Sanne Cant wins Belgian cyclo-cross title

Sanne Cant (Beobank-Corendon) claimed her ninth successive national cyclo-cross title as she cruised to victory in the elite women’s race at the Belgian Cyclo-cross Championships in Koksijde.

Cant made light work of a high quality field to solo home well clear of second-placed Ellen Van Loy (Telenet-Fidea Lions), while Loes Sels (Crelan-Charles) took the bronze medal.

From the start, Cant forged clear immediately in the company of Van Loy, Sels, Laura Verdonschot and Joyce Vanderbeken. Verdonschot was looking to repeat her strong showing of a year ago, and she took an early lead on the sand, but Cant bridged across smoothly shortly afterwards.

Come the second lap, Cant simply took flight, leaving Verdonschot standing to open up an unassailable lead. Behind, the battle for the other podium spots was fiercely contested. Van Loy found a way past Verdonschot to take second place, albeit over a minute behind Cant.

Verdonschot would not even have the consolation of a bronze medal, as Sels came past her on the final lap, but the day belonged to the irrepressible Cant, who will hope a ninth national title is a precursor to a second successive world title in Valkenburg next month.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:44:27
2Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:05
3Loes Sels (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:01:19
4Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:01:42
5Kim Van de Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:02:00
6Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:02:54
7Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel)0:03:08
8Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:03:30
9Marthe Truyen (Bel)0:03:52
10Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:04:49
11Axelle Bellaert (Bel)0:05:10
12Shana Maes (Bel)0:06:00
13Kim Van De Putte (Bel)0:06:53
14Jinse Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:07:48
15Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel)0:08:36
16Meg De Bruyne (Bel)0:09:13
17Laure Michels (Bel)0:09:43
18Jana Dobbelaere (Bel)0:10:00
19Kiona Crabbé (Bel)0:10:03
20Tinne Vermeiren (Bel)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Kristien Nelen (Bel)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Tess Van Loy (Bel)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Caren Commissaris (Bel)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Tine Rombouts (Bel)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Mieke Docx (Bel)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Eva Vermeersch (Bel)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Tine Vandenheede (Bel)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Karen De Keulenaer (Bel)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Nele De Vos (Bel)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Jo Blanchaert (Bel)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Katleen Fraeye (Bel)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Laurine Boidequin (Bel)Row 31 - Cell 2
DNFJustine Louchaert (Bel)Row 32 - Cell 2
DNFSandie Verriest (Bel)Row 33 - Cell 2
DNSLise Van Wunsel (Bel)Row 34 - Cell 2
DNSAurelie Vermeir (Bel)Row 35 - Cell 2
DNSValerie Boonen (Bel)Row 36 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews