Cant seals Superprestige Hoogstraten victory

World champion Sanne Cant wins Belgian cyclo-cross tittle

World champion Sanne Cant wins Belgian cyclo-cross tittle (Image credit: Tim de Waele)

Sanne Cant (Iko-Beobank) won the penultimate round of the Superprestige Ladies Trophy in Hoogstraten, her second in a row in the series. Maud Kaptheijns (Crelan-Charles) finished second, 26 seconds back, while British champion Helen Wyman (Xypex-Verge Sport) was third at 33 seconds.

With Cant and Kaptheijns level at the top of the Superprestige rankings coming into the race, it was all to play for on the twisting, half-dry, half-wet mud circuit.

Newly-crowned repeat world champion Cant - also the European, Belgian and World Cup champion this season - led from the gun, looking to stamp her authority on the race immediately.

As the fast, dry first section of lap gave way to the hills and mud of the latter third, Cant pulled away decisively, leaving a chase group - headed up by Kaptheijns - in her wake.

It didn't take long for Kaptheijns to make her counter-move, breaking away from the group that contained Wyman and Nikki Brammeier (Mudiiita-Canyon), among others, on lap two. The race for the win, however, already looked over as Cant extended her lead to 22 seconds by lap three.

Behind Kaptheijns, Wyman and Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Corendon-Circus) were battling over third, exchanging places until Wyman pressed ahead in the wet mud on lap four. A small mistake by Kaptheijns saw her dismount in the same section, giving Wyman a target to aim at a few seconds back.

The gap couldn't be closed though, and as Cant celebrated her eighteenth win of the season Wyman crossed the line within sight of second placed Kaptheijns, just a few seconds back.

Cant now leads the overall rankings by just one point with one round remaining. She is on 92 points while Kaptheijns loses her lead for the first time. Annemarie Worst (Era-Circus) is third on 72 points.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel)0:40:26
2Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) Crelan - Charles0:00:28
3Helen Wyman (GBr)0:00:34
4Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Corendon - Circus0:00:51
5Annemarie Worst (Ned) Era-Circus0:00:58
6Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Steylaerts - Betfirst0:01:04
7Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:01:08
8Nikki Brammeier (GBr)0:01:11
9Elle Anderson (USA)0:01:23
10Loes Sels (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:01:34
11Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:03
12Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:02:12
13Fleur Nagengast (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:23
14Manon Bakker (Ned)0:02:53
15Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:03:15
16Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:03:24
17Pauline Delhaye (Fra)0:03:36
18Aida Nuño Palacio (Spa)0:03:42
19Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:03:50
20Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel)0:04:16
21Rebecca Fahringer (USA)0:04:31
22Alicia Franck (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:04:52
23Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)0:05:09
24Denise Betsema (Ned)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Kim Van De Putte (Bel)0:05:15
26Margriet Kloppenburg (Den)0:05:51
27Veerle Goossens (Ned)0:06:34
28Irene Gerritsen (Ned)0:06:43
29Stefanie Paul (Ger)0:06:53
30Jana Dobbelaere (Bel)0:07:08
31Laura Van Der Zwaan (Ned)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Laura Krans (Ned)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Shana Maes (Bel)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Caren Commissaris (Bel)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Tine Rombouts (Bel)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Tinne Vermeiren (Bel)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Kristien Nelen (Bel)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Tess Van Loy (Bel)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNFLindy Van Anrooij (Ned)Row 39 - Cell 2
DNFAurelie Vermeir (Bel)Row 40 - Cell 2
DNFJinse Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - VastgoedserviceRow 41 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Ostanek
Production editor

Daniel Ostanek is production editor at Cyclingnews, having joined in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired as staff writer. Prior to joining the team, he had written for most major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly, Rouleur, and CyclingTips.


Daniel has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France and the spring Classics, and has interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Wout van Aert, Remco Evenepoel, Demi Vollering, and Anna van der Breggen.


As well as original reporting, news and feature writing, and production work, Daniel also runs The Leadout newsletter and oversees How to Watch guides throughout the season. His favourite races are Strade Bianche and the Volta a Portugal, and he rides a Colnago C40.

Latest on Cyclingnews