Aaron's sweeps Women's Prestige Series

Presybterian Hospital Crit winner Kat Carroll (Aaron's)

Presybterian Hospital Crit winner Kat Carroll (Aaron's) (Image credit: Emory Ball)

The Aaron's Women's professional cycling team wrapped up a hugely successful Women's Prestige Series with a win in the Presbyterian Hospital Invitational. The 2008 Women's Prestige Cycling Series began at the Redlands Bicycle Classic in April, followed by the Nature Valley Grand Prix in June and then finished with the grand finale at the Presbyterian Hospital Invitational on August 2.

With Katharine Carroll taking a solo victory in the big-money criterium in Charlotte, she propelled her team to the top of the standings as well as clinching the overall. Three other Aaron's riders placed in the top twenty of that race to push the squad ahead of Cheerwine in the team standings.

Carroll defended her individual series lead with the win ahead of Canadian Anne Samplonius (Cheerwine). In the best young rider category, Alison Testroete (Aaron's) was the surprise winner, vaulting from 10th to the top spot when she finished first among riders under 26 in Charlotte. Lauren Franges (Team TIBCO), the pre-race favorite, ended up second after sacrificing her chances by riding for team-mate Brooke Miller. Tiffany Cromwell (Colavita / Sutter Home) finished in third.

Winning the race also secured Carroll's position as the Series sprint leader. Second and third place finishes in Charlotte by Brooke Miller (Team TIBCO) and Tina Pic (Colavita / Sutter Home) moved them into second and third for the Series sprint title.

WPCS Individual Classification

1 Katharine Carroll (Aaron's)
2 Anne Samplonius (Cheerwine)
3 Leigh Hobson (Cheerwine)
4 Laura VanGilder (Cheerwine)
5 Brooke Miller (Team TIBCO)

WPCS Best Young Rider

1 Alison Testroete (Aaron's)
2 Lauren Franges (Team TIBCO)
3 Tiffany Cromwell (Colavita/Sutter Home)
4 Catherine Cheatley (Cheerwine Cycling)
5 Samantha Schneider (Colavita/Sutter Home)

WPCS Sprinter Classification

1 Katharine Carroll (Aaron's)
2 Brooke Miller (Team TIBCO)
3 Tina Pic (Colavita / Sutter Home)
4 Anne Samplonius (Cheerwine)
5 Joanne Kiesanowski (Team TIBCO)

WPCS Team Classification

1 Aaron's Women's Pro Cycling
2 Cheerwine Cycling
3 Colavita/Sutter Home
4 Team TIBCO
5 Advil-ChapStick
6 Team Kenda Tire

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1