Vernon wins junior downhill World Cup at Windham

Taylor Vernon (GT Factory Racing) won the junior men's downhill World Cup in Windham, New York on Saturday afternoon. Vernon finished 0.844 seconds ahead of American Luca Shaw (SRAM/TLD Racing) and 1.632 seconds up on Loris Vergier (Lapierre Gravity Republic).

"I didn't think it was a winning run to be honest, but it's a fine line on this track where you can push or go too slow," said Vernon. "I loved the course. It's probably one of my favorites tracks this year - it was fast."

Marcus Hansson (W-Racing) set the early fast time and was later bettered by Thibault Laly (France) and Andrew Crimmins (Kona Factory Team).

Joshua McCombie (New Zealand) was riding well until he got a rear flat, then Max Warshawsky (Australia) stepped into the hot seat.

Neil Stewart (FMD Racing) dropped 2.25 seconds off Warsahwky's pace, and then Vernon leapt into the hot seat by going another 3.3 seconds faster.

The next rider down the mountain, Vergier rode well enough to finish third ultimately while fastest qualifier Shaw finished off the racing with a second fastest time.

"I had a great run. I knew I lost some time on the top yesterday so I was happy to hit that fast today. I didn't make any mistakes and kept it smooth. Second will do," said Shaw. "I went as hard as I could and left it out there."

"It's pretty awesome to race a World Cup on home soil. I wish there were more, but this was a good experience."

In the World Cup standings, Shaw leads Vergier 214 to 200 points, while Vernon is in third with 181 points.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior men downhill
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Taylor Vernon (GBr) GT Factory Racing0:02:31.800
2Luca Shaw (USA) Sram/TLD Racing0:00:00.844
3Loris Vergier (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic0:00:01.632
4Neil Stewart (GBr) FMD Racing0:00:03.321
5Thomas Estaque (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott0:00:04.721
6Max Warshawsky (Aus) Australia0:00:05.544
7Andrew Crimmins (Aus) Kona Factory Team0:00:06.339
8Thibault Laly (Fra) France0:00:07.467
9Connor Hamilton (NZl) New-Zealand0:00:07.486
10Jack Almond (Can) Canada0:00:07.771
11Benjamin Boutie (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott0:00:07.897
12Chase Nelson (USA) United States Of America0:00:08.204
13Marcus Hansson (Swe) W-Racing0:00:08.228
14Reece Wilson (GBr) Great Britain0:00:08.265
15Loris Revelli (Ita) Italy0:00:08.336
16Jack Iles (Can) Evil Vengeance Tour0:00:08.482
17Shane Leslie (USA) United States Of America0:00:08.537
18Demetri Triantafillou (USA) United States Of America0:00:09.028
19Drew Carters (GBr) Great Britain0:00:09.376
20Charlie Harrison (USA) United States Of America0:00:09.567
21Frazer Mccubbing (GBr) Steve Peat Syndicate0:00:09.965
22Carlos Alfaro Peralta (Per) Peru0:00:10.041
23Bryan Pfeiffer (Fra) France0:00:10.106
24Jackson Davis (Aus) Australia0:00:10.279
25Benjamin Dengate (Aus) Australia0:00:11.102
26Steve Marietta (Fra) France0:00:21.162
27Joshua Mccombie (NZl) New-Zealand0:00:36.282
DNFFerran Jorba Prats (Spa) SpainRow 27 - Cell 2
DSQMatthew Mccorkell (Aus) AustraliaRow 28 - Cell 2
DNSGalen Carter (USA) United States Of America - BRow 29 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior men downhill World Cup standings with one round remaining
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Luca Shaw (USA) Sram/TLD Racing214pts
2Loris Vergier (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic200Row 1 - Cell 3
3Taylor Vernon (GBr) GT Factory Racing181Row 2 - Cell 3
4Amaury Pierron (Fra) France90Row 3 - Cell 3
5Neil Stewart (GBr) FMD Racing69Row 4 - Cell 3
6Jack Iles (Can) Evil Vengeance Tour68Row 5 - Cell 3
7Aiden Varley (Aus) Australia65Row 6 - Cell 3
8Martin Maes (Bel) GT Factory Racing60Row 7 - Cell 3
9Alex Marin Trillo (Spa) Giant Factory Off-Road Team55Row 8 - Cell 3
10Thomas Estaque (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott40Row 9 - Cell 3
11Laurie Greenland (GBr) Trek World Racing40Row 10 - Cell 3
12Steve Marietta (Fra) France38Row 11 - Cell 3
13Reece Wilson (GBr) Great Britain34Row 12 - Cell 3
14Ferran Jorba Prats (Spa) Spain33Row 13 - Cell 3
15Connor Hamilton (NZl) New-Zealand32Row 14 - Cell 3
16Benjamin Boutie (Fra) Lac Blanc/Scott29Row 15 - Cell 3
17Drew Carters (GBr) Great Britain25Row 16 - Cell 3
18Thibault Laly (Fra) France22Row 17 - Cell 3
19Loris Revelli (Ita) Italy21Row 18 - Cell 3
20Max Warshawsky (Aus) Australia18Row 19 - Cell 3
21Martin Lebl (Cze) Czech Republic18Row 20 - Cell 3
22Connor Sandri (NZl) New-Zealand18Row 21 - Cell 3
23Francisco Matias (Chi) Chile18Row 22 - Cell 3
24Frazer Mccubbing (GBr) Steve Peat Syndicate18Row 23 - Cell 3
25Andrew Crimmins (Aus) Kona Factory Team16Row 24 - Cell 3
26Ben Hill (Aus) Australia16Row 25 - Cell 3
27Marcus Hansson (Swe) W-Racing16Row 26 - Cell 3
28Adrien Dailly (Fra) France15Row 27 - Cell 3
29Keegan Wright (NZl) New-Zealand14Row 28 - Cell 3
30Andreas Kolb (Aut) Austria12Row 29 - Cell 3
31Joshua Mccombie (NZl) New-Zealand12Row 30 - Cell 3
32Mike Schaer (Swi) Switzerland12Row 31 - Cell 3
33Jack Almond (Can) Canada10Row 32 - Cell 3
34Maxime Ciriego (Fra) Roc Vtt Oz En Oisans8Row 33 - Cell 3
35Jacob Dickson (Irl) Orange Dirt World Team, O'neal8Row 34 - Cell 3
36Shane Leslie (USA) United States Of America8Row 35 - Cell 3
37Dan Farley (GBr) Great Britain7Row 36 - Cell 3
38Chase Nelson (USA) United States Of America6Row 37 - Cell 3
39Andrew Dorrit (GBr) MS Mondraker Team6Row 38 - Cell 3
40Bradley Swinbank (GBr) Steve Peat Syndicate6Row 39 - Cell 3
41Sam Herd (GBr) Perth City Cycles6Row 40 - Cell 3
42Dan Booker (Aus) Australia - B4Row 41 - Cell 3
43Bryan Pfeiffer (Fra) France2Row 42 - Cell 3
44Silas Grandy (Ger) Germany2Row 43 - Cell 3
45Benjamin Dengate (Aus) Australia2Row 44 - Cell 3
46Jackson Davis (Aus) Australia1Row 45 - Cell 3
47Jonathan Philogene (RSA) South Africa1Row 46 - Cell 3


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.

Latest on Cyclingnews