Minnaar takes slim World Cup win

Greg Minnaar (Santa Cruz Syndicate) took his third win this season in the men’s World Cup series, at Bromont, Quebec in Canada. Sam Hill (Monster Energy-Specialized) retains the lead in the men’s series after finishing third in Bromont, but Minnaar is only 16 points back, so this title will come down to the final round in Schladming, Austria, one month from now.

“The course was really tough after all the rain,” said Minnaar. “Many of the sections were just blown right out, and it was easy to make mistakes. I didn’t have a clean run; I don’t think anyone did, but I just tried to keep it clean and flowy, and be as smooth as I could.

“Definitely, this win is a confident booster, going into the Worlds, and I’ll be looking forward to having it all come down to the Final in Schladming,” he added.

The off-again, on-again rain of the past week finally moved away overnight, with blue skies and bright sun appearing shortly before race time. The open sections of track dried out quickly, however, in among the trees the mud remained, forcing riders to carefully negotiate slippery rock gardens and rooted sections.

There were a number of top riders who crashed, led by Evil Bikes team mates Steve Smith and Matti Lehikoinen, who both qualified in the top-10. Lehikoinen’s crash was particularly hard, and he did not finish. It appears that he may have broken his collarbone.

Jared Rando (Giant) was the first man to take the Hot Seat for an extended period, holding onto the lead for over 20 riders before Nathan Rankin (Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker) just squeaked by him. After that, the lead changed fairly steadily, as riders brought the time down in increments of a quarter to half a second.

Mick Hannah (GT Bicycles), with 11 riders remaining, was the first to make a significant dent in the top time, taking it below 2:34 minutes. His time would hold until the young American revelation Aaron Gwin (Yeti Fox Shox) knocked a quarter of a second off the best time, to eventually take the fifth podium spot.

World champion Gee Atherton (Animal Commencal) bumped Gwin, but Minnaar was only two riders later, and his time would prove to be the best, as the final two riders - Hill and number one qualifier Fabien Barel (Subaru) - could only manage the second and third fastest times respectively.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate0:02:32
2Fabien Barel (Fra) Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team0:00:01
3Samuel Hill (Aus) Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz0:00:01
4Gee Atherton (GBr) Animal Commencal0:00:01
5Aaron Gwin (USA) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team0:00:02
6Michael Hannah (Aus) GT Bicycles0:00:02
7Steve Peat (GBr) Santa Cruz Syndicate0:00:02
8Chris Kovarik (Aus) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense0:00:03
9Josh Bryceland (GBr) Santa Cruz Syndicate0:00:04
10Brendan Fairclough (GBr) Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad CatzRow 9 - Cell 2
11Justin Leov (NZl) Trek World Racing0:00:05
12Marc Beaumont (GBr) GT BicyclesRow 11 - Cell 2
13Samuel Blenkinsop (NZl) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team0:00:05
14Mickael Pascal (Fra) MSC Bikes0:00:05
15Bryn Atkinson (Aus)0:00:06
16Kyle Strait (USA) Specialized Team America0:00:07
17Luke Strobel (USA) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles0:00:07
18Thibaut Ruffin (Fra)0:00:07
19Nick Beer (Swi) Scott 110:00:08
20Nathan Rankin (NZl) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker0:00:09
21Jared Rando (Aus) Giant Mountain Bike Team0:00:09
22Matthew Simmonds (GBr) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense0:00:09
23Ivan Oulego Moreno (Spa) Massi0:00:09
24Marcelo Gutierrez (Col)0:00:10
24Bernat Guardia Pascual (Spa) MassiRow 24 - Cell 2
26Joseph Smith (GBr) KonaRow 25 - Cell 2
27Pierre Charles Georges (Fra) Solid Aclass Factory Team0:00:10
28Maxime Remy (Fra) Suspension Center0:00:10
29Fabien Pedemanaud (Fra) Scott 11Row 28 - Cell 2
30Duncan Riffle (USA) Duncan Riffle Racing0:00:10
31Damien Spagnolo (Fra) Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team0:00:10
32Wyn Masters (NZl) Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team0:00:11
33Antoine Badouard (Fra)0:00:11
34Dean Tennant (Can)0:00:12
35Ben Reid (Irl) Just Reid Race Team0:00:12
36Joshua Button (Aus)0:00:12
37Markus Pekoll (Aut) Solid Aclass Factory TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Antonio Ferreiro Pajuelo (Spa) XMS-Devinci World Cup Team0:00:12
39Esteban Deronzier (Fra) Morzine-Avoriaz 740:00:13
40Steve Smith (Can) MS Evil Racing0:00:13
41George Brannigan (NZl)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Camille Blanchard (Fra) Team Sport BikeRow 41 - Cell 2
43Cyrille Kurtz (Fra) Team Sunn0:00:14
44Lars Peyer (Swi) Suspension Center0:00:14
45Ludovic May (Swi)0:00:14
46Jamie Biluk (Can)0:00:14
47Lorenzo Suding (Ita) Dytech DH0:00:14
48Kevin Aiello (USA) GT Bicycles0:00:15
49John Swanguen (USA)0:00:15
50Ivan Oziol (Fra)0:00:15
51Alex Bond (GBr)0:00:15
52Gareth Brewin (GBr)0:00:16
53Harry Molloy (GBr)0:00:16
54Marco Bugnone (Ita) Argentina Bike Gravity Team0:00:16
55Groizard Félix (Fra) Team Sport Bike0:00:16
56Andrew Neethling (RSA) Trek World Racing0:00:17
57Harry Heath (GBr)0:00:17
58Filip Polc (Svk) MS Evil Racing0:00:17
59David Vazquez Lopez (Spa) Lapierre Powered By Saab Salomon0:00:17
60Ruaridh Cunningham (GBr) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense0:00:18
61Scott Mears (GBr)0:00:18
62Harry Armstrong (Aus)Row 61 - Cell 2
63Danny Hart (GBr) Lapierre Powered By Saab Salomon0:00:19
64Yann Gauvin (Can)0:00:20
65Mitchell Delfs (Aus) Kenda Morewood0:00:22
66Curtis Keene (USA)0:00:22
67Dan Stanbridge (GBr)0:00:23
68Patrick Thome (Fra) Team Sport Bike0:00:25
69Marco Milivinti (Ita) Dytech DH0:00:25
70Herman Olund (Swe)0:00:25
71Robin Wallner (Swe)0:00:26
72Thirion Rémi (Fra) Team Sunn0:00:26
73Geoffrey Ulmer (USA)0:00:27
74Joris Bigoni (Fra)0:00:30
75Rhys Willemse (Aus)0:00:34
76Laurie Dinham (Aus) Suspension Center0:00:34
77Hans Lambert (Can)0:00:40
78David Eme (Fra)0:01:22
79Ben Cathro (GBr)0:01:23
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Santa Cruz Syndicate86pts
2Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team66Row 1 - Cell 3
3Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense56Row 2 - Cell 3
4Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles54Row 3 - Cell 3
5Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz53Row 4 - Cell 3
6Trek World Racing50Row 5 - Cell 3
7Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker46Row 6 - Cell 3
8GT Bicycles45Row 7 - Cell 3
9Scott 1136Row 8 - Cell 3
10Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team35Row 9 - Cell 3
11Animal Commencal30Row 10 - Cell 3
12Morzine-Avoriaz 7428Row 11 - Cell 3
13Suspension Center26Row 12 - Cell 3
14Team Sunn19Row 13 - Cell 3
15Norco World Team18Row 14 - Cell 3
16MSC Bikes17Row 15 - Cell 3
17Specialized Team America15Row 16 - Cell 3
18Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team15Row 17 - Cell 3
19Massi15Row 18 - Cell 3
20Giant Mountain Bike Team10Row 19 - Cell 3
21Kona5Row 20 - Cell 3
22Solid Aclass Factory Team4Row 21 - Cell 3
23Duncan Riffle Racing1Row 22 - Cell 3


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1