Haas wins the Japan Cup

Australia's Nathan Haas (Garmin-Sharp) ended the 2014 season on a high by beating Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) and Gregor Bole (Vini Fantini-Nippo) in a close sprint to win the Japan Cup.

A photo finish was needed to confirm Haas as the winner but he was awarded victory with Boasson Hagen forced to accept second place in his last race for Team Sky before his move to MTN-Qhubeka in 2015.

The 151km race covered ten circuits of Utsonomiya Forest Park before a final lap of 14.1km. Four Japanese riders formed the break of the day with Team Sky and Garmin-Sharp doing the chasing to keep them in check. The quartet stayed away until the very last lap and then 10 riders went clear on the final Kogashi climb after an aggressive final 25km of racing between the strongest riders in the peloton.

Tinkoff-Saxo had Rory Sutherland, Michael Valgren, Manuele Boaro and Chris Juul in the move and used their strength in numbers to attack the group. Boaro made several attempts to go clear but was pulled back as the other riders all fought for a chance of victory.

The uphill finish in Utsonomiya always produces a tough sprint and Haas managed to get the better of Boasson Hagen. It was his second win at the Japan Cup after winning in 2011.

Michael Valgren (Tinkoff-Saxo) was fourth, Julian Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing) fifth and talented young Italian Valerio Conti (Lampre-Merida) was sixth ahead of compatriot Davide Formolo (Cannondale). Recent Il Lombardia winner Daniel Martin (Garmin-Sharp) finished 12th at 38 seconds.

The riders celebrated ending the 2014 season at the official after-race party in Onion Square, with Fabian Cancellara flying in as a special guest.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin Sharp4:06:48
2Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team SkyRow 1 - Cell 2
3Grega Bole (Slo) Vini Fantini NippoRow 2 - Cell 2
4Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Tinkoff-SaxoRow 3 - Cell 2
5Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Trek Factory RacingRow 4 - Cell 2
6Valerio Conti (Ita) Lampre-MeridaRow 5 - Cell 2
7Davide Formolo (Ita) CannondaleRow 6 - Cell 2
8Moreno Moser (Ita) CannondaleRow 7 - Cell 2
9Jan Polanc (Slo) Lampre-Merida0:00:05
10Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:18
11Manuele Boaro (Ita) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:25
12Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin Sharp0:00:38
13Thomas Lebas (Fra) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team0:00:48
14Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Trek Factory RacingRow 13 - Cell 2
15Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Utsunomiya BlitzenRow 14 - Cell 2
16Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin Sharp0:00:56
17Christopher Sutton (Aus) Team SkyRow 16 - Cell 2
18Ricardo Garcia Ambroa (Spa) Team UkyoRow 17 - Cell 2
19Bernard Sulzberger (Aus) Drapac Professional CyclingRow 18 - Cell 2
20Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) CannondaleRow 19 - Cell 2
21Salvador Guardiola Tora (Spa) Team UkyoRow 20 - Cell 2
22Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan Racing TeamRow 21 - Cell 2
23Sho Hatsuyama (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling TeamRow 22 - Cell 2
24Kohei Uchima (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling TeamRow 23 - Cell 2
25Cristiano Salerno (Ita) CannondaleRow 24 - Cell 2
26Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Team EuropcarRow 25 - Cell 2
27Christophe Kern (Fra) Team EuropcarRow 26 - Cell 2
28Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin Sharp0:01:02
29Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-MeridaRow 28 - Cell 2
30Tomohiro Hayakawa (Jpn) Aisan Racing TeamRow 29 - Cell 2
31Miyataka Shimizu (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team0:02:01
32Jose Vicente Toribio Alcolea (Spa) Team Ukyo0:03:11
33Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Vini Fantini Nippo0:03:55
34Elia Favilli (Ita) Lampre-MeridaRow 33 - Cell 2
35Marco Marcato (Ita) CannondaleRow 34 - Cell 2
36Hayden Roulston (NZl) Trek Factory RacingRow 35 - Cell 2
37Bjorn Thurau (Ger) Team Europcar0:04:25
38Yukihiro Doi (Jpn) Team Ukyo0:04:37
39Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:05:05
40Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky0:05:36
41Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Vini Fantini Nippo0:05:46
42Karsten Kroon (Ned) Tinkoff-Saxo0:05:48
43Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Team SkyRow 42 - Cell 2
44Atsushi Oka (Jpn)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Charles Planet (Fra) Team Novo NordiskRow 44 - Cell 2
46Javier Megias Leal (Spa) Team Novo Nordisk0:05:51
47Kazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan Racing TeamRow 46 - Cell 2
48Damien Monier (Fra) Bridgestone Anchor Cycling TeamRow 47 - Cell 2
49Ryoma Nonaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing TeamRow 48 - Cell 2
50Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Aisan Racing TeamRow 49 - Cell 2
51Yuzuru Suzuki (Jpn) Utsunomiya BlitzenRow 50 - Cell 2
52Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) Drapac Professional CyclingRow 51 - Cell 2
53Lachlan Norris (Aus) Drapac Professional CyclingRow 52 - Cell 2
54Darren Lapthorne (Aus) Drapac Professional CyclingRow 53 - Cell 2
55Shun Yamamoto (Jpn) Team Ukyo0:05:59
56David Lozano Riba (Spa) Team Novo Nordisk0:06:36
57Jack Anderson (Aus) Drapac Professional CyclingRow 56 - Cell 2
58Masakazu Ito (Jpn) Aisan Racing TeamRow 57 - Cell 2
59Naoya Uchino (Jpn)Row 58 - Cell 2
60Shinri Suzuki (Jpn) Utsunomiya BlitzenRow 59 - Cell 2
61Takayuki Abe (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen0:06:57
62Takaaki Hori (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen0:09:45
63Shotaro Iribe (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:09:48
64Manabu Ishibashi (Jpn) Vini Fantini Nippo0:10:40
65Keisuke Kimura (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:11:52
DNFAndrea Vaccher (Ita)Row 65 - Cell 2
DNFHayato Yoshida (Jpn) Shimano Racing TeamRow 66 - Cell 2
DNFIan Boswell (USA) Team SkyRow 67 - Cell 2
DNFRory Sutherland (Aus) Tinkoff-SaxoRow 68 - Cell 2
DNFJunya Sano (Jpn)Row 69 - Cell 2
DNFGenki Yamamoto (Jpn) Vini Fantini NippoRow 70 - Cell 2
DNFYaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Trek Factory RacingRow 71 - Cell 2
DNFKevin De Mesmaeker (Bel) Team Novo NordiskRow 72 - Cell 2
DNFJeremy Cornu (Fra) Team EuropcarRow 73 - Cell 2
DNFTanzou Tokuda (Jpn)Row 74 - Cell 2
DNFSuguru Tokuda (Jpn)Row 75 - Cell 2
DNFCaleb Fairly (USA) Garmin SharpRow 76 - Cell 2
DNFJerome Cousin (Fra) Team EuropcarRow 77 - Cell 2
DNFJoe Eldridge (USA) Team Novo NordiskRow 78 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1