Iserbyt wins Superprestige Merksplas

NIEL BELGIUM NOVEMBER 11 Eli Iserbyt of Belgium and Team Pauwels Sauzen Bingoal competes during the 30th Superprestige Niel Jaarmarktcross 2021 Mens Elite SPNiel Superprestige2022 on November 11 2021 in Niel Belgium Photo by Luc ClaessenGetty Images
(Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) claimed a narrow victory in the Superprestige round in Merksplas, parlaying a penultimate-lap attack into a win two seconds ahead of Quinten Hermans (Tormans) with Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) taking third.

The Belgian was part of lead group that established itself midway through the race, with Toon Aerts (Baloise Trek), Hermans, Sweeck and European Champion Lars van der Haar (Baloise Trek).

Van der Haar was dangling at the back when, in the closing laps, Iserbyt and Aerts went on the attack and opened up a lead, splitting the chase group.

Iserbyt crashed in a corner, holding up Aerts, and the delay allowed Sweeck and Hermans to rejoin. Not wanting company, Iserbyt attacked into a turn and forced Aerts to a stop. The Baloise Trek rider led the chase with Hermans and Sweeck while Van der Haar appeared to be measuring his efforts a few seconds behind.

Iserbyt led into the bell with four seconds on the trio of chasers and continued to pour on the pressure. Hermans surged in pursuit with Sweeck on his wheel, while Aerts faded from their wheels.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 1:02:05
2Quinten Hermans (Bel) Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team 0:00:02
3Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:05
4Toon Aerts (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:00:13
5Lars van der Haar (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions 0:00:16
6Corne van Kessel (Ned) Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team 0:01:06
7Diether Sweeck (Bel) IKO - Crelan 0:01:12
8Vincent Baestaens (Bel) CX Team Deschacht-group Hens-containers Maes 0:01:16
9Jens Adams (Bel) 0:01:20
10Niels Vandeputte (Bel) Alpecin - Fenix 0:01:22
11Toon Vandebosch (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:02:11
12Emiel Verstrynge (Bel) Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team 0:02:15
13Loris Rouiller (Swi) Alpecin - Fenix 0:02:36
14Mees Hendrikx (Ned) IKO - Crelan 0:02:37
15Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) 0:02:40
16Lander Loockx (Bel) CX Team Deschacht-group Hens-containers Maes 0:02:45
17Tom Meeusen (Bel) CX Team Deschacht-group Hens-containers Maes 0:02:50
18Thijs Aerts (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:02:57
19Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Nesta - MMR CX Team 0:03:05
20Kevin Kuhn (Swi) Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team 0:03:15
21Ward Huybs (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:03:24
22Cameron Mason (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:03:42
23Yentl Bekaert (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:04:03
24Arne Vrachten (Bel) 0:04:12
25Sander De Vet (Bel) 0:04:30
26Thibau Nys (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:04:31
27Antoine Huby (Fra) Cross Team Legendre 0:05:00
28David van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 0:05:02
29Joachim Van Looveren (Bel) 0:05:03
30Julian Siemons (Bel) 0:05:08
31Thomas Verheyen (Bel) 0:05:30
32Koen Van Dijke (Ned) 0:06:03
33Grégory Careme (Bel) 0:06:08
34Toby Barnes (GBr) Schamel p/b Kloster Kitchen 0:06:19
35Nick Peers (Bel)
36Lorenzo Masciarelli (Ita) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal
37Dolf Pemen (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT
38Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel)
39Lukas Herrmann (Ger) Schamel p/b Kloster Kitchen
40Isaac Del Toro Romero (Mex) A.R. Monex Cx Pro Cycling Team
41Florian Hamm (Ger) Schamel p/b Kloster Kitchen
42Andy Ruts (Bel)
43Sean Nolan (Irl)
44Maarten Van Staeyen (Bel)
45Marco Carozzo (Ita)
46Ben Chilton (GBr) Team Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus
47Carlos Alfonso Garcia Trejo (Mex) A.R. Monex Cx Pro Cycling Team
48Niels Koyen (Bel)
49Bas Van Der Burg (Ned)
50Diego Arreola Dimas (Mex) A.R. Monex Cx Pro Cycling Team
51Leonardo Rafael Zavala Pantoja (Mex) A.R. Monex Cx Pro Cycling Team
52Hugo Jansen (Ned)
53Lenn Verdijck (Bel)
54Bruno Camarena De Leon (Mex) A.R. Monex Cx Pro Cycling Team
55Gauthier Heymes (Fra)
DNFRyan Kamp (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal
DNFMathijs Wuyts (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1