Skip to main content

Australian Road Championships: Chloe Hosking takes victory in elite women's criterium

Image 1 of 15

Hosking wins it

Hosking wins it (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 2 of 15

Hosking comes up through the middle

Hosking comes up through the middle (Image credit: Zac Williams)
Image 3 of 15

Hosking throws her bike to the line

Hosking throws her bike to the line (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 4 of 15

Hosking celebrates

Hosking celebrates (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 5 of 15

Hosking on the podium

Hosking on the podium (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 6 of 15

The approach to the line

The approach to the line (Image credit: Zac Williams)
Image 7 of 15

The women's criterium

The women's criterium (Image credit: Zac Williams)
Image 8 of 15

In the bunch

In the bunch (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 9 of 15

The course was wet

The course was wet (Image credit: Zac Williams)
Image 10 of 15

The elite women's podium

The elite women's podium (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 11 of 15

One of the sweeping right-handers

One of the sweeping right-handers (Image credit: Zac Williams)
Image 12 of 15

The U23 women's podium

The U23 women's podium (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 13 of 15

The sprint for the line

The sprint for the line (Image credit: Zac Williams)
Image 14 of 15

Hosking in the bunch

Hosking in the bunch (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)
Image 15 of 15

Another lap down

Another lap down (Image credit: Con Chronis / Zac Williams)

Chloe Hosking (Rally Cycling) won her first elite women's criterium title at the 2020 Australian Road Championships in Ballarat, Victoria, on Friday evening after overpowering 21-year-old Ruby Roseman-Gannon (Brunswick Cycling Club) and Mitchelton-Scott's Gracie Elvin in a bunch sprint.

Like the elite men and under-23 men's criteriums before the women's race, Hosking and her rivals had to contend with extremely wet and windy conditions, which forced the organisers to shorten the combined elite and under-23 women's event by 10 laps to 30 laps due to the impending lack of light.

Twenty-nine-year-old Hosking had won the under-23 criterium title back in 2010, and then took her previous-best placing of third in the senior race the following year, and so the reigning Commonwealth Games road race champion was therefore delighted to finally be able to claim what many would view as a long-overdue elite road national title.

"This is my first elite national jersey, despite being around forever, so it is nice," said Hosking. 

"It was important for me this year as I am going to America to race with an American team and we do a lot of criteriums. I really wanted to take the green and gold crit jersey with me and I have done that so I am really excited. 

Rapidly rising star Roseman-Gannon claimed the under-23 title for the second year in a row by virtue of her second place, with Brunswick Cycling Club teammate Elizabeth Nuspan and Alexandra Martin-Wallace (ARA-Pro Racing Sunshine Coast) taking U23 silver and bronze, respectively.

Defending elite women's champion Rebecca Wiasak (Team CCS Canbera Women's) could only finish sixth, behind fourth-placed Matilda Raynolds (Specialized Women's Racing) and fifth-placed Nuspan.

Full results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Chloe Hosking (Aus) Rally UHC Cycling Women 0:54:25
2Ruby Roseman-Gannon (Aus) Brunswick Cycling Club
3Gracie Elvin (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott
4Matilda Raynolds (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
5Elizabeth Nuspan (Aus) Brunswick Cycling Club
6Rebecca Wiasak (Aus) Team CCS Canbera Women's
7Peta Mullens (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer
8Alexandra Martin-Wallace(Aus) ARA-Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
9Charlotte Culver (Aus) Subaru Giant Women
10Teneal Attard (Aus) South Perth Cycling Club
11Lauren Kitchen (Aus) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
12Emily Watts (Aus) Subaru Giant Women
13Lucie Fityus (Aus) Veris Racing Women's Team
14Emma Viotto (Aus) Canberra Cycling Club
15Georgie Whitehouse (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade
16Amber Pate (Aus) Norwood Cycling Club
17Jessica Pratt (Aus) Canyon-SRAM
18Ella Falzarano (Aus) Subaru Giant Women
19Gina Ricardo (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade
20Josie Talbot (Aus) Casa Dorada Womens Cycling
21Grace Brunton-Makeham (Aus) Veris Racing Women's Team
22Taryn Heather (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
23Nicola MacDonald (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer
24Chelsea Holmes (Aus) South Coast Cycling Club
25Elizabeth Stannard (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
26Ella Bloor (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
27Georgia Miansarow (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade
28Chloe Heffernan (Aus) Veris Racing Women's Team
29Alana Forster (Aus) Vikings Cycling Club
30Lucia Azzopardi (Aus) Subaru-Giant Women
31Kirsty Deacon (Aus) Veris Racing Women's Team
32Emma Roberts (Aus) Manly Warringha Cycling Club
33Amy Cundy (Aus) Gold Coast Cycling Club
34Sharni Morley (Aus) Brunswick Cycling Club
35Ashlee Jones (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
36Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon-SRAM
37Eloise Vaugham (Aus) Port Adelaide Cycling Club
38Chloe Moran (Aus) Central Districts Cycling Club
39Jennifer Darmody (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade
40Sarah Gigante (Aus) Team Tibco-SVB
41Holly Harris (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
42Anya Louw (Aus) ARA-Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
43Emma Chilton (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer 0:00:15
44Jessica Allen (Aus) Mitchelton Scott 0:00:19
45Saffron Button (Aus) Blackburn Cycling Club 0:00:24
46Lauren Thomas (Aus) Team CCS Canbera Women's 0:01:03
DNFJordyn Hassett (Aus) Subaru Giant Women
DNFDarcie Richards (Aus) X-Speed Australia Cycling Club
DNFJade Haines (Aus) Midland Cycle Club
DNSSophie Edwards (Aus) ARA-Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
DNSBreanna Hargrave (Aus) Subaru Giant Women
DNSKatie Banerjee (Aus) Harlequin Cycling Club
DNSBree Playel (Aus) Manly Warringha Cycling Club

Latest on Cyclingnews