Skip to main content

Tinkoff 2008 presented in Milano

The 2008 Tinkoff team

The 2008 Tinkoff team (Image credit: Bettini Photo)

The nineteen riders that will form the 2008 Team Tinkoff Credit Systems were presented last night in Milano. After its debut in 2007 as an Italian Professional Continental team – with prestigious wins and the blossoming of Mikhail Ignatiev – the team will make its 2008 start in the Tour of Qatar, January 27.

2008 riders: Pavel Brutt (Rus), Ilya Chernetsky (Rus), Daniele Contrini (Ita), Nikita Eskov (Rus), Alexander Gottfried (Ger), Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus), Alexander Khatuntsev (Rus), Vasil Kiryienka (Blr), Sergey Klimov (Rus), Alberto Loddo (Ita), Luca Mazzanti (Ita), Walter Pedraza (Col), Evgeni Petrov (Rus), Bernardo Riccio (Ita), Ivan Rovny (Rus), Alexander Serov (Rus), Ricardo Serrano (Esp), Yauhen Sobal (Blr) and Nikolai Trusov (Rus).

"Tinkoff will dispute the most important races on the UCI's European calendar," stated General Manager Stefano Feltrin at the Showroom Diadora. The team had just returned from an intense training camp in San Vincenzo, Italy.

"We have some strong riders, starting with the talented Ignatiev, who last year was often on show, the other Russian, Brutt, who has already made some huge showings, the fast Loddo, the experienced Mazzanti and Petrov, the young Riccio and the very young Trusov and Rovny."

The squad is backed by Russian Oleg Tinkov, who is promoting his line of online banks. "After a 2007 rich in satisfactions this year we have decided to further strengthen the group," said the team president. "My colleagues have put together a good group, I see the boys joking amongst themselves and this is a good sign for the team's harmony.

The team that will depart for Qatar includes Loddo, Khatuntsev, Klimov, Eskov, Serov, Trusov, Gottfried and Riccio.

For the team's full roster see the Cyclingnews Teams Database.