Skip to main content

Verdonschot wins in the Zilvermeercross sand

Laura Verdonschot
Laura Verdonschot (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) (Image credit: Getty Images)

Laura Verdonschot (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) took advantage of the absence of several of her major rivals to win the Zilvermeercross in Mol, Belgium on Sunday.

Verdonschot came from behind on the sandy course after a difficult start to win alone. Shirin van Anrooij was second and Inge van der Heijden (CCC) third.

World champion Sanne Cant, Annemarie Worst, Ceylin Alvarado and Yara Kastelijn were all absent as riders took a break and began a block of training before the intense December calendar of racing.  The long sections of sand around the Mol lake always characterise the Zilvermeercross races, and did again during a dry but cold race this year.

After a hectic start, Van Anrooij and Manon Bakker edged clear with Van der Heijden. Verdonschot was further back after her initial problems but soon powered back into contention. Verdonschot and Van der Heijden then swapped on and off at the front for much of the race.

Twenty minutes into the race, Van der Heijden surged clear and opened a 10-second gap. However, Verdonschot and Van Anrooij powered across to her and then Verdonschot went clear alone as the deep sand made the difference.

Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:45:05
2Shirin Van Anrooij (Ned) 0:00:18
3Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned) Ccc - Liv 0:00:41
4Manon Bakker (Ned) Experza Pro Cx 0:00:57
5Loes Sels (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:01:25
6Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) 0:01:44
7Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex 0:01:58
8Aniek Van Alphen (Ned) 0:02:09
9Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:02:23
10Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 0:03:26
11Veerle Goossens (Ned) 0:03:56
12Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel) 0:04:02
13Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) 0:04:10
14Jinse Peeters (Bel) 0:04:15
15Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:04:33
16Anaïs Morichon (Fra) 0:04:56
17Susanne Meistrok (Ned) 0:05:56
18Olivia Onesti (Fra) 0:06:05
19Stefanie Paul (Ger) 0:06:24
20Esther Van Der Burg (Ned) 0:06:38
21Barbara Borowiecka (Pol) 0:07:06
22Shana Maes (Bel) 0:07:43
23Elodie Kuijper (Ned)
24Sophie Thackray (GBr)
25Monique Van De Ree (Ned)
26Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)
27Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel)
28Julie Brouwers (Bel)
29Mirthe Van Den Brande (Bel)
30Tinne Vermeiren (Bel)
31Kiona Dhont (Bel)
32Kätlin Kukk (Est)
33Sterre Vervloet (Bel)
34Liene Meeusen (Bel)
35Diana Steffenhagen (Ger)
36Tine Rombouts (Bel)
37Yenthe Van Lommel (Bel)
38Caren Commissaris (Bel)
39Axelle Heymes (Fra)
40Pepe Phillips (GBr)
DNFRosalie Janssens (Bel)
DNFJana Dobbelaere (Bel)
DNSLise Van Wunsel (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1


Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews