Giro d'Italia Internazionale Femminile 2018

Latest News from the Race

Giro d'Italia Internazionale Femminile - Overview

Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) showed that she was a level above the rest by winning her third stage of this Giro Rosa. The maglia rosa soloed to the finish of stage 10 after attacking in the last kilometre of the category 1 climb with 10 kilometres to go. Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb) beat Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Canyon-SRAM) in a group sprint for second place.

Van Vleuten won the overall classification with a four-minute advantage to runner-up Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Cervélo-Bigla). Amanda Spratt (also Mitchelton-Scott) rounded off the podium in third place.

Giro Rosa stage 10 - Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott Women3:00:24
2Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb Women0:00:27
3Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Canyon-SRAM RacingRow 2 - Cell 2
4Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans CyclingteamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Margarita Victoria Garcia (Spa) Movistar Team WomenRow 4 - Cell 2
6Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton Scott WomenRow 5 - Cell 2
7Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling TeamRow 6 - Cell 2
8Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling TeamRow 7 - Cell 2
9Ane Santesteban (Spa) Ale CipolliniRow 8 - Cell 2
10Juliette Labous (Fra) Team Sunweb Women0:01:14
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification after stage 10
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott Women25:50:22
2Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:04:12
3Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women0:06:30
4Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb Women0:07:36
5Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:09:20
6Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:10:38
7Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Canyon-SRAM Racing0:10:46
8Eider Merino (Spa) Movistar Team Women0:12:37
9Ane Santesteban (Spa) Ale Cipollini0:13:12
10Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High50:13:47




The 2018 Giro d'Italia Internazionale Femminile, also known as the the Giro Rosa, marks the 14th round of the Women's WorldTour and will take place from July 6-15. The 10-day race is widely considered the only 'grand tour' on the women's circuit. 

The race is one of the most challenging, too, because of its length but also because it typically includes unpredictable, mountainous terrain.

This year, the race returns to the iconic Monte Zoncolan, on the penultimate stage 9, which hasn't been used in the women's race in over 20 years. The daunting 11.9-kilometre ascent, with slopes as steep as 22 per cent, could decide the overall winner.

Last year, Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans) won her second overall title ahead of Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5) and Annemiek van Vleuten (Orica Scott).

Past overall winners of the Giro Rosa are Anna van der Breggen (twice), Megan Guarnier, Mara Abbott (twice), Marianne Vos (three times) and Fabiana Luperini (five times).


Past Winners


2017 Giro d'Italia Internazionale Femminile - Final overall classification

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam25:39:43
2Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High0:01:03
3Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica Scott Women0:01:39
4Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:02:57
5Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica Scott Women0:03:26
6Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) WM3 Pro Cycling0:03:58
7Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb Women0:04:12
8Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:05:26
9Claudia Lichtenberg (Ger) Wiggle High0:06:09
10Arlenis Sierra (Cub) Astana Women's Team0:06:19


2018 Giro d'Italia Internazionale Femminile - Route

Stage 1: Friday, July 6 - Verbania to Verbania, 115.5km

Stage 2: Saturday, July 7 - Ovada to Ovada, 120.3km

Stage 3: Sunday, July 8 - Corbetta to Corbetta, 132km 

Stage 4: Monday, July 9 - Piacenza to Piacenza, 109km

Stage 5: Tuesday, July 10 - Omenga to Omenga, 117.7km

Stage 6: Wednesday, July 11 - Sovico to Gerola Alto, 114.1km

Stage 7: Thursday, July 12 - Lanzada to Diga di Campo Moro, 15km

Stage 8: Friday, July 13 - San Giorgio di Perlena (Fara Vicentino) to Breganze, 121.6km 

Stage 9: Saturday, July 14 -  Tricesimo to Monte Zoncolan, 104.7km 

Stage 10: Sunday, July 15 -  Cividale del Friuli to Cividale del Friuli, 120.3km 


Top News on the Race

Related Features