Keisse and Terpstra lead Rotterdam Six

Defending champions Niki Terpstra and Iljo Keisse lead the Rotterdam Six after one night. The Omega Pharma-Quick Step pair did so by both winning points in the individual events as by taking laps in the Madison races. "The first place is always the best place to be in. Now we have to defend that position," Terpstra commented.

After the first events in the Ahoy Arena it became clear that the Swiss duo Franco Marvulli/Tristan Marguet were Keisse/Terpstra's biggest competitors. They won the opening Madison race in the same lap as Keisse/Terpstra and also won the time trial event. 

The Omega Pharma-Quick Step riders countered by finishing second in the Madison and by winning the super elimination race and the derny race. They started the final Madison as leaders with a large margin in points on the rest of the field but still found the Swiss in the same lap as them.

The one-hour long, high velocity Madison race was too much for Marvulli/Marguet. They lost four laps on the winners Michael Mørkøv and Alex Rasmussen and three laps on Keisse/Terpstra. Despite losing a lap to three other pairs, the Dutch/Belgian duo kept the lead in points but saw Mørkøv/Rasmussen approach fast. Their lead is only nine points after day one.

“The first big Madison of a Six-Day is always important,” said Keisse. “We might have lost a lap but we laid our cards on the table. I think it was a good day.” Terpstra agreed with his Belgian partner. “The first place is the best place to be in. Now we have to defend that position.”

The final Madison was too much for Theo Bos and Graeme Brown. The Belkin riders on their new Bianchi track bikes were lapped seven times in the fast-paced race and are out of contention for a good result. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Overall standings after day 1
1Niki Terpstra (Ned) / Iljo Keisse (Bel) Flanderijn Incasso81pts
2Michael Mørkøv / Alex Rasmussen (Den) VD Valk Hotel Ridderkerk72Row 1 - Cell 3
3Kenny De Ketele / Jasper De Buyst (Bel) RTV Rijnmond57Row 2 - Cell 3
4Jens Mouris / Wim Stroetinga (Ned) Vlasman24Row 3 - Cell 3
5Barry Markus (Ned) / Leif Lampater (Ger) Peinemann45-1lap
6Franco Marvulli / Tristan Marguet (Swi) Mako Cleanng Service40-3laps
7Yoeri Havik / Nick Stöpler (Ned) AA Drink25Row 6 - Cell 3
8Robert Bartko / Marcel Kalz (Ger) Tacx20Row 7 - Cell 3
9Michel Kreder / Wesley Kreder (Ned) AD4-4laps
10Guy East / Daniel Holloway (USA) Island 20010-5laps
11Arno van der Zwet (Ned) / Nolan Hoffmann (RSA) Holland Werkt8Row 10 - Cell 3
12Vivien Brisse (Fra) / Marc Hester (Den) Werkgevers Servicepunt8Row 11 - Cell 3
13Didier Caspers / Melvin van Zijl (Ned) AM Recycling0Row 12 - Cell 3
14Melvin Boskamp / Jesper Asselman (Ned) Metec10-6laps
15Theo Bos (Ned) / Graeme Brown (Aus) Belkin16-7laps

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews