claimed stage 3 and stage 2.

Kankovsky retained the orange jersey of race leader while his main rival and inaugural stage winner Jesse Kerrison crashed with 250 metres to go on the same finishing straight that saw another Dutch victory earlier this year when Kirsten Wild took the UCI Women’s World Cup event, the Tour of Chongming Island, in May.

“As I won the first intermediate sprint, I knew I was fast,” said Van Diemen. “My team got me to the front for the final sprint at the right time and I made the right choice to sprint on the left side of the road. This is my first UCI win and I’m not even a UCI rider. I’m a member of a club team [Swabo Cyclingteam] and I hope this victory will help me get a start with a continental team next year.”

Being an Elite rider and no longer an under-23, Van Diemen wasn’t authorized to take part in the Tour of Taihu Lake as a trainee for the Parkhotel Valkenburg squad, so the team directed by Jan Tabak was eventually renamed the Dutch national team. Van Diemen said he hasn’t signed a contract yet but he’s expected to join Parkhotel Valkenburg in 2015.

The 23-year-old from the outskirts of Amsterdam is now also in contention for the overall victory at the Tour of Taihu Lake. “Winning a stage is hard,” he said. “Winning the general classification is much harder, but since I won two sprints today, it’s possible with five stages left. I’m pursuing three goals really: stage wins, green jersey and overall classification.”

Van Diemen’s Land was the original name of Tasmania in the 17th century and this time around Van Diemen was the executioner of the Australians as he prevented Witmitz from winning for a second day in a row. “We’ve got this lead-out thing dialled at the moment,” the runner-up said. “We were sitting in a very good spot to lead Jesse out to the line and also try to chop me off and continue sprinting to stay high on GC myself. Unfortunately, Jesse’s bad luck continues. He’s had a little tumble. Hopefully he’s not hurt too bad. We’ll have another crack again tomorrow.”

“It’s a really hectic race, like I think the first 75 kilometres were covered in an hour and a half or so,” Witmitz continued. “It meant it was very, very fast. Towards the last intermediate sprint, I just managed to slip away and I had two teammates with me in the break, Daniel Barry and Alex Wohler, and they worked really hard to make sure the break stayed away until the intermediate sprint because it was easy to beat these guys in the break, so it was free points really. My teammates were amazing. We’ve just had a little bit of bad luck with Jesse who is our best chance to win GC this week. Hopefully Jesse puts it up all right.”

Kerrison hurt his left knee but hinted that he would be able to keep racing and therefore contest the tight lead of Kankovsky. Stage 5 around Zhangjiagang Shuangshandao Island in the Yang Tze River will consist of seven laps of 16.2km plus 15.6km for a total distance of 129km.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jurgen van Diemen (Ned) Netherlands National Team2:41:50
2Sam Witmitz (Aus) Team Budget ForkliftsRow 1 - Cell 2
3Alois Kankovsky (Cze) Team Dukla PrahaRow 2 - Cell 2
4Patrick Clausen (Den) Team Trefor-Blue WaterRow 3 - Cell 2
5Maksym Averin (Aze) Synergy Baku Cycling ProjectRow 4 - Cell 2
6Mohd Harrif Saleh (Mas) Terengganu Cycling TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7Ahmet Orken (Tur) Torku SekersporRow 6 - Cell 2
8Boris Shpilevskiy (Rus) Rts-Santic Racing TeamRow 7 - Cell 2
9David van Eerd (Ned) Start-Trigon Cycling TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
10Muhamad Adiq Husainie Othman (Mas) Terengganu Cycling TeamRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alois Kankovsky (Cze) Team Dukla Praha11:03:02
2Sam Witmitz (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts0:00:08
3Jurgen van Diemen (Ned) Netherlands National Team0:00:11
4Jesse Kerrison (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts0:00:12
5Ma Guangtong (Chn) Hengxiang Cycling Team0:00:20
6Boris Shpilevskiy (Rus) Rts-Santic Racing Team0:00:22
7Meiyin Wang (Chn) Hengxiang Cycling TeamRow 6 - Cell 2
8Patrick Clausen (Den) Team Trefor-Blue Water0:00:25
9Justin Jules (Fra) Team La Pomme Marseille 13Row 8 - Cell 2
10Mattia Gavazzi (Ita) Amore & Vita - Selle SmpRow 9 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews