Hermida and van Houts win Cape Epic prologue time trial

The fifth prologue in the 11-year history of the Cape Epic set the seeding order for tomorrow's stage 1. The Spanish/Dutch team of José Hermida and Rudi van Houts (Multivan Merida Biking) will wear the sough-after yellow zebra-striped leaders' jerseys in the men's category. Ariane Kleinhans and Annike Langvad (RECM 2) will be leading the women in the orange leaders' jerseys, with Bart Brentjens and Abraao Azevedo of Betch.nl Superior Meerendal wearing the blue masters leaders' jerseys.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jose Hermida (Spa) and Rudi van Houts (Ned) Multivan Merida Biking0:59:08
2Lukas Fluckiger (Swi) and Martin Fanger (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing0:00:12
3Robert Mennen (Ger) and Kristian Hynek (Cze) Topeak-Ergon Racing0:01:21
4Markus Kaufmann (Ger) and Jochen Kaess (Ger) Centurion-Vaude0:01:30
5Nino Schurter (Swi) and Philip Buys (RSA) Scott-Odlo MTB Racing0:01:54
6Karl Platt (Ger) and Urs Huber (Swi) Bulls0:02:04
7Kevin Evans (RSA) and Max Knox (RSA) FedGroup Itec0:02:40
8Roel Paulissen (Bel) and Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Torpado Factory0:02:55
9Christoph Sauser (Swi) and Frantisek Rabon (Cze) Meerendal Songo Specialized0:03:15
10Johann Rabie (RSA) and Neil MacDonald (RSA) FedGroup Itec 20:03:32
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ariane Kleinhans (Swi) and Annika Langvad (Den) RECM 21:10:07
2Esther Suss (Swi) and Sally Bigham (GBr) Meerendal0:02:09
3Jennie Stenerhag (Swe) and Theresa Ralph (RSA) Cape Brewing Company0:05:36
4Milena Landtwing (Swi) and Hielke Elferink (Ned) Meerendal Wheeler0:06:06
5Ischen Stopforth (RSA) and Yolande de Villiers (RSA) SasolRacing0:09:06
6Hanlie Booyens (RSA) and Mariske Strauss (RSA) Pragma Orange Monkey0:10:58
7Yolandi du Toit (RSA) and Leana de Jager (RSA) SasolRacing 20:12:04
8Sara Mertens (Bel) and Laura Turpin (Ned) Meerendal Wheeler 20:13:31
9Tanya Rabie (RSA) and Nicola Walker (RSA) Woolworths In2Food0:14:16
10Celina Carpinteiro (Por) and Katerina Slegrova (Cze) Itec/BTT Loulé/BPI0:14:21
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Peter Vesel (Slo) and Anni Hellstern (Ger) ETIS1:15:45
2Karl Zoetemelk (Fra) and Sarah Koba (Swi) Assos Werksmannschaft0:00:47
3Cherise Stander (RSA) and Theo Blignaut (RSA) RECM Mixed0:02:11
4Tom Janas (Ger) and Bettina Uhlig (Ger) Sportograf.com - BQ Cycling0:03:20
5Yannick Lincoln (Mau) and Aurelie Halbwachs (Mau) Synergy0:04:07
6Pablo Rodriguez (Arg) and Lolita van Aardt (RSA) Orphans Africa MTB0:06:09
7Hannele Steyn (RSA) and Kenhardt Scheepers (RSA) Howard and Chamberlain0:06:29
8Gal Tsachor (Isr) and Idit Shub (Isr) Trek Israel0:06:32
9Nizaam Essa (RSA) and Christina Kollman (Aut) Asrin Cycling0:10:34
10Sabina Compassi (Swi) and Paul Buhler (Swi) Meerendal Songo Specialized 80:10:38
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bart Brentjens (Ned) and Abraao Azevedo (Bra) Betch.nl Superior Meerendal1:08:52
2Shan Wilson (RSA) and Adrian Enthoven (RSA) Definitive Bikes0:01:52
3Pascal de Kort (Bel) and Bart van de Water (Bel) Technofit0:04:35
4Warren Squires (Zim) and Nic White (RSA) Absa masters0:05:05
5Leon Erasmus (RSA) and Dennis du Toit (RSA) Pragma Teahmo0:05:44
6Richard Lurie (RSA) and Leendert Lorenzen (RSA) Eurocasa0:06:12
7Rory Mapston (RSA) and Rex Benson (RSA) CHIC Foundation0:07:16
8Andy Davies (GBr) and Marius Nel (RSA) Pragma BikePlus0:07:49
9Damien Jones (Aus) and Russell Edgar (Aus) russrad0:08:27
10Mike Foster (Aus) and Jarrod Crosby (Aus) Fixed Wheel Racing0:08:40
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Grand masters
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Andrew Mclean (RSA) and Heinz Zoerweg (Aut) Cycle Lab Toyota1:09:06
2Barti Bucher (Swi) and Doug Brown (RSA) Meerendal Songo Specialized 40:00:32
3Eben Espach (RSA) and Corrie Muller (RSA) Absa Grand Masters0:05:13
4Thomas Dooley (USA) and Mike Hogan (USA) Kappius / Sir Richards0:06:04
5Lieb Loots (RSA) and Izak Visagie (RSA) Pragma Nampak0:06:38
6William Werthheim Aymes (RSA) and Greg Anderson (RSA) NUK Orthodontic0:11:19
7Gideo Knoetze (RSA) and Linus van Onselen (RSA) Mossel Bay Volkswagen0:12:50
8Kurt Plachel (Swi) and Reto Schlaepfer (Swi) Bischi and Krapf0:13:27
9James Stopforth (RSA) and Peter Stopforth (RSA) MN70:14:32
10Ivar Tollefsen (Nor) and Trond Hilde (Nor) Gutta Boyz0:14:43
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Best African
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kevin Evans (RSA) and Max Knox (RSA) FedGroup Itec1:01:48
2Johann Rabie (RSA) and Neil MacDonald (RSA) FedGroup Itec 20:00:52
3Erik Kleinhans (RSA) and Nico Bell (RSA) RECM0:01:01
4Matthys Beukes (RSA) and Gert Heyns (RSA) Scott Factory Racing0:02:30
5Andrew Hill (RSA) and Charles Keey (RSA) RED-E Blend0:02:37
6Darren Lill (RSA) and Waylon Woolcock (RSA) Cannondale Blend0:02:39
7Craig Boyes (RSA) and Lous-Bresler Knipe (RSA) Asrin cycling0:04:39
8Dominic Calitz (RSA) and Jurgen Uys (RSA) Paarl Media Young Guns0:06:22
9Oliver Munnik (RSA) and Alastair Davies (RSA) Paarl Media Pinners0:06:45
10Siphosenkosi Madolo (RSA) and Azukile Simayile (RSA) Meerendal Songo Specialized 160:07:30

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1