Skip to main content

Sørensen solos in Japan

Saxo Bank's Chris Anker Sørensen rode to his first win of the season at the last race of his season at the Japan Cup on Sunday. He finished 24 seconds ahead of Daniel Moreno (Caisse d'Epargne) and Ivan Santaromita (Liquigas).

Sørensen's solo victory came after repeated attacks in the final 40 kilometres of the race by the Dane and his Saxo Bank teammate Jens Voigt. With each of the race's ten circuits featuring a long climb, it was the young climber who broke the resolve of the remaining attackers.

"Chris and Jens opened the race with 40 kilometers to go, which suited Chris like a glove," said Saxo Bank sports director Torsten Schmidt after the race. "It's a great way to finish the season and it is rewarding to be the sports director for energetic and enthusiastic riders like these who are still motivated in the very last part of the season."

Despite the close attention of several Caisse d'Epargne riders, Sørensen was able to hold his advantage. Behind him Moreno, Santaromita and Spaniard Juan Jose Cobo (Fuji-Servetto) battled for the minor placings.

Sørensen crossed the line to become the first Danish winner of the race and the first non-Italian rider to claim the traditional end of season race in the past five editions. Moreno and Santaromita got the better of Cobo to fill the remaining podium spots.

Full results
1Chris Anker Sörensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank4:06:19
2Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne0:00:24
3Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas
4Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Spa) Fuji-Servetto
5Pablo Lastras Garcia (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne0:00:41
6Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne0:01:00
7Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Liquigas0:01:26
8Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD
9Shinri Suzuki (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:02:09
10Gustav Larsson (Swe) Team Saxo Bank
11Johann Tschopp (Swi) BBox Bouygues Telecom
12Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:02:21
13Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) EQA - Meitan Hompo - Graphite Design
14Makoto Iijima (Jpn) Team Bridgestone Anchor
15Miyataka Shimizu (Jpn) EQA - Meitan Hompo - Graphite Design
16Masahiro Shinagawa (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:02:24
17David De La Fuente Rasilla (Spa) Fuji-Servetto
18Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) EQA - Meitan Hompo - Graphite Design0:03:01
19Hidenori Nodera (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
20Yukihiro Doi (Jpn) Japanese National Team
21Kenji Itami (Jpn) Team Bridgestone Anchor
22Tomoya Kano (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:03:05
23Kjell Carlström (Fin) Liquigas0:03:21
24Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas
25Alessandro Proni (Ita) ISD
26Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) Fuji-Servetto
27Imanol Erviti (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne
28Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) BBox Bouygues Telecom0:03:25
29Yasuharu Nakajima (Jpn) EQA - Meitan Hompo - Graphite Design0:04:34
30Kazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:04:38
31Jens Voigt (Ger) Team Saxo Bank0:05:13
32Takayuki Naganuma (Jpn) Blitzen Utsunomiya Pro Racing0:05:17
33Kenichi Suzuki (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:05:22
34Masaru Fukuhara (Jpn) Team Bridgestone Anchor0:07:59
35Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Japanese National Team0:08:49
36Andrea Tonti (Ita) Fuji-Servetto0:12:12
37G. Luca Mirenda (Ita) ISD
38Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
39Guillaume Le Floch (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
40Masaki Wakumoto (Jpn) Matrix Powertag
41Ryohei Komori (Jpn) Japanese National Team
42Nicki Sörensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank
43Julien Guay (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
44Yoshiyuki Shimizu (Jpn) Blitzen Utsunomiya Pro Racing
45Masaaki Kikuchi (Jpn) EQA - Meitan Hompo - Graphite Design
46Kensyo Sawada (Jpn) Matrix Powertag
47Kazuki Aoyanagi (Jpn) Japanese National Team
48Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Japanese National Team

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews