Odlin races to victory at Oceania Cycling Championships

Paul Odlin celebrates victory in the Oceania elite men's road race near Queenstown today

Paul Odlin celebrates victory in the Oceania elite men's road race near Queenstown today (Image credit: Bruce Wilson)

Christchurch rider Paul Odlin outlasted a classy field over a demanding course near Queenstown to claim the elite men's title over 153kms today at the 2012 Oceania Cycling Championships. His win follows the time trial victory by fellow Canterbury and Subway Pro Cycling teammate Sam Horgan earlier in the championship, where Odlin finished runner-up.

The 33-year-old made his move on the steep climb up Littles Rd on the last of six gruelling laps of a 25km circuit near Lake Hayes-Arrowtown, going clear along with Australian Nick Aitken (Jayco AIS). It proved the winning move as the pair pushed clear from a four-man break that had split the field.

Odlin had too much experience to hold off the young Australian in the final sprint, with Aitken finishing second across the line to take out the Oceania under-23 title. The Christchurch rider, who won the national time trial in January, said the victory on such a demanding course was somewhat of a surprise.

"I don't consider myself a hill climber but I had good gearing which made a difference," Odlin said.

"It is a race that I fought for the win. You can't get that level of satisfaction in a time trial which is what I am focussing on now. It was tactical and had so many variables. If they fall in your favour it is a bit more fun.

"I gave myself a few options on the last lap and if the break didn't work on the steep climb, it could have been on the second climb on the course. I had a good feeling about that climb though. I was going up it well. I led it out and waited to the last moment. It's pretty easy to win from there."

Odlin and Aitken had broken clear after two laps clear at the front with Australians Mark O'Brien and track rider Sean Finning.

Aitken was pleased with his performance.

"I did not quite win the sprint for the overall honours but I won the under-23s so I have to be happy with that," Aitken said.

"Odlin put some pressure early on the last lap up the climb and split it and we just worked together to the finish and managed to hold them off. It opens up a spot for the worlds later in the year and now I just have to focus on getting some more runs on the board."

Aitken took the honours from fellow Australian Michael Freiberg, the current world omnium champion, with talented South Canterbury rider Jason Christie third.

Earlier, Australian Bradley Linfield edged out Christchurch's Hamish Schreurs in a sprint finish to claim the under-19 title over 102kms of the same circuit.

Linfield said the Australians had come to Queenstown with a big group keen to secure the title and an additional spot for the world championships later in the year.

The strong Australian contingent dominated the championships, winning 22 of the 30 medals.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Paul Odlin (New Zealand)3:54:05
2Mark O'Brien (Australia)0:01:08
3Sean Finning (Australia)0:02:32
4Samuel Horgan (New Zealand)0:04:43
5Joseph Chapman (New Zealand)0:08:59
6Marc Williams (Australia)0:09:07
7Daniel Barry (New Zealand)0:09:14
8Blair Windsor (Australia)0:09:21
9Jason Spencer (Australia)0:10:06
10Jonathan Lovelock (Australia)0:11:37
11Nick Lovegrove (New Zealand)Row 10 - Cell 2
12William Lind (Australia)0:14:59
DNFDerek Horton (Guam)Row 12 - Cell 2
DNFMichael Cupitt (Australia)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNFPeter Lombard (Guam)Row 14 - Cell 2
DNFLeon Hextall (New Zealand)Row 15 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Under 23 men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nick Aitken (Australia)3:54:05
2Michael Freiberg (Australia)0:04:43
3Jason Christie (New Zealand)0:08:56
4Brian McLeod (Australia)0:08:57
5Jordan Kerby (Australia)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Damien Howson (Australia)0:09:24
7Brenton Jones (Australia)0:11:37
8Tim Rush (New Zealand)Row 7 - Cell 2
9David Edwards (Australia)0:11:42
10Bradley Tuhi (New Zealand)0:14:59
DNFPatrick Jones (New Zealand)Row 10 - Cell 2
DNFWilliam Bowman (New Zealand)Row 11 - Cell 2
DNFBrehan Cairns (New Zealand)Row 12 - Cell 2
DNFTimothy Cameron (Australia)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNFAlex Clements (Australia)Row 14 - Cell 2
DNFLuke Davison (Australia)Row 15 - Cell 2
DNFAaron Donnelly (Australia)Row 16 - Cell 2
DNFBrad Evans (New Zealand)Row 17 - Cell 2
DNFLee Evans (New Zealand)Row 18 - Cell 2
DNFCampbell Flakemore (Australia)Row 19 - Cell 2
DNFChad Adair (New Zealand)Row 20 - Cell 2
DNFMitchell Lovelock-Fay (Australia)Row 21 - Cell 2
DNFCalvin Watson (Australia)Row 22 - Cell 2
DNFAlastair Loutit (Australia)Row 23 - Cell 2
DNFJackson Law (Australia)Row 24 - Cell 2
DNFScott Law (Australia)Row 25 - Cell 2
DNFEdward Bissaker (Australia)Row 26 - Cell 2
DNFIvan Michelin-Beard (Australia)Row 27 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews