Campenaerts wins Belgian time trial championship

Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal) won the Belgian time trial title in Anzegem on Thursday. Campenaerts, who is also the current European time trial champion, was fastest over the 42.3km course, where the men covered multiple laps of a circuit, beating his Lotto Soudal teammate Thomas De Gendt and Quick-Step Floors' Yves Lampaert. 

"I had expected to have lost time on Yves Lampaert after the first of three laps, because he is a fast starter," Campenaerts said in a team press release. "Fifteen seconds wasn’t a small time gap, but at the end of the second lap I had five seconds advantage and in the end I was twenty seconds faster than Lampaert, but only two and a half seconds faster than Thomas De Gendt. Thomas was obviously the fastest in the last lap. I am very happy he stood next to me on the podium."

This is the second individual time trial national title that Campenaerts has won in his career. The first was in 2016, and he was hoping to show that he could win the title again.

"Before the race I had said that I am the best Belgian time trialist of the moment and of course I put pressure on myself that way," he said. "I am very glad that I could achieve my goal. This is my first victory for Lotto Soudal. I had already contested some time trials, in which I performed well, but I hadn't been able to win yet."

He will contest the European Championships event in Glasgow on August 8.



Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:52:43
2Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:02
3Yves Lampaert (Bel) Quick - Step Floors0:00:20
4Laurens De Plus (Bel) Quick - Step Floors0:00:28
5Frederik Frison (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:01:03
6Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:01:37
7Louis Vervaeke (Bel) Team Sunweb0:01:43
8Senne Leysen (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Crelan0:01:49
9Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:52
10Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:01:53
11Steff Cras (Bel) Team Katusha Alpecin0:01:54
12Jonas Rickaert (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:01:58
13Nathan Van Hooydonck (Bel) Bmc Racing Team0:02:25
14Edward Theuns (Bel) Team Sunweb0:02:27
15Aime De Gendt (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:02:35
16Antoine Warnier (Bel) Wb Aqua Protect Veranclassic0:02:40
17Gianni Marchand (Bel) Cibel - Cebon0:02:51
18Stijn Devolder (Bel) Veranda's Willems - CrelanRow 17 - Cell 2
19Jimmy Janssens (Bel) Cibel - Cebon0:03:02
20David Boucher (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:03:04
21Jan Bakelants (Bel) Ag2R La Mondiale0:03:10
22Tom Devriendt (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:03:26
23Frederik Backaert (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:03:39
24Franklin Six (Bel) Wb Aqua Protect Veranclassic0:04:08
25Robbe Ghys (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:04:37
26Thomas Deruette (Bel) Wb Aqua Protect Veranclassic0:02:29
27Alexander Maes (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:08:37
DNSKevyn Ista (Bel) Wb Aqua Protect VeranclassicRow 27 - Cell 2
DNSAaron Verwilst (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - BaloiseRow 28 - Cell 2
DNSPieter Serry (Bel) Quick - Step FloorsRow 29 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1