Van Der Poel wins Superprestige Gieten

Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Correndon) won the opening round of the Superprestige in Gieten, after a scintillating show of pace in the final laps of the race. His main rival, current World Champion Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Charles), finished second, 15 seconds back, while third place went to a strong Laurens Sweeck (Era-Circus) at 27 seconds.

The Dutchman had started the race aggressively, leading from the gun and enjoying a slim four-second lead during the opening laps of the race. Van Aert, who had slipped in the first corner, lay in wait among the chasers, eventually bringing back van der Poel on lap three.

Laurens Sweeck, in fine form after his victory Neerpelt on Saturday, took charge of the race on lap four as the lead group swelled to around 10 riders. The Belgian was a mainstay on the front for much of the race, making a lead group on lap five that included van der Poel, Van Aert and Lars van der Haar (Telenet-Fidea Lions).

At that point of the race the gap to a chase group including Kevin Pauwels (Marlux-Napoleon Games) looked decisive, and it was clear that the lead four would contest the victory. Van der Poel spent his time looking comfortable in second wheel behind Sweeck, save for the Belgian's lakeside attack on lap six.

Meanwhile, Van Aert got into some minor trouble, having to unclip on a tight muddy corner on lap seven. Nonetheless, he looked in much better shape than he had during the American World Cup openers, where he had finished seventh and 14th.

It was no surprise, though, that the winner in Iowa City and Waterloo would end up victorious here too. After his armchair ride for the mid-part of the race, van der Poel turned on the afterburners on lap eight. The 22-year-old accelerated on the start-finish straight, quickly dispatching Sweeck and van der Haar.

Van Aert couldn't live with the pace either but kept within sight of van der Poel, hanging a handful of seconds back. Having been kept honest for most of the race, it wasn't quite the domination that many had expected from the Beo-bank man but come the final lap he was out of sight, just waiting to celebrate his third victory at Gieten in four years.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned)0:57:45
2Wout Van Aert (Bel)0:00:15
3Laurens Sweeck (Bel)0:00:27
4Lars Van Der Haar (Ned)0:00:33
5Quinten Hermans (Bel)0:00:43
6Gianni Vermeersch (Bel)0:00:44
7Kevin Pauwels (Bel)0:00:53
8Jens Adams (Bel)0:00:54
9Toon Aerts (Bel)0:00:55
10Diether Sweeck (Bel)0:01:19
11Tom Meeusen (Bel)0:01:26
12Tim Merlier (Bel)0:01:48
13David Van Der Poel (Ned)0:01:55
14Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned)0:02:01
15Vincent Baestaens (Bel)0:02:17
16Eli Iserbyt (Bel)0:02:28
17Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel)0:02:47
18Stan Godrie (Ned)0:02:52
19Michael Boroš (Cze)0:03:12
20Braam Merlier (Bel)0:03:16
21Twan Van Den Brand (Ned)0:03:32
22Rob Peeters (Bel)0:03:52
23Joeri Adams (Bel)0:03:56
24Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel)0:04:08
25Nicolas Cleppe (Bel)0:04:18
26Gioele Bertolini (Ita)0:04:25
LAPPatrick Van Leeuwen (Ned)
LAPYu Takenouchi (Jpn)
LAPKenneth Van Compernolle (Bel)
LAPSjoerd Rep (Ned)
DNFMichael Vanthourenhout (Bel)
DNSKlaas Vantornout (Bel)
DNFBart Barkhuis (Ned)
DNSGert-Jan Bosman (Ned)
DNFJens Vandekinderen (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1