Hyde upsets Powers to take Derby City Cup win

Stephen Hyde (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com) knocked US champion Jeremy Powers from his unbeaten streak of C1 wins Saturday at the Derby City Cup opener in Kentucky, putting pressure on Powers thoughout the race and outsprinting him in the finale.

Logan Owen (California Giant Cycling), who also pressured Powers throughout but fell out of the lead trio on the last lap, finished third.

Owen and Ryan Trebon (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com) traded off supplying the power on the front over the first two laps, breaking up the field with a lead group that also included Hyde, Curtis White (Optum Pro Cycling) and Tobin Ortenblad (California Giant Cycling).

Powers lurked a few seconds back in a group that included Travis Livermon (Mock Orange Bikes Pro CX), Zach McDonald (Streamline Insurance Services), Allen Krughoff (Optum ), Kerry Werner and Andrew Dillaman (Cyclocross Network Racing), among others.

Powers picked things up during the third lap to weld the two groups back together, and he started the fifth lap with a group of seven that also included Owen, Trebon, Powers, Krughoff, Livermon and Hyde.

Owens wasn’t finished putting Powers under pressure, however, as the 20-year-old poured it on again during lap five to split things up once more. Trebon picked up the chase, followed in quick succession by Hyde, White, Krughoff and then Powers.

The sixth lap heated up when Hyde jumped away and got a gap on Owens. Powers overtook Trebon and slipped into the third spot on the course with three laps remaining.

Powers showed why he’s a three-time elite national champion when he bridged to the leaders on lap seven. Powers immediately pressed the pace again, and the now-lead trio of Powers, Owen and Hyde continued to open the gap.

The three leaders started the final lap with a 16-second lead over Trebon and looked set to fight it out among themselves for the win, but Owen lost the pace while Powers and Hyde raced neck and neck for the long paved stretch to the finish. The pair traded turns on the front heading into the final sprint, where Hyde took the upset win under the lights.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stephen Hyde (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld1:01:03
2Jeremy Powers (USA) Aspire Racing0:00:02
3Logan Owen (USA) California Giant Cycling0:00:31
4Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld0:01:03
5Curtis White (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:01:20
6Kerry Werner (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Bennefit Strategies0:01:21
7Allen Krughoff (USA) Noosa Pro Cyclocross0:01:22
8Travis Livermon (USA) Mock Orange Bikes Pro CX0:01:43
9Andrew Dillman (USA) Cyclocross Network RacingRow 8 - Cell 2
10Tobin Ortenblad (USA) California Giant Cycling0:02:07
11Garry Millburn (Aus) Trek SRAM Champion System0:02:14
12James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh/Clement0:02:17
13Dan Timmerman (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite Cy0:03:03
14Grant Ellwood (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport0:03:16
15Mitchell Hoke (USA) The Pros Closet0:03:20
16Tristan Uhl (USA) Giant SouthRow 15 - Cell 2
17Lance Haidet (USA) Raleigh/Clement0:03:50
18Adam Craig (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road0:04:05
19Carl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team0:04:22
20Kevin Bradford-Parish (USA) SET Coaching0:04:25
21Yannick Eckmann (USA) Maxxis Shimano0:04:32
22Cody Kaiser (USA) LangeTwins/Specialized Title0:04:46
23Hugo Robinson (GBr) Neon Velo Cycling Team0:04:52
24Robert Marion (USA) American Classic ProCX0:05:20
25Brannan Fix (USA) Alpha Bicycle Co./Subaru0:05:31
26Ryan Knapp (USA) First Internet Bank0:06:24
27Ian Mcpherson (USA) The Pro Closet0:06:50
28Ian Mcshane (USA) VO2 Multisport0:07:13
29Skyler Mackey (USA) KCCV Elite Cyclocross Team0:07:15
30Jerry Dufour (USA)0:07:20
31Zach Mcdonald (USA) Streamline Insurance Services-2 Laps
32Jacob Lasley (USA) SPCX p/b R.K. BLACKRow 31 - Cell 2
33Gavin Haley (USA) Giant Factory Off-RoadRow 32 - Cell 2
34Maxx Chance (USA) The Pros ClosetRow 33 - Cell 2
35Byron Rice (USA) Clemmons Bicycle RacingRow 34 - Cell 2
36Dan Teaters (USA) Team Wheel & SprocketRow 35 - Cell 2
37Michael Lange (USA)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Spencer Whittier (USA) Privateer Cyclocross ChattanoogRow 37 - Cell 2
39Travis Braun (USA) Revolution CyclesRow 38 - Cell 2
40Jake Wells (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite CyRow 39 - Cell 2
41Peter Glassford (Can) Trek Canada-3 Laps
42Connor Dilger (USA) Above & Beyond CancerRow 41 - Cell 2
43Ryan Woodall (USA) Top Gear BicyclesRow 42 - Cell 2
44Stephen Tilford (USA) Tradewind EnergyRow 43 - Cell 2
45Spencer Downing (USA)Row 44 - Cell 2
46John Francisco (USA) VO2 MultisportRow 45 - Cell 2
47Kent Ross (USA) Marion UniversityRow 46 - Cell 2
48Trevor Harding (USA)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Hunter Resek (USA) C3Twenty20 Cycling-4 Laps
50Alex Meucci (USA) Team BentsRow 49 - Cell 2
51Cooper Willsey (USA) Cyclocrossworld.comRow 50 - Cell 2
52Abe Goorskey (USA) American Classic ProCXRow 51 - Cell 2
53Taylor Kruse (USA) Paradise Garage Racing-5 Laps
54Raymond Smith (USA) Clarksville Schwinn powered byRow 53 - Cell 2
55Grayson Brookshire (USA) Greenlife-Organic Valley p/b HiRow 54 - Cell 2
DNFBen Berden (Bel) W Cup StomperRow 55 - Cell 2
DNFChris Drummond (USA) SPCX p/b R.K. BLACKRow 56 - Cell 2
DNFPhilip Short (USA) Trek Store GreensboroRow 57 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews