Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado triumphs in Gullegem

Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Image credit: Getty Images)

Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Alpecin-Fenix) claimed her 11th win of the season after she beat her fellow Dutchwoman Yara Kastelijn (777) in a two-up sprint after they had duelled at the front for the bulk of the race. Shirin van Anrooij took third place ahead of American Rebecca Fahringer and Ellen Van Loy.

Kastelijn set the tempo at the very outset and only Alvarado could match her initial acceleration, beginning a head-to-head tussle that would endure all the way to the finish as the gap to Van Loy, Van Anrooij and Fahringer opened immediately.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Corendon-Circus 0:47:25
2Yara Kastelijn (Ned) 777 0:00:01
3Shirin Van Anrooij (Ned) 0:00:30
4Rebecca Fahringer (USA) 0:00:39
5Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:01:49
6Manon Bakker (Ned) Experza pro Cx 0:01:58
7Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko-Crelan 0:02:04
8Loes Sels (Bel) Iko-Crelan 0:02:16
9Clara Honsinger (USA) 0:02:32
10Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra) Experza pro Cx 0:02:56
11Alicia Franck (Bel) Experza pro Cx 0:03:17
12Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 0:04:31
13Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) 0:04:59
14Kim Van de Putte (Bel) 0:05:27
15Axelle Bellaert (Bel) 0:06:14
16Emily Werner (USA) 0:06:29
17Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) 0:06:51
18Siobhan Kelly (Can) 0:07:04
19Maria Larkin (Irl) 0:07:24
20Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 0:07:35
21Ishbel Strathdee (GBr) 0:07:45
22Rebecca Gross (USA) 0:08:03
23Laure Michels (Bel) 0:08:14
24Lara Defour (Bel) 0:08:38
25Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) 0:08:50
26Nele De Vos (Bel)
27Turner Ramsay (USA)
28Connie Hayes (GBr)
29Michelle Geoghegan (Irl)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews