Tom Pidcock wins British men's elite national cyclo-cross title

Tom Pidcock feels his form is good ahead of the World Championships after retaining his British national title in emphatic style.

Despite a crash in the opening lap the 21-year-old, from Yorkshire, fought back to the front and then built a comfortable margin on his rivals to win by over two minutes.

Reigning Junior World Champion  Ben Tulett (Alpecin-Fenix) finished second while Cameron Mason (Trinity Racing) took third.

Pidcock will make his debut World Championships appearance in the elite men’s event in Dubendorf in three weeks’ time after stepping up early from the under-23 ranks.

“My form is good, how good I’m not too sure but certainly today I was going pretty good and I can certainly build on that,” said Pidcock.

“It’s the business end of the season now. I want to go there (Dubendorf) and get a podium but everyone is going to be on top of their game.

“I’d be happy with top-five. Anything can happen.”

A dramatic start to the elite men’s race saw a crash hinder the hopes of a host of riders outside the top ten as competitors hit the opening off-camber muddy section from the road start.

Trinity Racing rider Pidcock avoided the first crash but brought himself down moments later as he tangled with a post while trying to navigate a tight corner.

However, by the end of the opening lap Pidcock had a slender eight-second gap over chasers Thomas Mein (Tarteletto-Isorex) and Tulett.

After a slower start Mason closed the gap to his under-23 rivals to put himself into podium contention.

Tulett eventually pulled away for second while Mein fell back to the chasing duo of Turner and Mason at the half-way distance.

With just over a lap to go Mason attacked his companions causing Mein to drop back while Turner responded in the battle for third.

Pidcock had time to celebrate his win with Tulett second while Mason held of the challenge of Turner for third.

The speed of Pidcock was such that only 15 riders finished on the same lap as the youngster out of 69 finishers, with the rest pulled out as the national champion lapped them.

“The first lap, I just wanted to go from the start and I wasn’t even ready to go from the line so I had a bad start and rushed straight to the front I was rushing too much and made a few mistakes,” Pidcock added

“My goal was to only leave 10 left in the race, but the race was one lap too short really.”

Pidcock wants to inspire the next generation of cyclo-cross riders by wearing the British national jersey at the front of international races.

“It’s my job to represent British cross now and inspire people,” added Pidcock.

“Without inspiration I don’t think kids get into sports, certainly without my inspirations I certainly wouldn’t be as good as I am.

“I think I have a responsibility and I sort of like the responsibility as well. The British championship jersey has never been at the front of men’s cross races so it’s certainly something special.”

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Thomas Pidcock (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:59:19
2Ben Tulett (GBr) Alpecin - Fenix 0:02:04
3Cameron Mason (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:02:15
4Ben Turner (GBr) Creafin - Fristads 0:02:33
5Thomas Mein (GBr) Tarteletto - Isorex 0:03:58
6Lewis Askey (GBr) 0:05:23
7Sean Flynn (GBr) 0:05:48
8Ian Field (GBr) 0:06:20
9Giles Drake (GBr) 0:07:10
10Lewis Craven (GBr) 0:07:18
11Nicholas Craig (GBr) 0:07:48
12Toby Barnes (GBr) 0:08:13
13Tom Couzens (GBr) 0:08:42
14Pete Matthews (GBr) 0:09:05
15George Thompson (GBr) 0:09:24
16Steven James (GBr)
17Sam Allen (GBr)
18Leon Mazzone (GBr)
19Joseph Beckingsale (GBr)
20Sam Smith (GBr)
21Joe Coukham (GBr)
22James Swadling (GBr)
23Jake Womersley (GBr)
24Alexander Forrester (GBr)
25Neil Phillips (GBr)
26William Weatherill (GBr)
27Finn Mansfield (GBr)
28Michael Butler (GBr)
29David Earth (GBr)
30Thomas Payton (GBr)
31Kieran Jarvis (GBr)
32Joshua Jones (GBr)
33Samuel Morris (GBr)
34Cai Davies (GBr)
35Thomas Nightingale (GBr)
36Felix Barker (GBr)
37Scott Chalmers (GBr)
38Bruce Dalton (GBr)
39Clarke James (GBr)
40Jack Parrish (GBr)
41Jake Jackson (GBr)
42Paul Morris (GBr)
43James Madgwick (GBr)
44Tom Budden (GBr)
45Nick Blight (GBr)
46Robert Watson (GBr)
47Karl Norfolk (GBr)
48Tristan Davies (GBr)
49Alistair Thornton (GBr)
50Corey Bale (GBr)
51Jimmy Smith (GBr)
52Tom Mazzone (GBr)
53Ben Sampson (GBr)
54Tim Doole (GBr)
55Phil Wilks (GBr)
56Benjamin Shucksmith (GBr)
57Sebastian Bacon (GBr)
58Dale Taylor (GBr)
59Robin Godden (GBr)
60Bruce Johnston (GBr)
61Edward Birdsall (GBr)
62Alexander Harper (GBr)
63Sam Bradley (GBr)
64Daniel Weale (GBr)
65Thomas Fletcher (GBr)
66Alan Collins (GBr)
67Adam Fieldhouse (GBr)
68Paul Dable (GBr)
DNFJenson Young (GBr)
DNFCallum Macleod (GBr)
DNFFletcher Adams (GBr)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1