Skip to main content

Rochester victory for Powers on opening weekend of American 'cross season

Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing) erased a 15 second deficit to Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh Clement) to win the UCI C1 race at Genesee Valley Park. Driscoll finished in second place, while Stephen Hyde (Cannondale p/b rounded out the podium in third place.

Racing took place at a new venue in Genesee Valley Park. Half of the course was grassy fields where speeds were very high, but the other half was twisty wooded trails with some steep run-ups.

Temperatures around 90-degrees with very high humidity proved to be a major obstacle for most of the racers. Powers was in 14th place during the first lap and seemed content to just pick off riders one at a time.

He explained his strategy, "It was a very fast race, so much faster than in years past…there was a group of 20 at the start. I knew it was going to be bunched up and there was no reason to be forcing things with the heat. Heat management was my number one goal today since I don't typically do well in the heat."

With two laps to go, Driscoll had turned a small gap into 15 seconds. Powers explained the closing laps, "I knew Jamie looked pretty fit when I saw him this morning…so I wasn't going to let him go much longer. I did what I call a Hail Mary effort and went as hard as I could go...and with one (lap) to go I got him. That was enough to take the win."

Racing will continue on Sunday at Genesee Valley Park. Cooler temperatures are expected which will be welcomed relief for the riders.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing)0:57:38
2James Driscoll (Raleigh Clement)0:00:05
3Stephen Hyde (Cannondale P/B Cyclocrossworld.)0:00:12
4Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz Factory Racing)0:00:26
5Jeremy Martin (Focus CX Team Canada)
6Yannick Eckmann (Boulder Cycle Sport/ Yogaglo)
7Allen Krughoff (Boulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo)0:00:40
8Andrew Dillman (Cyclocross Alliance)0:00:54
9Jonathan Page (Fuji)0:01:26
10Spencer Petrov (Cyclocross Alliance)0:01:35
11Anthony Clark (Squid Bikes)
12Curtis White (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.)0:01:53
13Travis Livermon (Maxxis-Shimano Pro Cyclocross)0:02:02
14Justin Lindine (Apex / NBX / Trek)0:02:03
15Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo Cycling Team)0:02:16
16Jens Vandekinderen (Kalas-H.Essers-Nnof Cycling Team)0:02:22
17Derrick St John (VanDessel p/b HyperThreads)0:02:31
18Aaron Schooler (Focus CX Team Canada)0:02:36
19Kerry Werner Jr. (Kona Endurance Team)0:02:47
20Dan Chabanov (House Ind/Withings/Simplehuman)0:02:51
21Troy Wells (Team CLIF BAR)0:02:58
22Jack Kisseberth (JAM / NCC)0:03:01
23Samuel O'Keefe (House Ind/Withings/Simplehuman)0:03:10
24Tom Chapman (Focus Attaquer CX)0:03:20
25Scott Smith (JAM / NCC)0:03:41
26Lance Haidet (Raliegh Clement)0:03:50
27Jordan Snyder (C3-Twenty20 Cycling)0:03:56
28Christopher Aitken (Focus Attaquer CX Team)0:04:07
29Osmond Bakker (Wheels Of Bloor)0:04:18
30Antonin Marecaille (AVC Aix en Provence)0:04:29
31Nicolas Catlin (Sherpa)0:04:56
32Mathieu Bélanger-Barrette (Pivot Cycles on the Edge Canada)0:05:10
33Dan Timmerman (Stan's NoTubes Elite CX)0:05:47
34Robert Marion (American Classic Pro CX Team)0:06:21
35Matt Surch (Tekne Cycle Club)0:06:46
36Adam St. Germain (Apex / NBX / Trek)0:06:53
37Abe Goorskey (American Classic Pro CX Team)0:07:00
38Nathan Underwood (
39Matt Perreault (Colonial Bicycle Company)0:07:30
40Gregg Griffo (Park Ave Bike Shop)- 2 laps
41Andrew Lints (Bicycle Express Racing)
42Tim Willis (Bicycle Quarterly Elite Technic)- 3 laps
43Danny Summerhill (Maxxis-Shimano)
DNFScott Fitzgerald (Mariposa Bicycles)
DNSBenjamin Sonntag (Team Clif Bar)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews