Kaptheijns dominates the Zonhoven pit

Maud Kaptheijns

Maud Kaptheijns (Image credit: Bert Geerts/dcp-bertgeerts@xs4all.nl)

Maud Kaptheijns (Crelan-Charles) won the second round of the Superprestige Ladies Trophy in Zonhoven, leading from flag to flag once again.

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) finished second at a distant 1:07, while Nikki Brammeier (Boels-Dolmans) was third at 1:14.

“I like to race on the sand, though it was heavy - certainly in this hot weather,” Kaptheijns said after the race. “This is my most beautiful victory. Gieten was beautiful, but I don’t think there is anything more beautiful than winning in Zonhoven’s pit.”

Ahead of the race a fight between Kaptheijns and the in-form Katie Compton (KFC Racing p/b Trek-Panache) had been anticipated. The US champion had gotten the better of Kaptheijns at the DVV Trofee in Ronse a week ago, also beating her at Saturday’s Poldercross. But Zonhoven was - much like the opening round in Gieten - all about one woman after Compton suffered with asthma and allergies in the warm conditions and Belgian pine trees.

Kaptheijns set the tone from the start, leading the way in the unseasonable 23°c heat and establishing a small gap on the opening lap of ‘the sandpit’.

World Champion Cant endured a nightmare start, falling over 30 seconds back, while a chase group of four - Compton, Brammeier, Worst (Era-Circus) and Ellen Van Loy (Telenet-Fidea Lions) - separated themselves from the rest of the pack.

It quickly became clear that Kaptheijns wouldn’t be challenged as her lead grew and grew. Twelve seconds clear at the end of lap one; she added around ten more on every trip around. On lap two it looked like second place would be decided early too, as Brammeier went clear of the chase group.

The Brit opened a 20 second gap on Worst and the rest of the chasers midway through the race, but Cant was a woman on a mission, determined to work her way to the podium. On the penultimate lap she picked off Worst before catching and passing Brammeier off-camera on the final lap to take the second spot on the podi-um.

Top spot belonged to Kaptheijns though and on form like this, her rivals will be wondering what they have to do to get a look in during the remaining six Super-prestige rounds. Meanwhile Compton fell back as the race went on and eventually finished in seventh place.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) Crelan-Charles0:45:49
2Sanne Cant (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:01:08
3Nikki Brammeier (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:01:15
4Annemarie Worst (Ned) Era Real Estate - Circus0:01:24
5Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:40
6Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Steylaerts-Betfirst0:01:56
7Katherine Compton (USA) Kfc Racing P/B Trek/Panache0:02:28
8Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Kleur Op Maat - Bns Technics0:03:00
9Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:03:11
10Elle Anderson (USA) Cycling.Be - Alphamotorhomes C0:03:23
11Geerte Hoeke (Ned) Wv Breda0:03:58
12Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Donen/Vondelmolen Cx-Team0:04:04
13Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice0:04:22
14Denise Betsema (Ned) Hr En Tc D.O.K0:04:56
15Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:06:18
16Alicia Franck (Bel) Marlux Napoleon Games0:06:27
17Stefanie Paul (Ger) Stevens Racing TeamRow 16 - Cell 2
18Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) Cycling.Be - Alpha MotorhomesRow 17 - Cell 2
19Susanne Meistrok (Ned) Mijn Bad-Liv/GiantRow 18 - Cell 2
20Marthe Truyen (Bel) Aa-Drink JongerenteamRow 19 - Cell 2
21Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Lares WaowdealesRow 20 - Cell 2
22Natalie Redmond (Aus) Ozriders Cannondale SramRow 21 - Cell 2
23Fleur Nagengast (Ned) Telenet Fidea LionsRow 22 - Cell 2
24Esther Van Der Burg (Ned) Cycling.Be- Alpha MotorhomesRow 23 - Cell 2
25Aniek Van Alphen (Ned) Wv BredaRow 24 - Cell 2
26Shana Maes (Bel) Donen/Vondelmolen Cx-TeamRow 25 - Cell 2
27Amira Mellor (GBr) Paul Milnes Cycles YorkshireRow 26 - Cell 2
28Jana Dobbelaere (Bel) Kleur Op Maat - Bns TechnicsRow 27 - Cell 2
29Tinne Vermeiren (Bel) Kleur Op Maat - Bns TechnicsRow 28 - Cell 2
30Jinse Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-VastgoedserviceRow 29 - Cell 2
31Laura Van Der Zwaan (Ned) Drc De MolRow 30 - Cell 2
32Elodie Kuijper (Ned) Cycling.Be - Alphamotorhomes CRow 31 - Cell 2
33Mara Schwager (Ger) Lpm LuxemburgRow 32 - Cell 2
34Madeleine Gammons (GBr) Team Vision Innovative LeisureRow 33 - Cell 2
35Meg De Bruyne (Bel) Kleur Op Maat - Bns TechnicsRow 34 - Cell 2
36Pien Limpens (Ned) Wcl BergklimmersRow 35 - Cell 2
37Lise Van Wunsel (Bel) Vanomobil Mtb Cycling TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Anke Van Rompay (Bel) Kleur Op Maat - Bns TechnicsRow 37 - Cell 2
39Sara Beeckmans (Bel) Kleur Op Maat - Bns TechnicsRow 38 - Cell 2
DNFNikola Noskova (Cze) Cycling Team VorselaarRow 39 - Cell 2
DNFManon Bakker (Ned) Wv Giant Dt BeneluxRow 40 - Cell 2
DNFYara Kastelijn (Ned) Wm3 Pro CyclingRow 41 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Ostanek
Production editor

Daniel Ostanek is production editor at Cyclingnews, having joined in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired as staff writer. Prior to joining the team, he had written for most major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly, Rouleur, and CyclingTips.


Daniel has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France and the spring Classics, and has interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Wout van Aert, Remco Evenepoel, Mark Cavendish, Demi Vollering, and Anna van der Breggen.


As well as original reporting, news and feature writing, and production work, Daniel also runs The Leadout newsletter and oversees How to Watch guides throughout the season. His favourite races are Strade Bianche and the Volta a Portugal, and he rides a Colnago C40.

Latest on Cyclingnews