Skip to main content

Cunego to Clásica San Sebastián

Damiano Cunego, Team Lampre's captain, who had to abandon the Tour de France following a crash in stage 18, will return to competition at the Clásica San Sebastián, set for August 2. Cunego will wear the jersey of Pro Tour leader during his comeback.

"Cunego's wounds are getting better. He could train lightly today and pedalled for five hours to test himself before the race," said director Maurizio Piovani.

"The team will be competitive, too, and we'll try to be in the important moments of the race. "Six riders have just finished Tour de France, so their condition will be good; (Paolo) Bossoni and (David) Loosli will be ready, too."

Team Lampre for Clásica San Sebastián: Alessandro Ballan, Matteo Bono, Paolo Bossoni, Marzio Bruseghin, David Loosli, Paolo Tiralongo and Daniele Righi under DS Maurizio Piovani.

Team Caisse d'Epargne for Clásica San Sebastián: David Arroyo, Vladimir Karpets, Pablo Lastras, Alberto Losada, Luis Pasamontes, Joaquím Rodríguez, Alejandro Valverde and Xabier Zandio under DS Eusebio Unzúe.

Team Caisse d'Epargne for Subida A Urkiola: David Arroyo, Imanol Erviti, Joan Horrach, Pablo Lastras, David López, Luis Pasamontes, Fran Pérez, Marlon Pérez, Joaquím Rodríguez and José Rujano under DS Alfonso Galilea.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1