Skip to main content

Wout Van Aert wins Superprestige Gavere

Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Charles) took a surprise victory in the fifth round of the Superprestige Trophy in Gavere. Toon Aerts (Telenet-Fidea Lions) finished second, 53 seconds back, while Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Correndon) rounded out the podium at 1:16 down.

Van der Poel had started out the day looking for his fourth win from five rounds of the series, and the start of the muddy race in Gavere did little to disabuse any watchers of the notion that he would achieve just that.

The newly-crowned European champion and Van Aert, himself fresh from a Tuscan training camp, separated themselves from the field early on the first lap as others struggled in the wet mud.

Any sparring between the rivals didn’t last long though, as at the end of the lap van der Poel decided it was time to strike out. Van Aert’s bike change only lengthened the gap, and the Belgian hitting the deck on lap two seemed to confirm a sure van der Poel victory.

Indeed, Van Aert had more to concern himself about from the riders behind than the man up front. Aerts, in good form after winning Jaarmarktcross on Saturday, was eating up the gap to his countryman, passing him on the third lap and pulling out a 15 second gap by lap four of the race.

At one point Aerts was actually putting time into van der Poel, almost unthinkable given his domination of the season so far. However, the penultimate lap saw him blow and lose his second place, falling from within 20 seconds of the lead to over a minute back.

Meanwhile, van der Poel seemed to be enjoying a leisurely ride to victory, with a lap five puncture and bike change proving only a minor inconvenience. Disaster struck midway through the last of the race’s six laps though, as he pulled up with apparent rear mech problems.

Time ticked by as the Dutchman tended to his bike, with a surprised Van Aert riding past having previously been trailing by over 30 seconds. Aerts and Klaas Vantornout (Marlux-Napoleon Games) were next up, passing van der Poel before he finally got going again.

Van Aert, his rainbow jersey turned brown by the mud, went on to take his second win of the season, while over a minute back van der Poel managed to salvage something from the day. On a day where he had previously been coasting to certain victory, he managed to catch and pass Vantornout in the closing stages to take third.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:58:30
2Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:55
3Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon0:01:17
4Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:01:22
5Tom Meeusen (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:01:33
6Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:36
7Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:00
8Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:02:49
9Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:03:09
10Vincent Baestaens (Bel)0:03:27
11Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:03:29
12Diether Sweeck (Bel) Era-Circus0:03:44
13Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:03:51
14Tim Merlier (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:04:13
15Joeri Adams (Bel)0:04:24
16Michael Boroš (Cze) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:04:35
17Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned)0:04:44
18David Van Der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon0:05:06
19Rob Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:05:26
20Stan Godrie (Ned) Crelan - Charles0:06:15
21Gioele Bertolini (Ita)0:06:36
22Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Steylaerts - Betfirst0:07:13
LAPGosse Van Der Meer (Ned) Tarteletto - Isorex
LAPJulien Kaise (Bel)
LAPKenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex
LAPYu Takenouchi (Jpn)
DNFLaurens Sweeck (Bel) Era-Circus
DNFGianni Vermeersch (Bel) Steylaerts - Betfirst
DNFEli Iserbyt (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games
DNFDieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games
DNFDario Tielen (Bel)
DNFMarcel Meisen (Ger) Steylaerts - Betfirst
DNFPhilipp Walsleben (Ger) Beobank-Corendon

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1